santoshbs

Discover 125 dtsi

Hi,

I own a Bajaj Discover dtsi 125cc 2005 model and till now traversed about 25k kms. For the first 3 years i got it serviced from the Bajaj dealer itself. From then I'm getting it serviced through a known local mechanic...

the issues i'm facing are...

1. The silencer has corroded and there's a hole on it (the bajaj dealer suggested i get it tinkered locally and its done about 6 months back). Now a new hole on the silencer has popped up right next to the old one?

2. Vehicle at neutral does not idle (not an idling problem...) the mechanic says the compressor might be leaking need to open the engine unit? I'm confused on this.

3. Rear brakes are not upto the mark, the mechanic is telling the drum kit is wearing out and needs to be replaced in the near future.

4. Mileage has dropped down from about 55kmpl to around 45kmpl within a year.

I'm a average speed driver, servicing the vehicle regularly but just in 4 years so many issues arising out of Baja bike is my biggest concern.

Need advice on should i go back to the Bajaj service centre or ?

I dont think the concerns are that serious

1. A low-grade tinkering job will not prevent corrosion. If the job was done imperfectly (I suspect so), then the remnants of the corrosion would continue to develop. This would create the next problem as you indicated. Only method to get this done properly is to get it tinkered to a better quality and paint it. Another way is to powder coat it.

2.Compressor? Can you clarify this? I cant think of a compressor in a bike.
3. Drum doesnt wear in 25k Km. There is something else and I suspect poor quality brake pads that the local mechanic would have used.

4.Several reasons contribute to fuel economy so you need to elaborate on this too.

2. The mechanic told you that the Compression of Engine has dropped. But this could not correct since your bike has run just 25Kkms.