sanzgod

Which second hand car for 1 - 1.5lakh

Hi Guys,

I am totally new to 4 wheeler drive & planing to go for a used car in the price range of 1 - 1.5 lakh. Earlier i planned to go for ALTO & heard that a one year old alto's engine is not good when compared with others.

I am planning to keep the vehicle for a year r two then go for a new one.

A friend of mine suggested to go for Indica, Need suggestion.

Kindly help me out.

Sanzz

Depends whether you need a hatch or a sedan. These days very good sedans too are available for Rs 1.5 L.

The Maruti Esteem is quite a reliable car though its discontinued.It delivers about 12 kmpl.

Another good car in the hatch form is the Zen that delivers about 14 kmpl.This car has also been discontinued.

You can also get a 2004/5 Wagon R for that amount.

Then comes the Alto and later the 800. All these Maruti cars are the best sellers in the used car market and are in great demand by buyers who seek budget cars. The Alto engine has no complaints and is an excellent performer.

Maruti True value (for second hand cars) offers a warranty too. Also Mahindra's outlets (for second hand cars) offer second hand cars of all makes under warranty. Buying from such outlets gets you a car thats been checked and offers VFM.

Even the Hyundai cars like the Santro are very good  for second hand car buyers.

As a rule within that budget you must stick to Maruti or Hyundai.

Do not go for used Tata cars as these drop in value like a pack of cards and sell at cheap rates in the second hand  market.Repairs may be costly if the car has been misused.  Reselling them may pose problems as you say you want to go for a new one soon.

Depends whether you need a hatch or a sedan. These days very good sedans too are available for Rs 1.5 L.
The Maruti Esteem is quite a reliable car though its discontinued.It delivers about 12 kmpl.
Another good car in the hatch form is the Zen that delivers about 14 kmpl.This car has also been discontinued.