Help me deciding my first car

vippy81

Hey all,

I am looking to buy my first car around diwali and lookin 4 some xpert advice on a lot of things

a. my budget is in 4-5 lacs but stretcheble

b. Not much of the driving. may be less than 500 kms/mth however it may increase in future.

c. safety + peace of mind, can't run to dealer every in few days

d. plan to use it for 3 years

e. should be sturdy enuf for rough roads of gurgaon & UP (i10 doesn't look like so)

f. how much maintenance cost for per 1000 kms & do insurance premium vary based on car make & model. tryin to figure out TCO

g. heard maruti starts giving structural probs after a year or so like door not closing or clutch plate burning fast......is it true?

Finally, I heard that i20 will be launched in Nov (Delivery in dec.) & will be around 5. is it worth waiting for?

Hi Vippy, in 4-5L range, for now Swift rules.

If safety is a concern, go in for Swift Zxi, it comes with ABS &Airbags.

Well Ive not hard of any such problems about Maruti you mentioned, they are all rumors.

Yes, i20 would be a good package, if you can wait!

Hello vippy and welcome to this forum!...the best option is to wait for new i20 which is going to hit showrooms by next month!..(there  are many threads existing on it so u can have more info from there)..and if u cant wait for its launch then MS swift makes more sense ...its great car with attractive discounts by maruti..but still i would suggest i20..reallly its a worth waiting option!smiley17.gif

if you want to buy now go for i10 and its sturdy on bad roads also dont worry about that..Well i have seen many rattling swifts and even my friend owns swift has some rattling issues espcially with bumpers..dont know about body..

There will be no such problem with i10..you can have Asta variant with all safety features or else wait for splash and i20...splash will take time but i20 will be here by next month or so

Well, I beg to differ here with my fellow friends, Estilo is a normal car, nice & peppy. Only thing is if you can live with the looks, there's nothing really wrong with the car. Added benefit is that you might get a good deal on it as Maruti is doling out festive season discounts & schemes & they are more pronounced in the Estilo as it is a slow mover from the showrooms.

A-Star will be a better alternative to present breed of cars & next month is all you have to wait for.

I would strongly recommend the i10..its a relaible and easy to use car.

Contrary to what you feel, the i10 is one of the best built car in that price bracket(as reported by all the major auto mags after extended periods of testing...do go thru those reports if u can).

the swift wud also be a good choice but your fears abt its build quality are true to a great extent(again as reported by all major auto mags)..the problems are mostly rattles and squeaks from the dashboard and parcel trays..the way switches operate and the overall fit and finish is also not vry impressive..

odrwys its a great car..bt u decyd whether u can live with quality issues.

the i20 is worth waiting for bt will be slightly out of ur budget..

the splash is not expected till atleast the first quarter of 2009..so says a major MUL dealer in India.

The A-Star was reported by the autocar TV programme as being quite cramped

Bt do cross check everything that evryone says here b4 making ur decision..

happy car hunting..

I am overwhelmed by response rate. thank you all.

So swift, i10 are the potential choices from responses.

--swift's negative point is build quality while I am yet to hear anything negative abt i10

--is there any major difference in maintenance cost between them ?

also, it seems waiting for a-star & i20 will make sense as atleast my choice set will double.

Well, I tried i10 & sincerely I did not like the car.Reasons:

I am tall & legroom upfront is at a premium,

I did not find the interiors to my taste,

Also, I consider Swifts looks better compared to i10.

I think Swift's maintenance will be cheaper compared to i10.

Well' date=' I tried i10 & sincerely I did not like the car.Reasons:

I am tall & legroom upfront is at a premium,

I did not find the interiors to my taste,

Also, I consider Swifts looks better compared to i10.

I think Swift's maintenance will be cheaper compared to i10.

I think looks(interiors and exteriors) are a very subjective matter..its about individual tastes..we should let the guy decide for himself.

@vippy81

maintenance wise, i doubt there wud be much to choose between them..

In fact the swift cud probably see a few extra trips to the workshop for any structural issues..nuthn serious,just the odd niggle here and there..

Hey all' date='

I am looking to buy my first car around diwali and lookin 4 some xpert advice on a lot of things

a. my budget is in 4-5 lacs but stretcheble

b. Not much of the driving. may be less than 500 kms/mth however it may increase in future.

c. safety + peace of mind, can't run to dealer every in few days

d. plan to use it for 3 years

e. should be sturdy enuf for rough roads of gurgaon & UP (i10 doesn't look like so)

f. how much maintenance cost for per 1000 kms & do insurance premium vary based on car make & model. tryin to figure out TCO

g. heard maruti starts giving structural probs after a year or so like door not closing or clutch plate burning fast......is it true?

Finally, I heard that i20 will be launched in Nov (Delivery in dec.) & will be around 5. is it worth waiting for?

SInce you can strech your budget, i would say its worth the wait for i20. If you dont want to wait for some other reasons, and the priorities you have stated, consider Palio. Its a very nice sturdy car for rough roads and no troubles for a good driver! it may not deliver great mileage but it can optimal for your usage of 500 kms per month.

I think looks(interiors and exteriors) are a very subjective matter..its about individual tastes..we should let the guy decide for himself.

maintenance wise' date=' i doubt there wud be much to choose between them..

In fact the swift cud probably see a few extra trips to the workshop for any structural issues..nuthn serious,just the odd niggle here and there..[/quote']

Offcourse looks are a matter of individual tastes & I let him know mine, as he had put a query about it.

Also, Marutis are best when it comes to aftersales service, the shear no. of service stations & availability of spares & parts, make owning a Maruti the easiest.

I believe that Swift and i10 don't compete each other. Swift's competition is i20. Swift costs a bit higher than i10 and better image too. As per ACI test i10's fuel efficiency is a bit more than Swift(..1for highway and .5 for city.). A bigger car is always better in many aspects.  If you are going to select between i10 and Swift, go for Swift.

Crazy cat2008-10-16 15:24:21

I believe that Swift and i10 don't compete each other. Swift's competition is i20. Swift costs a bit higher than i10 and better image too. As per ACI test i10's fuel efficiency is a bit more than Swift(..1for highway and .5 for city.). A bigger car is always better in many aspects.  If you are going to select between i10 and Swift' date=' go for Swift. [/quote']

today's market, better to consider all cars in the 4-5Lakhs are in the same category. Though i10 has 1.1, 1.2 swift is 1.3, but its just too many models and variants in this range.. so its just the question of what you like!

Archived