Sign in to follow this  
ameya_m

Wagon R difficulty in changing gear

Hi,

I know this is highly subjective but I need to atleast understand what is wrong. I have a 2008 Vxi Wagon R that I bought 2nd hand back in November. I am a new driver, and the car has a rubbery gear box and clutch pedal, so I couldnt initially diagnose this. There are two issues

1) The car doesnt go into 2nd gear easily. You can describe it as the 2nd gear is very hard in coloquial terms. In most new cars that I have driven, there is a slight notch feel in the gear stick- when you push the handle to the left and then back, before it reaches its final position there is a perceptible notch. The stick doesnt stop there, you can just feel the notch. In my car the gear stick gets stuch there and has to be yanked back quite hard. Very often, when you need to change gear quickly in traffic, the stick gets stuck inbetween as it hasnt gone all the way back and when I release the clutch, the gear teeth make the grinding sound. Once it goes into gear though there is no issue. It goes into other gears quite ok. There is a similar issue in 5th but thats more likely because it doesnt get used very much

2) I have had this stick getting stuck inbetween problem in other gears as well but not as often. Some times in other gears as well, the gear stick just doesnt want to go into gear- it gets stuck in between, just like described above except it just feels blocked. I figured out that when it does that, you move into any other gear and then back into the gear you want without declutching and then it goes through fine.

Note, I am pressing the clutch all the way down, thats not the issue.