peterjp Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 I am looking at buying a sedan with a budget of 7-8 lakhs. predominantly city driving with average of 500-600 kms per month Family of 2 adults and 1 child Priorities are a) Looks Comfort c) Fuel economy d) Low maintenance costs Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
archit Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 fiesta is the one to go for in your priorities or even linea which is really good because it has features more than its class Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 Numero Uno will be City Mk. III. At less than 8000km per annum a diesel makes no sense. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peterjp Posted February 25, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 The city price tag on the road is taking it to 9 plus. Hence did not consider the new city Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
watilokez Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 hey peter fiesta will be the best option for u- great driving and high FE... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peterjp Posted February 25, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 petrol or diesel? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 @peterjp: As stated your mileage does not demand a diesel. You should be doing 15,000+ per annum to justify a diesel. I would beg, borrow or steal to get a City. Otherwise look into the Maruti stable (Dezire/SX4). Hyundai Verna is not exciting, with a pedestrian petrol engine. If you are of the adventurous sort you may look at the Linea (I will definitely not). Others tend to be expensive in terms of consumption, repairs and depreciation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
watilokez Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 diesel will give u more FE and petrol more power... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 hey peter fiesta will be the best option for u- great driving and high FE...? I dont think fiesta is the one to go for. Fiesta has good FE only in diesel which is not required for him since he is doing only 500 km a month. Also it feels a segment down. Go for linea petrol or SX4 ZXi. They match your requirements perfectly. While Linea petrols mileage is not known mileage of SX4 is not that great but in the long run it is more VFM with a good service and resale value. And still its mileage is at par when compared to others in its class except ANHC but to recover its cost at current petrol prices you need to drive it for 70000 kms. So I feel SX4 is the best for you. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peterjp Posted February 25, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 thank you all for the valuable inputs. I am kind of looking at an SX4 but wanted to get an opinion on it Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peterjp Posted February 25, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 one of the sx4 concerns is FE. how is it vis a vis other petrol sedans? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
arihant Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 hi , as your drive is 500-600 kms means go for only petrol. i will say rank wisely 1. HONDA CITY 2.SX4 3.FIAT LINEA 4.FORD FIESTA 5.SWIFT DIZIRE 6.VERNA 7.FORD IKON Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rssh Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 SX4's FE is one lesser side than others in market due to the massive wheel 205/65R16 .While other have 175/65R15 tyres but we need these massive tyres ,if you quiet know Indian roads its a crossover do some offroading .YOU CAN GO ANY WERE A SCORPIO CAN. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
anjan_c2007 Posted February 25, 2009 Report Share Posted February 25, 2009 The DZire VDi/ZDi is among the best.These are diesels but much dependable, cost less to maintain and are fun to drive. They deliver about 15 kmpl in the city and 20 kmpl on the highway. I won't suggest the SX 4 which is too liberal with its fuel consumption and the steep price depreciation is unique for any Maruti. Its a good and dependable car that makes a statement, but I have my reservations about due to the facts stated here. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peterjp Posted February 26, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 26, 2009 dear anjan thanks for the input. only issue with Dzire is that the exterior looks put me down. both me and my wife find the appearance as the factor against Dzire Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nikvint Posted February 26, 2009 Report Share Posted February 26, 2009 hi ' date=' as your drive is 500-600 kms means go for only petrol. i will say rank wisely 1. HONDA CITY 2.SX4 3.FIAT LINEA 4.FORD FIESTA 5.SWIFT DIZIRE 6.VERNA 7.FORD IKON [/quote']Ditto... Perfect chronology. I would definitely add Accent above Ikon. If you can't stretch to H-city, SX4 is the car to go for. All the best. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aks316 Posted February 26, 2009 Report Share Posted February 26, 2009 this is my preference.. 1.honda city 2.chevrolet aveo 3.hyundai verna 4.ford fiesta 5.maruti sx4 6.fiat linea Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aks316 Posted February 26, 2009 Report Share Posted February 26, 2009 honda city - its a honda, aveo - VFM package, Verna - strong aftersales service, comfort, fiesta - best drivers car, sx4 - good car but personally i dont like it coz of cheap quality, linea - excellent car but poor aftersales service.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vibhor Posted February 26, 2009 Report Share Posted February 26, 2009 I am looking at buying a sedan with a budget of 7-8 lakhs. predominantly city driving with average of 500-600 kms per month Family of 2 adults and 1 child Priorities are a) Looks Comfort c) Fuel economy d) Low maintenance costs As i suggested before also in another thread you created, That newly launched FIAT Linea is best of the pack if your considering a car under 8las, Its almost civic sized car and comes loaded with advanced tec. features, It has excellent looks, no doubt and its a very comfy car good FE and low maint. costs. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy cat Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 Yeah Linea makes more sense than others. I'd recommend you Linea. Spare parts' price is very competitive and will ensure low service cost. Fiat has made a strong come back. So resale should improve too. It'll be very comfy, and the build quality is great. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
peterjp Posted February 27, 2009 Author Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 What about linea diesel or petrol. FE of petrol engine seems to be matter of doubt as no one including dealers have a fix Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted February 27, 2009 Report Share Posted February 27, 2009 What about linea diesel or petrol. FE of petrol engine seems to be matter of doubt as no one including dealers have a fix Did some of not point out that with your driving a Diesel is definitely not recommended? At the end of the day it is your choice and your money. In your case the routing servicing, maintenance, insurance & depreciation are more important than differences in fuel costs / economy. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spearhead1909 Posted March 5, 2009 Report Share Posted March 5, 2009 either go for the linea if you want to buy a diesel badly.. and petrol emotion pack is vfm @ 7lacs ex or go for ANHC EMT or SMT.. emt doesnt have the so called audio player Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tanmay87 Posted March 6, 2009 Report Share Posted March 6, 2009 Consider Linea(petrol), NHC and Fiesta 1.6 S, with a monthly running of around 600 kms there is no reason why you should opt for a diesel. Your best bet would be the City, it has got the looks, performance,comfort, good fuel-efficiency. You can go for City E, it will exceed your budget though. tanmay872009-03-06 03:24:58 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mehul_bhp Posted March 6, 2009 Report Share Posted March 6, 2009 buy the sx4 !!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived