karan_4n

got problem with RPM

Hi guys..

I m riding a bajaj p-150,2005 with alloys.

i brought it from delhi to nagpur as i am studying here.

6 months back i got it short handled n everything remiand untouched. Bike was still smooth going.

10 days back i came back from home and found that some thing wrong with my RPM.

Tried fixing it but could not. went to mechanic and he said its due to accelerator cable stretching of the short handle.

but then why wasn't this there before??

went to my known mechanic and on his suggestion got its one valve changed and alongwith that got my engine head too cleaned.

this worked for not more than 1 day and again same problem.

whenever i press clutch to shift up/down gear (the RPM is supposed to come down instantaneously) the acceleration remains same for few seconds or even increases RPM then slowly comes down.

although i repair most of the parts of my bike on my own but this has gone far beyond my reach.

i am seeking advice friends...please help me out.

thanx FRG.

but if it is an accelerator cable problem,why didnt this happen before???

and ya the outer cable makes sure that the inner moving multiple strand iron wire moves freely.

In the old bikes or most of the bikes the cable directly goes into the carb,so the outer cable may hamper the inner movement.n thus the acceleration.

But in pulsar there is a spring system (i guess thats called the butterfly system) attached to the end which is then attached to the carb.

so even if you hold that spring n move it up n down.the bike accelerates w/o even touching the accelerating cable.

please correct me if i am wrong.

Hi Karan i bet that your engine rpm does not come down when ur up shifting because of the short handle, because of your short handle, the accelerator cable is getting stuck somewhere, that's the reason why your RPM doesn't go down.