Maruti Versa Tyres

Dear Autocar AAA –

I’m regular autocar subscriber since many years and really happy with the mag. I own maruti versa dx1 model mfg and registered in nov 2008. As per my usage 64000 kms till now, I have changed the tyres once during 34000 kms. As per the recommendations and general thumb rules the tyre should wear at least 40k kms but since many tyre dealers and the maruti dealers and many other garage guys said that the versa has problem of early tyre wear, so  I had to change the tyres without any discounts from the company. This time also hardly after 30000 kms are done and the tyres have worn out instead of regular alignment and balancing every 5k kms. My driving is only in the city and highway in between pune to Kolhapur, ratnagiri, belgam i.e. more on the banglore highway.  

Please guide me in this case. As it is I need to accept that the model has tyre wear problem and I can’t change the car itself for such small reason as I’m very satisfied with what it offers me. Please advise me to get the good set of tyres for my maruti versa dx1 model.

As per company the recommended tyre size is 155/80 R13 LT. the dealers told me last time that the suffix LT stands for Light Truck. Now this time after inquiry with many tyre dealers some says that 155 R13 is also regularly used and doesn’t harm anything.

Most of these are tubeless and I’ll also prefer tube less tyres.

I think the 155/80 R13 LT is exact match which is available only from Apollo

Should I go ahead with apollo or any other  brands ..?  A bit border tyre for extra grip will also be helpful , if it is not going to hamper the steering feel and milage as well. Should I check the total suspension and steering assembly before tyre change ?

Recelntly came across the advertise in auto car about ceat MILAZE X3 which gurantees one lakh kms.  Will those tyres last atleast 60000 kms ?

Please suggest with details for the specific choice.

Thanking you in anticipation

Balaji Kale

Pune.

This isn’t true that Versa has a tyre wear problem. 30,000km is fair enough. Don’t rely on the advice of service centre personnels. If you versa isn’t going to left or right on a straight road then no need to do wheel alignment or wheel balancing ever. Don’t buy from online sites except amazon.in

B939B9BE-63F7-4964-9463-74BC4AC1FCB7.jpeg

Archived