sudeepd Posted March 2, 2009 Report Share Posted March 2, 2009 Tata Nano is going to be launched on 23th March and Bookings from April Second Week. For more information visit: http://indianautosblog.com/2009/02/official-tata-nano-to-be-launched-on-march-23-bookings-from-april-second-week Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vibhor Posted March 2, 2009 Report Share Posted March 2, 2009 Yes sudeep heard the news that nano is finally coming on 23rd March, but a thread on nano alredy exists - http://www.autocarindia.com/new/autocar_forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=3582&KW=nano&PID=66124#66124 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted March 2, 2009 Report Share Posted March 2, 2009 Great news. At the moment I hear the Nano is busy getting 'divine blessings'! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sudeepd Posted March 3, 2009 Author Report Share Posted March 3, 2009 Vibhor, I read that thread before creating this one but the older thread says "Nano bookings from Feb end". So created this thread. Period. I am imagining what will happen to the car parking slots after Nano is launched because once the Nano is launched, everywhere you will see Only Nanos and all car parking Slots will Overflow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vibhor Posted March 3, 2009 Report Share Posted March 3, 2009 Vibhor, I read that thread before creating this one but the older thread says "Nano bookings from Feb end". So created this thread. Period. I am imagining what will happen to the car parking slots after Nano is launched because once the Nano is launched, everywhere you will see Only Nanos and all car parking Slots will Overflow. No probs, and yes, Exactly i think same, What will happen to parking slots and not only parking slots actually but roads and other places too, We all know that in India we already have no place to park car or even to drive it then what will happen when this cheapest cr will come??The ppl who already have one or two cars they will buy this one also!and those who have two wheelers, they will keep them and also add this tiny nano in garage!Every member in family will have his personal car, and i can't imagine what will happen to our country in future, Govt. should take a quick action, like theres a rule in japan, One should approve a parking space for him/herself then only he/she has permission to buy a car! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DreamTheCar Posted March 3, 2009 Report Share Posted March 3, 2009 Yes, finally the Nano is to be launched. But dont get over excited about the launch. I think the clear confirmation can be received oly after it actually makes its presence in the showrooms. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sudeepd Posted March 6, 2009 Author Report Share Posted March 6, 2009 I saw a picture of Nano in our Local Newspaper. The below picture shows Ratan Tata with Nano. The below picture shows that Nano has Double Barrel Headlamps If it Really Has Double Barrel Headlamps, then it would be nice to see the World's Cheapest Car having Double Barrel Headlamps. Since None of Maruti Suzuki Cars have Double Barrel Headlamps. sudeepd2009-03-06 06:49:42 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheSam Posted March 6, 2009 Report Share Posted March 6, 2009 I think this is Nano Europa shown at Geneva motor show. Indian Nono won't have any Double barrel Headlamp.... Correct me if wrong... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sparshq Posted March 7, 2009 Report Share Posted March 7, 2009 looks like nano is set for indian roads. Spotted an nano yesterday near ahmednagar! It was blue, full blue with bumpers and it looks stunning! the driver saw us clickin d fotos and he accelerated, god damn! It was sooooo excellent, seemed pretty zippy too! Has a central console speedo like the vista and the interiors were full biege, with ac vents which cand be shut fully. It was a power steering as he was easily driving it. Rear wheel drive and small size were noticable. I noticed a console mounted music system too! So could this have been the top end variant??? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thackervijay Posted March 7, 2009 Report Share Posted March 7, 2009 Thats the model showcased at geneva auto show, which the headlamps might be for the export models and not for our market, but looks cool. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted March 7, 2009 Report Share Posted March 7, 2009 Threads Merged. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vibhor Posted March 7, 2009 Report Share Posted March 7, 2009 I think this is Nano Europa shown at Geneva motor show. Indian Nono won't have any Double barrel Headlamp.... Correct me if wrong... Yes thats correct, Indian nano will not come with double barrel headlights but tata may give this kind of facelift later but then it won't cost 1lacs, somewhere someone have to compromise. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zal D Posted March 7, 2009 Report Share Posted March 7, 2009 It also looks like on the euro nano it has front disc brakes.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vibhor Posted March 7, 2009 Report Share Posted March 7, 2009 Yes zal, It has front discs i think it even has airbags also! :-) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thackervijay Posted March 8, 2009 Report Share Posted March 8, 2009 Geneva 2009: Bodacious Tatas - Indian automaker debuts Nano Europa Uttering the word "Europa" should spark memories of the funky and fragile Lotus of the '60s and '70s, or perhaps the British sportscar company's more recent revival. What one normally doesn't tend to think of is the Tata Nano.That may change, however, as the discount Indian auto is slated to come to The Continent wearing the Nano Europa badge, and it will arrive with more standard equipment and a higher base price than the target $2,500 USD it will sell for in India. Judging from the production-ready models debuting at the Geneva Motor Show this week, it will also be the best-looking Nano in the family.While the naming usage may have Colin Chapman rolling in his minimalist coffin, the Nano Europa still shares a few similarities, including a low curb weight, small wheels at the corners, small engines with unusual placements, and so on.The Europa differs significantly from the standard Nano with a longer 2.28-meter wheelbase (90 inches, or about 7.5 inches longer), a different drivetrain and added standard equipment. In fact, the Europa offers a raft of high-end new-to-Nano features like four-lug 14-inch alloy wheels, electric power steering, LED lighting (unlikely to see production) and even a standard passenger-side mirror. Did we mention it even has an all-aluminum three-cylinder engine and a five-speed transmission for less-dangerous highway cruising?All joking aside, the Europa also figures to get more safety features, including stability control and anti-lock brakes, and Tata says the car will adhere to all necessary safety regulations before it goes on sale. While pricing has not been announced, there is talk of hitting the 5,000 Euro bogey (around $6350 USD) when the car launches for 2011, and if the company can hit that target price, we suspect there will be far more Tata Europas extant than Lotus Europas in just a few months' worth of production. High-res gallery of both yellow and silver Europas below, official press release after the jump. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sudeepd Posted March 8, 2009 Author Report Share Posted March 8, 2009 Vijay, DD had posted this matter somewhere else. I read it in the morning today. Now you posted the same matter (and also the photo) here. Please check other posts before posting double. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
spearhead1909 Posted March 8, 2009 Report Share Posted March 8, 2009 friends i have heard a lot about tata nano.. its a dream by one of the greatest indians for the indians.. i also know that it is a sub 2 lakh car.. so it will be sold in a large number. but do we have the roads for such kind of traffic? all the two wheelers owners will upgrade to nano for sure... the pollution levels will increase and also the traffic.. nobody will use the public transport.. and what about the highways.. what will we do if we'll have 50 nanos going at a top speed of 100 in front of us.. we wont be able to overtake them( it might be risky) and is the car safe? i hope that tata provides us with a tougher aluminium(i hope the cars are made up of aluminium or may be steel) just need your comments on this.. mods please look at this Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sudeepd Posted March 8, 2009 Author Report Share Posted March 8, 2009 Nano will be safe car. If it would not, how the TML can sell it in Europe? Most of the people think that the Nano has Rear Engine. So the Frontal Collision will affect the Passengers. But I guess TML would have taken Care about this. If the Car pollutes more, it would not be allowed in Metro cities (they have Strict Emission Norms). As for Highways (and also cities), one will have to take alternate route if the traffic on "Nano Routes" is more. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted March 8, 2009 Report Share Posted March 8, 2009 Threads Merged. Please don't create duplicate threads about the Nano. Continue the discussion in this thread. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted March 13, 2009 Report Share Posted March 13, 2009 Nano is going to come in 3 models, base, mid & top end. Engine is going to be 624cc. Power - 35bhp. Bookings will start from 2nd. weel of April. More: With a length of 3.1 metres, width of 1.5 metres and height of 1.6 metres, with adequate ground clearance, it can effortlessly manoeuvre on busy roads in cities as well as in rural areas. The Nano has a rear-wheel drive, all-aluminium, two-cylinder, 623 cc, 33 PS, multi point fuel injection petrol engine. This is the first time that a two-cylinder gasoline engine is being used in a car with single balancer shaft. - The lean design strategy has helped minimise weight, which helps maximise performance per unit of energy consumed and delivers high fuel efficiency. - Performance is controlled by a specially designed electronic engine management system. Meets all safety requirements - The Nano's safety performance exceeds current regulatory requirements. With an all sheet-metal body, it has a strong passenger compartment, with safety features such as crumple zones, intrusion-resistant doors, seat belts, strong seats and anchorages, and the rear tailgate glass bonded to the body. - Tubeless tyres further enhance safety. Environment-friendly - The Nano's tailpipe emission performance exceeds regulatory requirements. In terms of overall pollutants, it has a lower pollution level than two-wheelers being manufactured in India today. - The high fuel efficiency also ensures that the car has low carbon dioxide emissions, thereby providing the twin benefits of an affordable transportation solution with a low carbon footprint. BornFree2009-03-13 13:19:51 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lavkesh Posted March 14, 2009 Report Share Posted March 14, 2009 Guys, Specifications and variant details of the Tata Nano are out!!!! Rock the world Tata! http://www.cubiccapacity.com/world-exclusive-tata-nano-detailed-specifications-variants-revealed/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dtandon Posted March 14, 2009 Report Share Posted March 14, 2009 lavkesh - Thanks for the details on the Nano. Interesting specs. The forum already has an existing thread covering the Tata nano launch. Please do a search on "tata nano" and post this link into that thread so that it's shared with a wider audience. Mods - please merge/delete thread(s). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted March 14, 2009 Report Share Posted March 14, 2009 Threads Merged. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Durango Dude Posted March 14, 2009 Report Share Posted March 14, 2009 Great, now one's got to win a lottery and also pay cash to own this car. It better be good, the whole world is watching. Let's get ready to play "Kaun Banega 'Nano'pathi"...but I'd prefer to be a "Nano Europathi".... Wait and watch. Vijay Thacker, that's a nice post, but I "patao"ed it first from Autoblog, just joking. Search 'Nano Europa'. Durango Dude2009-03-14 12:00:11 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dtandon Posted March 16, 2009 Report Share Posted March 16, 2009 Take a look at this article from ET - Tatas seek patent security for Nano Quoting the interesting bit - "The base model of Nano, costing Rs 1 lakh, will be fitted with variomatic gears, which means it will be gearless for all practical purposes, instead of the standard manual gears in conventional cars. The car will sport a rear engine, variomatic transmission and boot space is in the front. This is a radical departure, given that auto-transmission variants are typically priced higher in India than their manual variants. The changes have been apparently made to improve fuel efficiency and ensure that the price tag is kept to a lakh." What do we have here? Someone seems to think that a standard 4 speed manual transmission isn't the most economical thing to manufacture ! Now thats news to me (it was disclosed a long time ago but I didn't think it would have an obvious cost benefit) .. FRG - is a road test/first drive by autocar scheduled anytime soon? dtandon2009-03-16 12:02:20 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived