rssh Posted May 12, 2014 Report Share Posted May 12, 2014 Just take your car to 3M after delivery they will tell you the best and first ask for demo if not satisfied with response. I think its called Ultimate protection. Also don't get the PPF film as it turn yellow overtime and looks bad on light colour. And yes underbody 3M coat cost under 3K. Also do get that spoiler aftermarket after delivery. Also which tyres were on the car at PDI? If its MRF or goodyear then swap it to Yoko C/Earth 1 or Xm2 if you can. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted May 12, 2014 Author Report Share Posted May 12, 2014 Yup.. I'm very much keen on the spoiler. Will try to get that. 3M - Underbody is must.. I'll see what this ultimate protection is about.. Window Films - I'm going with AIR 75 (LUMMAR) Will splurge on this.. saves a lot of fuel with heat reduction... Tires - The stock were MRF. Not going to change to any other tire now - Budget constraints... but will see what price I get for the MRFs and what balance I need to pay.. I'll be inclined towards the XM2.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rameshbabu.n Posted May 12, 2014 Report Share Posted May 12, 2014 I am told by my cousin (who works in M&M Nasik) that now a days, the metal tubes and sheet metal that goes into the chasis and the other parts and panels are `treated' well before and during the process of making a car. And, certainly before the painting job. The painting technology has improved a lot in the last five to ten years. So, today, the base paints and the color paints are very well advanced thereby avoiding the need for any additional after-sale treatment. Unless one is staying in a rust-prone area (like a sea port town/city), no further treatment would be required. @neerajd Think about spending anything on sun control film on windows. The use of such films is illegal and you may end up paying some `chai paani' money whenever some knowledgeable traffic policeman stops you. In Andhra Pradesh (now bifurcated into Telangana and Andhra Pradesh) and Tamil Nadu where I drive a lot, there are a number of special drives conducted jointly by RTA and Traffic Police to stop the vehicle (even on the national highways and tolled roads), and challan them. They also employ local hands to rip off the films (in a shoddy manner) then and there itself. One has to come back and get it removed totally and clean the glasses to avoid sneerful looks of everyone. So, think about it twice before you go in for such films. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted May 13, 2014 Author Report Share Posted May 13, 2014 @rameshbabu, the lummar film in talking about here is absolutely transparent. My Swift has the same film on its front glass and there is no reason to worry. I've never been stopped by any traffic police for the tints. I'll post the pics for before and after so you get an idea of its transparency. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rssh Posted May 13, 2014 Report Share Posted May 13, 2014 Yes apply sunfilm on the windscreen and rear windscreen as well they help a lot. I have used CR70 in my i20 but it developed wrinkle after 4 years due to heat so I removed it along with other films. Vkool are really good but expensive try Garware icecool 90 transparency film. XM2 cost 5500 a piece and you may get only 3000 for the MRFs so about 12500 for 5 tyres or 7500 for 5 tyres if you go for yoko Earth 1s @ 4500. If you get more than 3k then its a no brainier but make deal before you take delivery otherwise shopkeepers will not quote good figure. @rameshbabu cops nowadays don't stop cars with the netted curtains which are worst than sunfilm so no one is policing the law and we have wasted money stripping expensive films. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted May 18, 2014 Author Report Share Posted May 18, 2014 Update: Ford Classic now in my parking.. Got the delivery, nothing home to write about. Drove about a 100 kms only.. But the car is just as good as I had expected to be. Will have a detailed update soon. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PrancingHorse Posted May 19, 2014 Report Share Posted May 19, 2014 Congratulations. Looking forward to your initial impressions and please post some pictures pronto Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rssh Posted May 19, 2014 Report Share Posted May 19, 2014 Finally its home !! Post lots of picture and also if and when you are installing accessory then take picture of the installation process. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LeoRahi Posted May 19, 2014 Report Share Posted May 19, 2014 Congrats Neeraj. Nice to hear that. Looking forward for a detailed review and pics. Happy Motoring Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted June 19, 2014 Author Report Share Posted June 19, 2014 So, after a long long time - here comes my 1st month review... Took delivery of the car on Friday, May 16, 2014... Boy what a day! - Called the dealer in the morning to ask what time I can drop in for the delivery. - Dealer asked to come around 3.30. - Dealer also said no registration number since some new chap in the RTO was delaying this process... - Quite fed up as I was planning to take the car to Mahabaleshwar for a quick short trip immediately over the weekend - May 17-18. - Called up a guy I knew in RTO and found out there is no such chap and registrations are pretty much going on full swing. - Furious at the dealership for not giving correct information, I asked the dealer to hand over the RTO road tax amount and other documents so I can get it done myself. My guy had said its just a 15 min job anyway... - Dealer said they'll try to get the number themselves by evening and will message it to me so I can take the car out for a spin over the weekend. I took some time to cool down from all this conversation and reached the dealership at 4 in the afternoon. Saw my car being readied for delivery. Felt pleasant instantly at the sight... As it was a weekday afternoon, there was just one Ecosport for delivery along with my car. Took some time to check my car inside out - aah the fresh smell of a new car interior... Completed the paperwork and the moment came - grabbing the key and driving it away... But a few formalities before it... I also got the registration number by 6 pm.. when I was just about to leave the showroom.. it just arrived unannounced.. Well.. good for me! Took it out for a city drive.. being married with a girl from the same city.. in-laws was the first stop Next morning, I was supposed to take the car to Mahabaleshwar.. but the mix of people we had did not permit.. took the Ertiga and a Punto. Left my car covered! Weekend was pretty nice.. pre-monsoon showers greeted us in the afternoon and Saturday & Sunday was quite expensive.. Had a busy week ahead in office.. so getting the car accessorized was not possible. The car looked pretty plain jane while in the office parking. Planned this work over the following weekend. Priority tasks: Filming - had finalized Lummar pp70 - @9500 3M paint protection and underbody - @5000 - this 3M guy was a friend Floor lamination - this one has a beige carpet - @3200 Reverse sensors - I really find it useful - @2500 Seat Covers - Autoform art leather - @9500 (incl 2 neck rests and 2 recron pillows with leather covers) Door beads with a chrome strip - like the way it looks @1800 Finally got all these things done. Filming in progress: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted June 19, 2014 Author Report Share Posted June 19, 2014 ...Continued Finally got all these things done. Filming in progress Rear Glass: Front Glass: Side Before: Side After: Got a cute Ganpati as well: Tank Full 1: Average Fuel Consumption - 17.5 kmpl with 100% AC Tank Full 2: Average Fuel Consumption - 17.9 kmpl with 100% AC Had taken this pic on a drive to Satara.. Mom Dad had some work.. I accompanied for a drive Tank Full 3: Floor Lamination (Coffee color): Side Beads: Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted June 19, 2014 Author Report Share Posted June 19, 2014 That was about the beautification.. now the drive experience. So this car was going to be used as a primary car now... I've stopped using the Swift completely.. wife uses it for office drives strictly.. nowhere else. Comfort is pretty good... since I was shifting from a Swift to this car, the slightly stiffer suspension setup did not trouble me. The car is very well insulated and was a leap from my Swift. Office commute: Driving this diesel powered car was a relief to my pocket as my daily commute is a good 48 kms. I get good open stretches of road where I can maintain a steady speed. The first tank was absolutely exhausted driving to office and weekend commutes within the city. I find the backrest support narrower than the Swift. The seats in my Swift are much more comfortable. The rake adjustment in the Fiesta is absolute pleasure. Weekend trips: The one trip to Satara for some property related work with parents and a nice quick drive to Lonavala are the only 2 trips I've been able to take so far.. I had planned for bigger ones.. but there was even bigger news my wife gave me.. I'm an expecting father now!! So the long trips have been converted into frequent city trips to the doctor, pathology labs, in-laws and shopping of course! What I Like: To start with, its a proper sedan, has good amount of space in the front as rear seats.. good boot capacity too. Drive is very predictable and the car is very stable at any speeds. Steering is much more direct. AC is fantastic. Mom Dad liked the rear seat comfort a lot - esp. after the Swift. Glove box is illuminated!! Yay.. The car has lane change indicators too.. this is something that is not told by any sales rep nor is it mentioned on the Ford's website either. The rear reading lamps - absolute pleasure. Nice touch for the people in the rear actually. Braking ability is very good. Find no trouble with the stock Goodyear GT3 tires. Front visibility is also very good. Gives very good judgement of the road ahead. Dimensions are not too difficult to manage - but a flip side to this, it may have little less space than its competitors. Good music system. 4 speakers and 2 tweeters do a pretty good job. Bluetooth connectivity is seamless and no loss in quality of music when streaming. Fit and finish at par with competition. I felt the Linea had an upper hand here though. What I do not like: No key inside alarm while getting out - my Swift has it. Really have to work the gears to keep the power coming.. not like the Swift which has immediate power availability. I've been used to a petrol engine all my driving life.. find the small clatter at idling a little intrusive.. but this is no issue if there is any music on. A little less under-thigh support even for the front seats. Swift's seats are really spot on! No Auto-down window for the driver. Not that I miss it. My car's windows never roll down.. except for the toll booths, early starts and when parked in the sun to help pass the trapped air. No child door locks - or if there are any, I haven't located them yet. Indicator and wiper stalks on the wrong side - got used to it. Interior plastic quality could have been a little better.. saw an old Fiesta (before this became the Classic) standing next to mine and the plastic quality was really nice. All in all.. I'm happy with my purchase. Although a slightly older design, I find that the car serves my purpose and also saves a lot on my credit card bills. I'll get a fancy car when I replace the Ford - and thats not so soon. Looking forward to many happy miles with this new companion. I guess my Swift will be a little relieved now.. esp. after having done 73.5k kms in 6 yrs. Will keep posting as and when there is enough to share. Probable next update - Aug 2014 - have the first service due. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
monoclonal Posted June 19, 2014 Report Share Posted June 19, 2014 Great Review !! I am happy you happy with your new love. Have a safe and steady drive with your new companion. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sachins Posted June 20, 2014 Report Share Posted June 20, 2014 Nice review !! Hope you have a long & safe association with your new car. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LeoRahi Posted June 20, 2014 Report Share Posted June 20, 2014 Very well written review. The car looks neat! All mods are greatly done. That instrument cluster looks dynamic. Just awesome. Happy motoring Keep Revvin' Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PrancingHorse Posted June 25, 2014 Report Share Posted June 25, 2014 Superb and detailed review. Super pictures too. Wish you many happy miles with it. Cheers Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ishaanb Posted June 25, 2014 Report Share Posted June 25, 2014 I had an old ford fiesta 2006 tdci model. Drove it for 7.6 yrs and completed 1.5 lakh kms..... Its a really great car. We prefer traveling by road so diesel is a great option. Till the I have used the car I ve easily managed to get an average of 14 -15km/l in city. Great stability and poor suspensions ( break soon) so I would adive you to keep the car under company warranty. One of the responsive diesel motors Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted June 26, 2014 Author Report Share Posted June 26, 2014 Having used it for those many kms is quite a thing! I've taken the extended warranty at this moment... hope nothing happens :-) Currently getting a steady ~18 kmpl in city with AC. I guess this number will go up after the first oil change. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
imran_k Posted June 26, 2014 Report Share Posted June 26, 2014 Congrats Neeraj!!! Great choice.its the most VFM car under 10L budget.one of my all time favourite for its ride and handling capabilities.truly a driver's car!!!!!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
H.T. Posted June 27, 2014 Report Share Posted June 27, 2014 Hey neeraj, **Same Pinch** I too have purchased a beautiful moon dust Silver ford classic like you three days back, trust me I was in the same dilemma as you were, I just wished at least I should have come across your buying decision thread before, but nevertheless just like you went with my heart and I wasn't wrong, absolutely thrilled with my purchase Its been three days and I can't stop it driving, already covered around 350kms and my work place is just 4kms away!! I have a few queries, 1. What is the floor lamination you have done and how much did it cost you? 2. Which sun film have you put on and how much did it cost you? 3. for me the clutch is a little jerky in the first and second gear, was it same for you in the initial days 4. Any dashboard noises? I get a gurrr shaking sound at lower RPMs while driving in 3rd and 4th gear And fantastic write up and good pics!! Cheers Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted June 29, 2014 Author Report Share Posted June 29, 2014 I've mentioned the prices in my one month review with all pics.. Its probably on page 2 of this thread. For lamination I guess was 3k. I got it done to protect the beige carpet. 3d mats are anyway about 4-6k. So this was pretty cheap and good. Covers the entire floor area and gives you the comfort of cleaning the floor with a wet cloth. Sun film is llumar pp70. Cost me about 9.5k. Super effect. There is a Blaupunkt sun film you get these days.. Arctic 75. That's good too, I've heard. You should get that a grand or 2 cheaper. Clutch jerky - no. It's absolutely fine. But there is a dashboard vibration when you are in a higher gear at a lower speed or when you cross the rumble strips. That's a bit annoying. I've crossed 2200 kms in a month.. Just loving it... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
H.T. Posted July 2, 2014 Report Share Posted July 2, 2014 I've mentioned the prices in my one month review with all pics.. Its probably on page 2 of this thread. For lamination I guess was 3k. I got it done to protect the beige carpet. 3d mats are anyway about 4-6k. So this was pretty cheap and good. Covers the entire floor area and gives you the comfort of cleaning the floor with a wet cloth. Sun film is llumar pp70. Cost me about 9.5k. Super effect. There is a Blaupunkt sun film you get these days.. Arctic 75. That's good too, I've heard. You should get that a grand or 2 cheaper. Clutch jerky - no. It's absolutely fine. But there is a dashboard vibration when you are in a higher gear at a lower speed or when you cross the rumble strips. That's a bit annoying. I've crossed 2200 kms in a month.. Just loving it... my clutch is acting a bit hard or i would call it jumpy because I have experienced the car coming to a jerking halt while in first gear(sometimes in second gear) after i release the clutch upon shifting the gear, the dashboard sound is common with me too. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted July 3, 2014 Author Report Share Posted July 3, 2014 For what I've experienced so far, this car has a very good clutch and gear box compared to other diesels... very petrol car like.. I hardly feel any difference when I switch to the Swift once in a while. I'd agree the release of the clutch is quick.. but if you're able to tame it, you shouldn't face this issue. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rameshbabu.n Posted July 3, 2014 Report Share Posted July 3, 2014 It appears that Ford Fiesta Classic is the flavour of the season. Not withstanding so many new launches of hatches. Two of my friends have bought it. Both diesels. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted July 4, 2014 Author Report Share Posted July 4, 2014 Yup.. it really makes immense sense to buy this car if you have a budget of like 7.5 lacs + for a diesel and around 6 for a petrol. Its just simply more car for the money.. and better too!! Really happy with my purchase so far.. Kick-ass fuel efficiency from a 3 box. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived