plainman007

Need suggestions. Buying a 2nd owner ford icon flair, 2004 model.

Hi Guys,

Ive been an avid user of maruti cars for the past 20 years. Owed 6 Zens and now, a Zen, an Eeco and a Nano.

I have never bought a 2nd hand car before and lack experience in that avenue.

Im planning to buy a used Ford Icon, Flair, 2004 Model, Driven 46,000 Kms.

I inspected the vehicle and the body seems decent and newish. Its still got the orginal factory paint. But for small parking scratches etc on the bumpers theres nothing i can see obviously wrong with the body.

I have no experience with Fords and want to ask all of you of if this is a reasonable buy at the final negotiated price of Rs.1 lac.

The vehicle seemed ok to drive. Smooth engine. One touch start. But i could only drive it at 10kmph inside an apartment because of heavy traffic on the outside unsuitable for a test drive. The brake pedal was extremely hard.

I mean it wouldnt depress and had a wooden grip feel which makes it feel as if your driving without any brake drums. Theres no grip. It just slides and then slows down without a firm immediate response. The owner says its just a problem with the brake oil flow and he will get this fixed before delivery if im taking the car.

I also asked local prominent brand service station if they will do a bumper to bumper check on the vehicle before i buy it and they agreed.

Now this vehicle will primarily be used by my wife who is a first time driver and has just learned to drive. We were on the lookout for a car within a lac for her as a first time car since our cars are all brand new.

What are your opinions on this scenario ? Your suggestions would help me a lot in my decision.

Thanks

I wonder why theres not even an edit button available to correct typos and other errors ? Kindly pardon my typographical/grammatical errors if any.