drnikhil0143 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2014 hey people i am new to this forum. i live in gurgaon pls advise me on buying a new car...i am trying to give you my requirements as detailed as possible automatic transmission is MUST petrol or diesel doesn't matter both city and highway driving self driving running approx. 500 kms per month budget around 20lacs preferably sedan but can also consider SUV should be comfortable, good ride & handling, safety features i am considering: VW jetta, Skoda octavia, Toyota Corolla altis you may please add more suggestions.... should i spend extra for skoda superb should i wait for Audi A3 i already have VW polo petrol & Honda brio AT petrol....satisfied with both please give your valuable advice & opinions Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bhavneet 20 Report post Posted May 25, 2014 Hi! Welcome to the family! As per your inputs, Skoda Octavia fits in perfectly! Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
piyushgoel 0 Report post Posted May 25, 2014 @nikhil- go for octavia it is osom...!!...I own diesel elegance n I m vry happy wid it...!! Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LeoRahi 31 Report post Posted May 25, 2014 Hello There, Welcome to the forum x I agree with Bhavneet, Octavia seems a safer bet. But the Altis is not bad at all. Forget about the Jetta TBH. The Altis was, is and will be a great car in this segment. You can also check out The Sonata or Elantra AT. Both are great cars. But when it comes to handling; Hands down for Sonata. The Elantra clicks in all aspects. IMO, TD the Octavia, Altis and Elantra and then decide. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sstar 77 Report post Posted May 26, 2014 @drnikhil0143: It is the All New Octavia which is the buzz in the car market in terms of performance, ride & handling, features and comfort. I would strongly recommend you the Octavia. Check it out and TD it. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rssh 59 Report post Posted May 27, 2014 For your running per month a petrol engine is better suited for your use. Though I love the 1.8TSi but the DQ200 automatics gearbox is very unreliable it costs 1.5 lakhs to replace if anything goes wrong with it. But the diesel DQ250 gearbox is more reliable ; Jetta is excellent but a bit to understated and similar looking to Vento but IMO the Highline AT is the one to go for. If you want excellent reliability (better than above 2) then the New Corolla AT (CVT) and Elantra 1.8 AT are good choice and will undercut your 20 lakhs budget but may not be as fun to drive as the Germans. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drnikhil0143 0 Report post Posted May 27, 2014 thanks a lot guys....will go for Octavia test drive & then make a decision...!!!! Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ra4 7 Report post Posted May 27, 2014 Look nowhere and buy the Octavia. It is one of the most preferred car in this price range nowadays Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
librankur 39 Report post Posted May 28, 2014 Yes , as suggested in the trailing posts , you should seriously look at the New Corolla Altis . Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kdar.90HP 1 Report post Posted May 29, 2014 I would suggest you to increase your budget and get Volvo S60 :-) Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Manik Tyagi 0 Report post Posted May 30, 2014 if you are looking for a luxury in 20L i think you should visit Big Boy Toyz. Their you will find a fleet of various Good Brands under one roof and your requirements will be surely satisfied with the amazing condition. Visit to: http://bigboytoyz.com/ and contact them as soon as possible Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drnikhil0143 0 Report post Posted June 4, 2014 have test driven both jetta & octavia.....both are almost similar.....octavia looks slightly better.....but overall jetta is better & VW as a whole is better than skoda & skoda dealer says 5-6 mnths waiting period which is really too much inflated(they are definitely not selling that much) Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
drnikhil0143 0 Report post Posted July 11, 2014 hav finally booked Octavia 1.8TSI.....it is really amazing with 180 bhp engine and beautiful interiors...!!!! Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites