What all did you do today?

speed

@A Sethi: My son thinks Elantra is heavy and ponderous to drive; just the opposite of what I feel. He prefers a hatch with light control's. Anyways Elantra would be a hand full for a first time driver. You are lucky guy to have a benevolent dad. Accent for a first car is good. 

So, one Brio prospect on line. You can even test drive Jazz to see, what all a hatch could do. Superb greenhouse effect, compact, takes loads of cargo, FE,.. etc.

• Replies 1.6k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

@A Sethi: My son thinks Elantra is heavy and ponderous to drive; just the opposite of what I feel. He prefers a hatch with light control's. Anyways Elantra would be a hand full for a first time driver. You are lucky guy to have a benevolent dad. Accent for a first car is good.?

Does your son drive? I was under the impression he was younger.

@Sarabjeet: I'll keep an eye. My car though 5 years old has done only 20700 kms. It's running like a dream and to me, no other car has given as good service as this. The more I TD other cars the more I come to appreciate my car. Even if I sell it the buyer will be lucky: after all the Elantra petrol would be a resale disaster. So I intend keeping this car for a very long time. All said and done, unless something comes along to sweep me off my feet, Elantra will continue to decorate my portico for some more time.

Durango Dude2010-11-25 02:13:56

Few days ago, the Honda dealer called me saying the new stock of Jazz has now arrive but discounts are less, the current scheme was 55k without parking sensors while before was 65k+PSensors, anyways i told him that we booked Vento & he was like, sir Honda City is best in its segment why to go for Vento, still i have not completely ignored him, if i dont get my Vento in time will have to settle for City. The current scheme on City is half insurance free(before it was full), the OTR will come around 9.65lacs or so.

Anyways, my father is now evaluating the Vento Auto, yesterday he drove Camry auto & he was like why not to have atleast one Auto. I am not much in favour, as i love manual especially those who have brilliant gear-boxes like my jetta's, but for B2B traffic in city, auto's are nice options & also i dont want to drive manual & auto simultaneously in a day as my parking dont offers me choice to take whatever car.

Yesterday after exams while i was roaming, saw too many new white Jazz's select outside Honda dealership which reminded me of my booked(now cancelled) Jazz. Also saw the Yeti, someone was TD'ing it, looked nice from front & side but rear wasn't as attractive rather boxy still wasnt bad but frankly speaking it doesnt looks like a 16lacs car.

Now again, getting into bOOOks...

@BS: go for City auto' date=' don't touch the Camry now, it's going to become CKD in a few months time and you will be saddled with a 'dud' investment. With the City auto you can laugh all the way to the bank and petrol bunk.

[/quote'] No no DD, we are not planning for camry, planning for Vento Auto. Yes i know City's auto is better but then lets see what happens, my father prefers Vento over City.

@BS- Paddle shifters will be as good to drive in City as your Jetta. You can very well consider a City Auto.
Paddle shifters are nice to use & if you meant by saying i own a Jetta, well yes but its manual & not Auto.

@BS- Paddle shifters will be as good to drive in City as your Jetta. You can very well consider a City Auto.
Paddle shifters are nice to use & if you meant by saying i own a Jetta' date=' well yes but its manual & not Auto.[/quote']

@BS Hondas paddle shifts are useless , they don't let u change gear under a certain speed/RPM. How can u have paddle shifts without dual clutch?

Honda is just playing with its customers by adding flappy paddles to CVT's which have a mind of their own and don't listen to the owners.

@Asethi : new Jetta should be out by jan/feb 2011, so get your hands on one and bargain hard , you can get upto 2 lakhs off.
sarabjeet2010-11-25 17:14:29

@BS Hondas paddle shifts are useless ' date=' they don't let you change gear under a certain speed/RPM. How can u have paddle shifts without dual clutch?

Honda is just playing with its customers by adding flappy paddles to CVT's which have a mind of their own and don't listen to the owners.[/quote']

Honda is not using a CVT. CVT was there in City Mk.II. It is a five speed box in the City / Civic. I remember ages ago the details were posted on the forum by someone.

No AT will allow you to change gear which may result in a very low or high rpm. In fact the Honda Paddles even work in D and not just in S. S does not shift to 5 on its own,

Honda is not using a CVT. CVT was there in City Mk.II. It is a five speed box in the City / Civic. I remember ages ago the details were posted on the forum by someone.

As far i know the only non-cvt transmission Honda has is I-shift which is a six speed automatic transmission

No AT will allow you to change gear which may result in a very low or high rpm. In fact the Honda Paddles even work in D and not just in S. S does not shift to 5 on its own' date='.

Yes they are , Porsche made it in 80's Direct shift but Audi perfected it in 2006 in its Audi TT , with Dual clutch. It lets you change gear at lower RPM , (it is like driving the car at 3rd gear at 20 kmph with some clutch pressed)

now number of companies have comeup with their versions.

Others are SMG's of M series , now they have made into 330D and other models, Mercedes had Hydrak( was also there in my A class) and others mainly from Ferrari , Lambo's , Aston Martin , VW recently has adopted it etc.

But replacement of these are very expensive. But atleast u can use then as you want smiley2.gif

Congrats nishu for new mobile' date=' BTW which one is this, does wave comes with other series also other than S8500 & the newer one S8530 Wave2.
Do share the price & specs.[/quote']

If I remember correctly, just a couple of months back you wrote that you had bought a Wave. If that was true, shouldn't you be knowing more about it!smiley2.gif

BTW congrats Nishu, Wave is a good phone.