What all did you do today?

speed

• Replies 1.6k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

hi guys. Got back from Shri Hemkunt Sahib on sunday. Tired and ill as usual because of sudden changes in altitude.

latest update. Sold Beemer and have an Benz E280 cdi (Period).

Talked to Drifty on phone was suppose to meet him but was caught up with paper work.

Great trip Sarab, back from Heaven on Earth! The abode of the saint soldier, the just & the savior of his people - Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji.

Did you walk through & visit the Valley of Flowers?

Edit: Yes sure post some beautiful pics.
BornFree2011-07-20 18:14:08

No the weather was bad. The worst i have encountered in the past 5 years. The roads where washed away so people adviced not to visit Valley of flowers. Anyways people hardly visit the real valley of flower which is at the altitude of 15,000 feet. It is very difficult to treck till there.

Anyways will upload some photos later

@DD I guess its a good thing airtel has increased the base speed permanently. I have a 1399 4mbps 30gb plan for home.

I personally am not a fan of their broadband plans because they have totally done away with unlimited plans and every plan has a download cap after which your speed is reduced to 256 Kbps. I find it absolutely ridiculous and very annoying at times because I am a heavy user(and not just because of downloads) because of my work. Ask them if for an unlimited plan and they try to direct you to one of their other plans but they again have a download cap of 75-100gb also are extremely unreasonably priced.

IMHO airtel is simply taking advantage of the fact that they dont have any real competition in terms of broadband. The only competition they have is BSNL/MTNL and the less said about them the better.

@Sarabjeet:

Do you mean the Hemkunt Sahib that is above Badrinath?

If yes,then how we didn't met?

I too was there on 17th,but what is good is that I am not ill at all.Found an advantage of having 2-3 wireless modems,I was logged on to ACI even after I left Badrinath...smiley2.gif

As mentioned by Bornfree"BACK TO EARTH FROM HEAVEN"!! TSiVipul2011-07-21 02:19:02

@ A Sethi: I think the cap is a good idea. For example I have a wireless modem and kid's sit in their rooms and browse and sometimes the modem is on whole night, in such a situation, I run the risk of going bankrupt. I haven't been successful at telling my kid's, especially my almost 21 year old son to switch off the modem. Many a time I hear music in the morning and when I check on my son he's fast asleep with computer crooning his favourite music and I shut it down and switch off the modem.

Durango Dude2011-07-21 03:23:50

@Durango:

What will happen if the modem is ON for the whole night when you have kept nothing on downloading.I mean if you have put a movie on download and slept then its going to download something,but if your modem is just ON with no auto updates of windows,no downloads active..then modem too rests in peace for whole night weather it may be ON or OFF.

The modem being left on shouldn't be a problem. Regarding the caps. It is somewhat unfair because for years now we had simple plans where you pay a certain amount and you get unlimited usage at a particular speed. With the new plans after a certain usage your speed is reduced and you are left with a internet or crutches. And to increase the speed then would need for you to activate the Speed on Demand service which again is priced ridiculously. If anything, users are paying much much more because of the caps. No one is paying less.

The modem being left of hurts you really badly, I remember when i opted for airtel 8mbps with 50gb, i hadnt downloaded much.. at the end of the month, my bill came to a whooping 19000 rs!! The airtel guy was like your modem was left on which states a part of downloading. anyway there was no where i was paying that so ended up paying 3000rs and when back to my old plan.

My airtel plan - 2MBPS in Day and 4mbps and night, 100% unlimited downloads for rs @ 2200+tax. Earlier use to be 2700+tax. glad airtel reduced its prices. Also 4mbps was recently introduced for free of cost.( Loyal customer i guess)

I feel the plan is reasonable as > i can download / watch unlimited movies / songs. if you rent or buy a movie you pay a lot. I play online games call of duty mw2, so its demands good speed to match servers in Europe or USA.

If you guys want to know how download free movies / tv shows / games / audio books / e-books etc. let me know. I dont the admins will allow.Pranab*2011-07-21 11:14:56

@Pranab:

I have been using net from last four years but still haven't yet faced any such problem.Even with Airtel too.

I still remember that when I used to download movies I used to put them in the list and sleep and in the morning I used to find them downloaded but no extra data downloaded with modem ON.

@Pranab: I have experienced this when I shifted to a limited usage plan, instead of my bill's coming down it shot up due to kids leaving the modem on at night. Then I shifted back to the unlimited plan.

@Vipul: You are charged for leaving the modem on even though may not be using the internet.

@Durango Dude:

I really can't believe this until you show/mail me any official document which has the same printed on it with a company stamp,and yes,no stars(*) should be there because I have been taught that "Never believe a document which has stars(*) on it,you know the conditions apply thing".TSiVipul2011-07-21 11:57:50

@Vignesh:

I think I am amongst the Skoda Laura owners here right now and the question you have asked is really painful.Since the day I have bought the car I have never seen a service done below 8000(it was the cheapest one) and highest I have paid 11000,so not so big difference,once met an accident too and the bill which firstly was of 80k ended up at 1.43lacs for repairs.But whatever it may be,the car still justifies all the maintainance costs at just one tap of throttle(example is in my avatar itself and this is frequently done.Note:I am not promoting high speed driving,but just giving an example of brilliance of my gem-my Laura).

@vignesh

First 2 services were free, 3rd service was expensive for i think 18k, but had to change some things to cant remember.

Anyway how do you feel sitting at the back of the cruze? When i travel, it feels like im flying business, so spacious at the back smiley2.gif

@DD, If your still using limited plans, you could a download a software which dosent allow you download as per your set limit. It evens set your modem from not downloading

@Vipul, What plan your using at the moment? These days forget the sleeping at nights and downloading/ Now i download a 700mb movie in less then an hour and half. Delighted with India booming on tech

Three posts merged.
BornFree2011-07-22 08:25:12

@Pranab:

Firstly I'd like to mention you again that I still remember those days.Else today the speeds are in different league but now a days there is a different problem,the problem is that neither I watch movies nor I have time for them after I joined my father in business(after he got ill)to share his work load.

In my office we have took the BSNL unlimited 3500 plan,it gives us lightening fast speeds and works for three computers simultaneously.

Songs are what I download and my IDM does it in just a minute or two for a 5o mb document to download.

Right now I am using my new BSNL 3g modem.

@Vignesh:

The same question which was thrown by Pranab:

How do you feel sitting in the rear of your car(I mean rear seats)?Doesn't it feel a bit too much open?

Well,it is where my Laura AMBIENTE has a totally different AMBIENCE. TSiVipul2011-07-22 08:33:50

Spotted some brilliant things today,just have a look at these:

Incredible India!

82ODa.jpg

A Maruti 800 with 4X4 4X4,maybe this means that 800 has four tyres and four men helping it move(three pushing and one handling the steering wheel)

kZAkb.jpg

A bajaj Pulsar 180 with ZEN on its tank,Xcit(alto one) on its cowls and Xcite graphics too with owner's contact number on the footpegs...smiley36.gif

hqYWD.jpg