cliffmorais 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 Can you pl tell me what are the various segments that cars fall under??? I mean- small cars, sedanes, SUVs, etc and what is the basis for classifying them in these categories. ie. length, height etc. Also kindly provide with some Indian car examples. Thanks Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Geforce 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 Examples: Hatchback - Suzuki Swift Sedan - Honda Civic Estate - Tata Indigo marina SUV - Honda CRV Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cliffmorais 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 can you pl tell me the basis for classifying these cars. i.e. what length, height or any other parameters??? Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Geforce 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 The cars are classified into segments based on the body mould/form. Its not the length nor the height that determines the segments. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
pryas 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 yes you can take a look at all these Hatch - Alto , WagonR , Spark , Santro , Zen , Swift , Getz , UVA , Palio , indica ETC Sedans- Indigo,Esteem,Fiesta,Ikon,SX4,City,Verna,accent,Optra,Civic,Octavia,Corrolla,Accord,Laura ETC Estates - Indigo Marina , Palio Adventure and Corsa Swing ETC MUV- Innova, Scorpio Etc SUV- Safari , CRV , Grand Vitara ETC By seeeing all these cars you will get an idea. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sgiitk 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 May be he wants the A, B, C, D classification for cars? Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rssh 59 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 See segment is a broader view of telling what type of car is it in its own category like the swift is in higher segment to santro zen alto etc. The segment is some what dependant to the price like safari costs 10lakhs whereas caryenne cost 10000000 i.e. 10 times its price. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sgiitk 0 Report post Posted October 10, 2007 Agreed. The division is somewhat arbitrary and includes price, size, and (maybe) perception. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hector0285 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2007 if i am not wrong scorpio is a suv not a muv Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katalysm76 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 Hatch - Alto , WagonR , Santro , Zen , Swift , , Palio , indica ETC Sedans- Esteem,Fiesta,Ikon,,City,accent,Optra,Civic,Corrolla,Accord, ETC Estates - Indigo Marina , Palio Adventure and Corsa Swing ETC MUV- Innova, Scorpio ,Sumo Grande,Etc SUV- Safari , CRV , Grand Vitara ETC Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adi1991 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 well as far as i know the segments sarts with A, B, B+ and goes on with the cheapest cars come under A- 800, santro, zen they are all hatchbacks and cost max around 6lacs then their is B segement here are all your entry level sedans- esteem, ikon, probably costlier hatches too lying b/w these is b+ C segment- comes around 8-10 laks magnum.... city.... C+ segment includes the likes of laura D-- accord, camry, superb and it goes on and on like this Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
adi1991 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 they are mostly classiefied on engine.... size..... cost.... and lot's more their are many cars which are costlier than the cars in the next segment.... so no one factor decides it's segment.... probably i am not perfect at this so please correct me if i am wrong Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
anandch 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 May be he wants the A' date=' B, C, D classification for cars? [/quote'] u have hit the nail on the head dude...here we calssify them more on price levels than size.... A:only the 800 b:santro/wagon r/zen/indica b+:fiat palio/chevy-uva/getz/swift/fusion c:esteem/accent/verna/city/sx4/indigo/baleno/fiesta/ d:accord/laura/camry/ suv/muv`s luxurysegment hope the classification`s right Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites