2009 hyundai elantra

Abhi7912

elantra which was redesigned in 2007 is getting a face lift for 2009 model

2007 model :

2007_Hyundai_Elantra_ext_1.jpg

2009 model :

elantrachina_bej08-%282%29.jpg

i think it looks good. it may give give some competition to corolla or city or what ever is in its price range ( because i dont know whats the price of elantra in india )

that 2009 version really does look good...

but even the 2007 model was not launched here in india...will this this even be launched here ??

the main drawback about the elantra which was launched here was the bad looks...other than that it was a good one with nice performance in diesel...

Looks great but the question is will Hyundai launch it in India with a competitive price.New products such as New corolla and VW Jetta are also coming and both of them look good . The previous elentra was a failure because of its looks.

All said and done, no ones going to sing praises to this car...I'm an Elantra owner; and I'm the only one singing praises regards, its reliability and good aftersales service, in this forum. All said and done, I have got a good deal, so far. But see...it's resale is appalling and soo is its image. Even a Honda City which is barren as a desert has better resale than Elantra...though its two or three rungs below. Elantra is probably the best when it comes to all the safety systems..in its category. It has TCS and even the Honda Accord 2.4 iVTEC doesn't have it...only the 3.0 V6 has it. I can go on and on, ad nauseum, sorry to be boring you guys.

Looks too much like the Honda civic on first glance.

The Koreans are experts at disguising unique design cues from other manufacturers. The Dual barreled, fused podlike headlamps were taken from the C class and the butt was from the jag in the old Sonata.

The first Hyundai pony looked like a Datsun and the excels looked like old corollas. Yet, it would be unfair to say that they made blatant copies like the Chinese. I can give you a million other examples.

Look at the new Elantra and you'll notice that the designer has tried to do the 'Bangled flame shape' around the hips. The car, in essence is clearly inspired by Honda Civic. The designer probably took the Honda civic headlamps and concluded that the Hyundai could do with a mild polygonal transformation of the civic headlamps.

I conclude: The design is a complete mess, though it looks modern. The flame designed hips and the chiseled sides and the curvy glass area at the sides fail to gel with the car's profile.

i think head lamps taken from the genesis coupe.

if you see elantra in profile it looks like a 4 door genesis coupe.

Genesis Coupe Front : genesiscoupe_56.jpg

Genesis Coupe

112_0805_01zhyundai_genesis_coupethree_q

Genesis Coupe Profile :

genesiscoupe_profile.jpg

elantra rear :

elantrachina_bej08-%284%29.jpg

Elantra profile : elantrachina_bej08-%283%29.jpg

elantra interior :

elantrachina_bej08-%286%29.jpg

so what i want to say is in my opinion they desined elantra after genesis coupe.

and if they introduce it before or at the time of release of new corolla

they may hyundai may see better sales.

Its surely better than 07 elantra(i didnt liked 07 coz we had better options available) n from rear it looks good..now it can give a good competition to other cars if priced around 10-11 lacs n not reach to 13-15 l....the front is better now n interiors r good..can compete with optra..

Looks too much like the Honda civic on first glance.

The Koreans are experts at disguising unique design cues from other manufacturers. The Dual barreled' date=' fused podlike headlamps were taken from the C class and the butt was from the jag in the old Sonata.
The first Hyundai pony looked like a Datsun and the excels looked like old corollas. Yet, it would be unfair to say that they made blatant copies like the Chinese. I can give you a million other examples.
Look at the new Elantra and you'll notice that the designer has tried to do the 'Bangled flame shape' around the hips. The car, in essence is clearly inspired by Honda Civic. The designer probably took the Honda civic headlamps and concluded that the Hyundai could do with a mild polygonal transformation of the civic headlamps.
I conclude: The design is a complete mess, though it looks modern. The flame designed hips and the chiseled sides and the curvy glass area at the sides fail to gel with the car's profile.

The new Honda Accord looks very much like the Sonata Embera..why doesn't any one harp on that...probably they think Honda is above plagiarism...would any one say that Honda copied from Hyundai....I think not.

Well maybe people trust the Honda badge a lot more than Hyundai coz they are from the premium segment. And till you've pointed out, I didn't even think about this one! (a good point you've made)

i know this is off topic but i was reading hinduonline edition of metro plus today. they have a short test drive of hyundai santa fe. they said that which produces 148 BHp i guess same as tucson is priced at 22 laks to 24 lakhs.

i think thats too much to pay for a hyundai. ?? wat do u guys say ?

Well maybe people trust the Honda badge a lot more than Hyundai coz they are from the premium segment. And till you've pointed out' date=' I didn't even think about this one! (a good point you've made)

Hyundai plagiarized the Accord's butt, and the newer accord indeed does look like the sonata from the front. It would also be fair to say that the Sonata looks like an Audi from the front and most car manufacturers have plagiarized the Bangled butt from the beemers. (Merc is trying hard to imitate the i-drive now after realizing that a million switches in the cabin didn't help).

Point being, I wasn't talking about plagiarism, I was talking about the  newer elantra's design : A potpourri of everything to convince that they came up with a unique design.

I love hyundai, they are reasonable and the interiors don't rattle like marutis.

I also like the fact that they were the first to offer traction control in the Elantra when Corollas barely had any equipment.

The elantra is a wonderful car, I have driven my friend's car, just that the blue backlit display is very annoying at night and it frowns right at you when you look at it from the front. Hyundai is aesthetically challenged in some areas, but overall, they are pretty good.

The elantra is a wonderful car' date=' I have driven my friend's car, just that the blue backlit display is very annoying at night and it frowns right at you when you look at it from the front. Hyundai is aesthetically challenged in some areas, but overall, they are pretty good.

About the blue backlit display, I've read somewhere that blue light inside the cabin would keep you awake at the wheel. Am not sure if this is still under research or in implementation. But if the bluelit display in the Elantra is for this reason, then thats an added safety feature smiley1.gif

Well maybe people trust the Honda badge a lot more than Hyundai coz they are from the premium segment. And till you've pointed out' date=' I didn't even think about this one! (a good point you've made)

Hyundai plagiarized the Accord's butt, and the newer accord indeed does look like the sonata from the front. It would also be fair to say that the Sonata looks like an Audi from the front and most car manufacturers have plagiarized the Bangled butt from the beemers. (Merc is trying hard to imitate the i-drive now after realizing that a million switches in the cabin didn't help).

Point being, I wasn't talking about plagiarism, I was talking about the  newer elantra's design : A potpourri of everything to convince that they came up with a unique design.
I love hyundai, they are reasonable and the interiors don't rattle like marutis.
I also like the fact that they were the first to offer traction control in the Elantra when Corollas barely had any equipment.
The elantra is a wonderful car, I have driven my friend's car, just that the blue backlit display is very annoying at night and it frowns right at you when you look at it from the front. Hyundai is aesthetically challenged in some areas, but overall, they are pretty good.

Agreed, sum total of which: I got a good deal on a great <but very underrated> car with soo much kit...yes even I wasn't taken up with the looks..about the blue dash light...I have been driving around with that for quiet sometime now...no complaints...I feel sorry for Hyundai...they give exemplary service and sell quiet a few cars, too...and are very reasonably priced...but still people don't recognise them...its all about image...ultimately...

Ya actually they sell really very good products reasonably...even when santro was launched except engine it was still much better than Esteem which was a sedan which had cheap interiors n build quality priced around 5 to 6....but still despite of many flop launches it has good value in mind of indians atleast in small n midsize segment...

Archived