Why isn't Octavia selling?

rahul1810

Skoda Octavia after some price cuts retails at par with Civic and Altis. Though theese cars sale in substantial nos. the octy fails to do so. Why is this so? What are the defects in the octy that shoos away buyers? Is it the age of the car, the power or anything else?

The octavia is more then 5year old model in india,The people whos ready to spend 13lakh will strech a bit & go for the bigger laura.Especially there is no diesel variant at that price octavia ruled the market for some years but later there are cars like magnum,jetta which is doing well.The skoda parts are too expensive,especially in hyderabad there only one dealer mahavir auto,if once the car goes to his work shop,keeep a good amount of money aside to get the car back.I really love the vechile but i hate the mahavir work shop.People in hyderabad really need a other dealer of skoda.

Yes you are right that Skoda Octavia is not doing good sales in the country. On the other hand cars like Altis, Civic, and City are doing great. Its may be because cars like City and Civic has all the latest technologies and features. I think Octavia is a great car it only has to be introduced with some refinements now and then the car will definitely boost its own sales. Car buyers always look for something new.

I think its high time that Skoda should do price correction and put this car under 8-9lac category on road..As Laura is already coming at around 12.5-13lacs so this one should be stripped down..Its a good car but feature wise and power wise it can beat Civic/Altis so should be brought a segment down with City/Linea/Verna..

Well although it is old i still like it but should be priced competitively and some features should be added as standard like integrated music system and A.C.C..

It still looks fresh(Atleast to me), interiors arent that bad, quality is top-notch and interiors looks classy in black finish although are simple but elegant, its spacious but rear isnt that comfortable, it has tank like build quality, superb high-speed stability, and a diesel although isnt that powerful but when i drove i didnt found that underpowered at all..

When Octavis was launched in India, no body knew Skoda & Octavia literally created the brand Skoda in India. It sold on its merits & was the preffered choice of luxury car buyers for a long time. Later Laura or the new Octavia worldwide was launched, which appealed to the buyers & they preffered it over Octy. That was the ideal time for Skoda to correct the price & launch an updated/facelifted version of the Octy. to renew interest among buyers, but Skoda kept on delaying. Even now there is news sometimes about Octavia getting a facelift, but I guess its too late now & Skoda realises this too.

If now Skoda was to do something with the Octy , it would have to be a major facelift, with both interior/exterior & probably an engine change. Anything less would not help to resurrect its sales. BornFree2009-03-12 13:24:47

Octy is 'fading' out slowly coz it's not vfm anymore at that price point. What with the base model's of the Civic and Altis doing battle. I think the Optra Magnum diesel is a better option now than the Octy. And those who were going in for the Octy; have gone on to the Laura.

Archived