Swift Dzire 5200kms Ownership Experience

sujith3120

Folks,

I bought my first car-SWIFT DZIRE VDI 3 months ago and have driven 5200kms! My ownership exp is as below:-

--When I bought this car, VDI, it was just 6.59lacs on road in Bangalore!At the moment it costs 7.10 lacs!

So I think i made a real good decision!

--Have driven over 5200kms and find the car very satisfying for what I paid!

-Obviously the car is not in the league of Honda citys etc, but much better than a Logan, indigo and even a ford fiesta i would say as the fords are a nuisance to maintain!

--i'm getting about 15kmpl in city--bangalore--one of the worst traffic conditions..so not bad. Highways--about 17kmpl.

--Top speed--NOW THIS WOULD SHOCK ALL OF YOU. I DID 160 in the 4 lane highway--Hosur to Krishnagiri and the car felt pretty stable!

--The CD system is not a great one

-Seats are super comfortable.

-Driving is a pleasure and this car could be the easiest sedan to drive around in the city.

--Last, but the best one--The engine is a pure gem, as many of you already know. It is diesel, but performs like petrol. Hardly any engine noise!

--So for someone within a budget of 7 lacs I would strongly recommend the dzire! { if you can put up with its waiting period of 6 months!}

Drive safe,

Sujith

@ sujith: Congrats, any Maruti is easy on the maintainence. And the 1.3 MJD is a gem. The Swift/Dzire and 1.3MJD 'marriage' has been very successful. Remains to be seen if Tata can pull of a coupe and steal a march over the Swift/Dzire with its Vista. The only thing wrong with the Swift is it's cramped & dark interiors.

• 3 months later...

i think swift vdi is the best selling model in the dzire range....in delhi wherever i go i see the dzire vdi,i have seen a few of the dzire lxi and have only once seen the dzire zdi...but the dzire due to its a bit odd rear looks the best in dark colours like black,blue.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

hi ther again,

have completed 10,500kms on my dzire and have no major complaints!

--fuel efficiency has sort of marginally improved to about 15 in the city and about 17-18 in the highways.

--Braking at high speeds is sort of not satisfactory.

--Yeah it does not ride very well over extremely bad roads, say like a fiesta or a city, but i would say it is much better than a logan.

--the horn is an issue..they gave the dzire a double horn, but for some reason or the other one of the horns keep getting disconnected. i have done this exercise twice now.

--all in all,the car is still very good. it is worth every rupee i have paid.

--after driving 10,000kms, the engine noise levels are still same as new. you gotta give it to fiat for developing such a great engine, but more so to maruti for developing such an attractive package around the engine!

--also to all of you who are sort of confused between petrol vs diesel who probably drive around 1000-1200kms per month, i suggest you buy one of these modern diesels..you will never think twice of taking your car anywhere!

hey cc,

is it because the horns are placed so low behind the foglamps that the chance for a damage is more?

also, when you need to repair the horn, it takes a awful lot of time, as the service guy has to remove work thru the fog lamp slot..where is the horn placed in logan?

sujith read the review of your car at two levels 5200/10500kms.Must say you are largely satisfied as a owner.I too have booked one and expect the delivery by early April.

hey anjan, congrats again! i think you will enjoy the car too..it is not in the league of a verna or a city but you will be satisfied with the car for the money you paid..the car is rather easy on you...no maintenance issues, nothin that bothers in you a big way...easy to park in the city, just the right size..i only wish the braking could have been better especially when you are at above 120kmph.

@thackervijay,

the dzire's rear seats are not all that bad as its being made out to be. the wheel base is the same as swift, so no better space than a swift, but the seats in the dzire are more inclined, not so upright like a swift, so this sort of makes it little bit better at the rear. Having said that, 95% of the time its me and my wife at the front seats and no one at the rear... my dad who is about 6ft and quite hefty did dit pretty comfortably and he had no major complaints as the thigh support is very good.

oh thats a good part to hear sujith, cause i have heard that before but was not sure about this,its bit inclined which gives bit more space and good thigh support,thanks for sharing and wish you more happy safe miles ahead,keep updating.CHEERS!!

If you can try to add few pics of your car mate and of inteiors as well.
thackervijay2009-03-21 09:50:42

• 9 months later...

I'm back! Have currently clocked 22000kms and this my feed back:-

--The general perception remains unchanged even after 22k. The car is worth every penny I paid for--6.7 lakhs for the VDI version, which is decently loaded.

Now, let me list out the points that sort of bothered me:-

--The braking is not very effective. At high speeds, say at above 130kmph,, when you apply brakes the car wobbles a bit. I'm not sure if this is attributed to the narrow tyres or the general braking system itself.

--There is a strannge 'cranky' noise at times when I brake, especially a slow speeds. Got this checked atleast 5-6 times, infact the dealer even changed the brakes once { free of cost

}, but still this noise occurs occasionally.

--The HORNS!! There is a twin horn and atleast one of them conks off every now and then. The horns are placed behind the fog lamps, so to set these right, it requires quite a lot of effort and time.

--Service bills--Surprisingly, I got a bill of around Rs.7500 at my 20k service. Yes, all filters, oils were changed, but I was expecting this to be around 5k. So Maruti servicing is not cheap after all.

--The paint quality is not great. even a small touch here and there, the paint peels off.

--There is some evident rattling on bad roads. On good roads it is quite decent.

--The stereo { nippon} is just sufficient and will not satisfy an music enthusiast.

And now for the positive points:-

--The engine noise has not increased or anything like that. This must be one of the best diesel engines ever! Never felt short on power!

--The gear box is a gem! Slick, precise, very sporty!

In the city I still get about 15kmpl with AC on and in the highways I get about 16-17kmpl in spite of regularly cruising at 120-130 and touching 160kmph on quite a few occasions.

--The boot space is very good, and on long trips I find this extremely useful.

--There are 7 different spots for storing water bottles, at any given point of time you can atleast store 5! This you may think is not a great feature, but trust me, this is useful! My dad's logan does not even have a single slot! { his is the base diesel version}.

--The alarm system { again nippon} is actually very good. The doors get locked automatically once you cross 40kmph. You get an alarm if you leave your headlights on, also if you dont open your door after unlocking it, within 30 secs it gets lockd automatically.

What I wish I had done --> I should have probably changed the tyres, when I bought the car. Now i have to live with these narrow tyres and may be change them aftr 40k. And I should have added ABS, which I didnt, since I was on a budget.

All in all, my view is that the dzire is a very decent car, a good choice if you need a sedan with a great diesel unit. It gives you that flexibility of a big boot, but very easy to drive around in the city, park in narrow spaces etc. This is my first car and I have been largely satisfied. Even in today's market scenario, I dont think i could have bought any other car for this price. { i'm not keen on the Manza, it is sort of big, flashy and a diesel engine that would not return the kind of figures that I'm getting in my dzire}.

The dzire is not in the league of the honda citys, or the fabia sort of quality. So dont even compare. But as an overall package, i would say that it makes more sense than a logan or an indigo or even the big hatchbacks like the fabia / i20 etc { I'm specific about the diesel versions}.

Happy motoring!

Sujith

Nice review Sujith. Congratulations! Totally unbiased one, I would say.

Yes. You could have opted for ABS option. smiley13.gif

Regarding the music system, try to put four JBL speakers. It will not cost you much. If you could go for amps and component speakers, the better.

The factory fitted Head Unit is a nice one. If you need to play from USB drive, purchase a USB-FM transmitter. It will cost you around Rs:650/-

carispassion2010-01-02 18:35:12

@sujith: "-Service bills--Surprisingly, I got a bill of around Rs.7500 at my 20k

service. Yes, all filters, oils were changed, but I was expecting this

to be around 5k."...I'm surprised my Elantra 18000 kms service came up to Rs.4665, I think that's the difference between diesel and petrol. I also got all filters changed and on top of it had the Shell Helix Ultra engine oil instead of the regular Servo and also interior cleaning and shampoo done.

Durango Dude2010-01-03 04:24:42

@ DD, yes, 7500 is quite high. I got engine flushing done, which was about 750 plus all the filters for a diesel vehicle are more expensive i think. But my friend who owns a swift diesel got a bill of only 5.5 k in another city. Guess sometimes the service stations sometimes do something uncalled for and charge you all that more.

@ caris passion--Thanks for your feedback. Currently I play music out of my sony ericcson phone thru the aux in since the phone comes with double jack ear plugs.

What i'm really looking at is parking sensors. Which brand is good? Hiker?? Should i fix the regular one or the one with the rear view camera? And are these useful? My parking in my appt is very tight, I just have a about 1 ft behind to a pillar and another 1 ft to the gate at front. Will these parking sensors help in such tight spots?

What i'm really looking at is parking sensors. Which brand is good? Hiker?? Should i fix the regular one or the one with the rear view camera? And are these useful? My parking in my appt is very tight' date=' I just have a about 1 ft behind to a pillar and another 1 ft to the gate at front. Will these parking sensors help in such tight spots?

Have not heard about Hiker but AFAIK two good brands are Xenos and Autocop. But I dont know the sensitivity so I cant tell whether they will help in such short distance.

sujith liked your review of the latest servicing. Is that the last free service?How many of them do Maruti offer for free (3 or 4?)?The word free is misleading now a days as we shell out huge amounts during these free services.

Sure the DZire diesel is the most practical car in  its class. Some people do not like its looks especially the bulbous rear boot, which they say is an afterthought to make the Swift a sedan.

But does the Logan look much better ? No surely.

Happy Driving!

Archived