anijog

INDICATOR LAMP ETIQUTTE ON THE ROAD

I have been driving on Indian roads for the past 20 years and have never seen the correct use of indicator lamps on our roads.

I have seen cars being driven with HAZARD warning lamps on when driving in rainy season. I have seen RIGHT lamp indicators blinking when the car is parked on the left road shoulder. I have seen reverse lamps being rewired as FOG LAMPS on cars. I have seen cars overtaking with the LEFT indicators and then giving the RIGHT indicator to indicate their lane preference.
I have seen cars overtaking by putting ON HAZARD indicators.

DOES ANY BODY KNOW when these indicators are to be used?
I have complied a list of incidences where in which Indicator should FLASH, Open to all to correct me if wrong.

When car parked/break down on the road shoulder - HAZARD warning lamps should be ON.

When driving in FOGGY heavy rains - Both HEAD LAMPS and FOG LAMPS should be ON.

When driving in dawn and dusk conditions - HEAD LAMP ON LOW BEAM should be ON.

When Overtaking - RIGHT INDICATOR should be blinking and after completion of overtaking maneuver the LEFT INDICATOR should be briefly flashed to show that you plan to remain in that lane and if some body else wants to OVERTAKE you and if you are NOT in OVERTAKING lane you have to show your LEFT INDICATOR to show that you will remain to the LEFT and hence he is FREE to OVERTAKE.

IF YOU ARE IN THE OVERTAKING LANE and the person behind you wants to OVERTAKE but you are at the SAME TIME in position to OVERTAKE you INDICATE with YOUR RIGHT INDICATOR to indicate that you still want to OVERTAKE and that he SHOULD REMAIN BEHIND you.

If you are In the OVERTAKING LANE and DO NOT plan to OVERTAKE you should flash your LEFT INDICATOR and GIVE WAY by moving to the LEFT.

When driving without road illumination in the NIGHT -
ALWAY USE HIGH BEAM only DIP to LOW BEAM when the car in the OPPOSITE direction reaches NEAR YOUR BEAM THROW DISTANCE, SWITCH BACK TO HIGH BEAM thereafter.