guiguiswiss

Fiat 500 900cc TwinAir Test Drive

Hello everybody,

I am a driver of a Fiat 500 1.2 4cylinder 69hp, so I had the opportunity yesterday to try the new Fiat 500 TwinAir.

What is the TwinAir engine?

This is the all new Fiat 85hp turbocharged engine, a little 875cm3 with only two cylinders! It's an extreme example of downsizing. He promises more power for less fuel consumption than the 1200cc... A good reason for me to want to try it!

More information here :

http://archive.autocarindia.com/autocar_forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=7033

How is it?

First impression : Nothing seems to differentiate this TwinAir compared to a normal 500, no logo, in fact the only difference is an ECO button on the dashboard that allows you to consume as little as possible. My test car is an intermediate "Pop" like mine, with a little bit surprising turquoise bleu color and an two-tone beige and grey interior. Surprise the car is new, only 6km on the odometer smiley17.gif

Here we go! Start the engine, the engine noise is amazing but not bad! Just different. It's a race car? I never heard anything like car noise, but why not. In town the engine proves to be very alert, much more nervous than my 1.2., but it is almost impossible with this small motor to drive below 3000rpm. The engine sound, fun in the beginning quickly becomes tedious, one solution, the ECO button, but the power and torque are then too small to ride comfortably, this function is only usable in traffic jams.

On expressway, the small turbo engine also shows a great vitality, and is used mainly between 3000rpm and 5000rpm, then it is really noisy, much more than the 4 cylinder. It's time to bring the car to my dealer, there are now 32km on the odometer, I was the first driver of this 500.

Conclusion : For me the main drawback of this engine is the noise, I enjoyed the nervousness of the TwinAir, but the price difference (1400

Excellent looking Fiat in 500 avatar & turquoise bleu color. Just loved it..