eRajesh Posted June 2, 2015 Report Share Posted June 2, 2015 Whats your Budget - 20/30L Kms driven monthly - 500-1000KM Bodyshell - Sedan/SUV City/Highway split - 95:05 Max No.of Passangers - 2-3 most of the time Boot space Importance - Medium Usage by - normal (and an Enthu son:D) Ownership - Outskirts Safety: anything Prime requirement - Ride/ Handling/FE/Braking/Looks/Passenger Comfort (Yeah, I want everything in a car :\) Hi guys! I am very confused about which car to buy, and I'm looking for some expert suggestion. I need to replace my 7-year old Hyundai Verna 1.6SX Diesel. My budget is umm well around 20L or 30L. I already have a SUV (XUV5OO), but it is very unreliable. So, we first planned on buying an SUV itself. I checked out the Toyota Fortuner and the Audi Q3. The Fortuner, while big and bad, feels kinda overpriced to me. The Q3 S, on the other hand, has cramped rear seats. Then, my family had a change of mind, and now we can settle in for a sedan as well. The Fortuner and any other big SUV is ruled out for now, since they don't fit in my garage and this is a necessity for me. The Q3 S does. My family consists of 4 people, but its rare that we all travel together in the same time. We have a driver who will be driving primarily, with me and dad maybe driving on Sundays. I liked the A3, but again, the rear seats of the car are cramped. I don't mind going for the Audi Q3 as well, but I am not sure if the 'Sports' edition is a good buy. What are the maintenance charge that I am looking at? I was kinda shocked to know that the Audi Q3 S lacks a climate control system. Even my 7-year old Verna has climate control man. Now, my budget of 30L does not mean that I cannot settle in for a cheaper 10 or 20l car. I obviously can. In fact, if I go for a sedan, I don't think my dad will spend more than 20L on it. Ideally, I would have gone for the Hyundai Elantra, but it does not seem like a popular car, which translates into poor resale value down the line. As for my requirements. The car should be comfortable and a pleasure to drive. I don't want Automatic transmissions or even AWD since it will will be mainly driven by my driver. As you can see, I am very confused about which car to buy. The fluctuating budget 20L (for sedan) and 30L (for mini SUV) does not help either. Any help would be really appreciated. P.S.: I started reading Autocar magazine 7-8 years back. From this magazine, I came to know about tech magazine, which completely changed my life. Will always love the magazine, the people, and the website. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sarabjeet Posted June 8, 2015 Report Share Posted June 8, 2015 Sadly the x1's, a class and b class has all moved to mid 30's onroad. Out of the choices u have mentioned X1 n q3 have decent rear seat closely followed by B class. A3, A class and CLA all have cramped rear seats. Another european car u could give a shot in v40 if u get a 2014 unregistered model with volvo dealer. Non german alternatives are pajero & fortuner. Santa Fe is bloody expensive in this segment but bottles down to individual requirementts. Expect Q3 service around 25k during first 3 servicea after that around 35-40k for regular services including filters n oil Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KarthickB Posted June 8, 2015 Report Share Posted June 8, 2015 Hi Rajesh, Please go ahead and TD the Skoda Octavia. It is extremely competent in all departments. The new VW Jetta is also a terrific car. German engineering with amazing comfort and engine. For SUV, you are stuck with the Toyota Fortuner. The BMW X1 now costs more than 30L On road. But you can bargain for discounts for the current BMW X1 as the new one is being launched later this year. OT, Could you please elaborate the problems in your XUV500, I am eager to know as an owner myself of the XUV500 W8? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PrancingHorse Posted June 8, 2015 Report Share Posted June 8, 2015 The Octavia seems to tick all the right boxes here. Get the diesel with the DSG gearbox. Pretty easy to drive in the city and eats up kms on the highway. I would have recommended the Superb but thats a but too big for you IMO. Space in the rear of the Octavia is also good as well On the other hand if you want killer performance the 180 bhp 1.8 TSI is your best bet Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nikhilp Posted June 9, 2015 Report Share Posted June 9, 2015 Octavia seems a perfect choice for you Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sachins Posted June 11, 2015 Report Share Posted June 11, 2015 As suggested by others, a VW Jetta or Skoda Octavia (both in Tsi form) matches your requirement perfectly. Tsi is far superior to Tdi engine in terms of NVH and free revving nature, just take a TD and will know the difference. The only problems with these cars are their reliability. If you decide to go with either of these, please do take extended warranty. I will not suggest for the Germans (Audi/BMW/Merc) as they all cross 30 lac OTR nowdays. Even if you are able to get the base version of say X1 within 30 lac still I will advise to go for a top end Jetta/Octavia. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prashantroxx Posted June 12, 2015 Report Share Posted June 12, 2015 As suggested by others, a VW Jetta or Skoda Octavia (both in Tsi form) matches your requirement perfectly. Tsi is far superior to Tdi engine in terms of NVH and free revving nature, just take a TD and will know the difference. The only problems with these cars are their reliability. If you decide to go with either of these, please do take extended warranty. I will not suggest for the Germans (Audi/BMW/Merc) as they all cross 30 lac OTR nowdays. Even if you are able to get the base version of say X1 within 30 lac still I will advise to go for a top end Jetta/Octavia. I don't think so the Jetta TSi would be a match for other cars. Even the smallest engine in octavia is faster than Jetta TSi! Octavia TSi is best for you. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
monoclonal Posted June 13, 2015 Report Share Posted June 13, 2015 " Think twice if not twenty times" for VW and Skoda as their after sales are really pathetic, spare parts will cost you bomb. Good cars but behave like third world citizen. No snob value of VW or Skoda. Look for Bigger brands in the money you willing to spend.. do negotiate as there are plenty of combinations, mutation or permutation at Dealer's end. Do not forget to buy extended warranty. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
librankur Posted June 13, 2015 Report Share Posted June 13, 2015 May i suggest you the Toyota Corolla the class leader here For a SUV It would only be the Santa Fe for me , i have earlier on the Forum persuaded one of our fellow ACIan to buy one, but then its too expensive. Cheaper Option Hyundai Creta Its a sure looker. It just about fits your Q3 Love and my Santa Fe Fetish. Cheap starting at 7.5 or 8 Lakh So a fully loaded one can be had under 12L Wait till July 21 for more Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sachins Posted June 14, 2015 Report Share Posted June 14, 2015 I don't think so the Jetta TSi would be a match for other cars. Even the smallest engine in octavia is faster than Jetta TSi! Octavia TSi is best for you. Well I was talking about the 1.4L Tsi, which are same in both Jetta/Octavia. Though when it comes to 1.8L Tsi, Octavia is something else. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
monoclonal Posted June 14, 2015 Report Share Posted June 14, 2015 Toyota Corolla is second to none, market leader in the segment around the globe. My vote for TC Altais. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
V V N Posted June 16, 2015 Report Share Posted June 16, 2015 Jetta 2L TDI auto or Honda C-RV 2L auto petrol can be considered.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prashantroxx Posted July 15, 2015 Report Share Posted July 15, 2015 Well I was talking about the 1.4L Tsi, which are same in both Jetta/Octavia. Though when it comes to 1.8L Tsi, Octavia is something else. Both are same engines but in different tune. There is also more turbo lag in the Jetta. Jetta TSi-122 bhp Octavia 1.4 TSi-140 bhp Octavia 1.8 TSi-180 bhp Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LeoRahi Posted July 30, 2015 Report Share Posted July 30, 2015 Skoda Octavia should be your first choice, IMO. Corolla in there next. TD both and decide. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived