Carma Driver

New Car driving constraints

Seek advise from automobile experts. Can a brand new car (Toyota Corolla Altis) be driven on a 600 KM journey straight from the showroom? What precautions need to be taken to ensure that engine and transmission longevity be preserved? Thanks.

Would like to clarify that i am not an expert but heres what i have to say

Yes ,

Carry all car papers along ,

Dont overspeed (keep MAX speed between 60-80 ) for the first few thousand KMS

Also tires on the car dont grip the road that well for the initial few KMS , so dont drive at high speeds.

Most important dont drive off to a terrain you are not used to driving on normally on this new vehicle (Mountains , 4Wheel tracks etc) , you will not have the required judgement to negotiate the demanding roads there.

Am not expert, i would like to tell that first of all. Yes you can go, but don't over speed. Maintain a constant speed of 70-80 km/h.

You can give the car a little bit of rest by stopping it here and there. Travel safe happy journey!!! :)

Thank you librankur !

I plan to drive on NH-7 (which has fairly good road tarmac). I remember reading that one should vary the driving speed (at least engine RPM) during the running in period. In the yester years, auto makers used to specifically state the running-in speed limits in order to mate the moving metal parts. But now I am told that running-in period isn't a constraint for these new technology cars. By the way, this car has auto transmission.

Wow , an Automatic , great .

How much did it cost you ?

Oh , NH7 - you will not have a problem there., Going South or North ??

Dont listen to what these guys tell you about run - in period , latter on , when you might have a problem with your car (eg . Low mileage issues ) they will say its because the car wasnt driven well in the initial period.

Also , these sales guy these days assume that we know everything and least bother to explain the initial car care.