happysingh

Help in selecting the right car

Hello All,

My budget is between 5-6 Lacs. I am planning to buy a Sedan. I have checked SX4, City, Fiesta and Accent.

Out of these Accent GLE fits my budget. Can you all experts let me know if Accent is a good choice as I have heard that Hyundai is planning to discontinue this car.

Thanks

The accent is a good car, but with better competition available, I would advise against it. Out of the choices given, the Honda City is the best of the lot, but is on the expensive side. I would suggest the SX4 if its possible to stretch your budget slightly.

FRG

Hi Happy Singh,

Ki Haal hai thoddha. Im from Chennai, but did my postgrad in PGI Chandigarh, so my Gurmukhi, albeit a little rusty.I have had an Accent for 6 years before I graduated to Elantra. It's a car with decent value. Mileage with a/c on in the city is 9 kmpl thereabouts. When loaded fully it's ride and handling becomes wishywashy. It has a terrific a/c. The brakes are prone to fade in the long run. Ride deteriorates with age. The interiors are one of the best even now. The back seat is low. With the recent price reduction of Rs.4.99 lakh it's extremely good value. I bought the Accent GLS(1.5 lit petrol) from the first batch on introduction in '99 and had it till '05 end. But now it's terrific VFM, although age is showing.

Note From Admin: Please dont use bold and italics for the entire post. Limit use to highlight an important point only.
FuelRunGod2008-02-03 13:12:28

Thanks for the prompt reply. The cost of SX4 comes to around 7.4 Lacs which is a very big amount.

How is the performance of Accent GLE?

As you will see from my signature I have a 1.5 Accent GLS which is almost the same as the car now being sold as GLE. I have had it for 5-1/2 years (41,000+km) so have a fair exposure to the car.