Useless features in a car

325i

• Replies 93
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Well I have one doubt what does the parcel shelf actually do except for separating the luggage compartment and I have seen many people put soft toys on it .Whats is its use?

In my view the main purpose is to visually conceal the contents of the 'boot' from the outside. Also, there is a secondary benefit of somewhat isolating the boot and thus reducing the load on the AC, since the effective cooled volume come down. The negative is that it encourages you to keep the boot more cluttered.

these kits consume more fuel due to the added weight.

ACC is a great feature. It maintains a constant temperature' date=' adding to the comfort factor, saves fuel, automatically selects the blower and air intake modes so driver can concentrate on driving. Fresh air intake is a must as the car can take oxygen and humidity from outside air at least on highways or when one is driving on a not-so-crowded road.

Cruise Control though not suitable to Indian chaotic roads, provide increased FE as the vehicle is driven at constant speed.

Similarly many people find Automatic transmission useless as it is expensive to buy and consumes more fuel. But it provides more driver comfort and convenience and he becomes free to concentrate on driving.

Automatic headlights add to convenience and safety also as eyes take time to adjust on sudden light variations. Lights come on automatically when I drive from bright day light to under a bridge or in a tunnel.tunnel. [/quote']

Pretty conflicting post! Prime focus is on FE whether its ACC or Cruise control! Why not go in for a fuel efficient car in the first place & also dump  the Auto transmission to save that extra bit of fuel!

Basic point over here is that the manufacturers charge so much more in the garb of providing these features that any savings in the form of increased FE won't even break even.

In the sweltering up North, ACC doesn't help, one has to keep the level at max. cooling.

Auto lighting is more for underground parking/tunnel driving, sudden day/night changes do not take place on roads!

Imagine this feature going bust & putting it right again would cost a considerable sum.

well that depends on person to person....some people cant live w/o a.c (including me) while some people can manage w/o a/c as well....in my dad's corolla the a.c.c. temp is never lower than 24 degrees but a.c.c. is a useful feature....

well speed  these equipments add weight but we also as customers dont want to buy cars which are as stripped down as nano or maruti 800...people usually buy automatics who want comfort in city driving...their are many times when i get struck in traffic i pray to god for an automatic car...people who have back problems prefer automatics(i know a person whose back's condition is quiet bad and hence he cant use the clutch so he has always owned an automatic car) !!!!

Sports kits are used over here for aesthetic reasons primarily.

They are useful in high speed cars/sports car in providing that extra aerodynamic advantage. Spoilers too help in dynamic control.

As such I don't see a problem with these features supplied over here by manufacturers because either they are available in higher variants or as accessories. So, its upto the consumer to choose according to his/her own liking.

The Stereo systems/ICE's supplied in most cars as stock/O.E fitment are below par & one can get superior alternatives from outside at fraction of a cost.

Otherwise as pointed out by the thread starter, Sunroofs, heated seats are crap for our type of conditions.
BornFree2009-05-08 06:33:58

well the stock music systems are not quiet upto the mark but they have an inherent advantage over after market stereos.....cause the integrated music systems can never be stolen from a car while the after market stereos can be stolen quiet easily...i have decided the next car i will buy one of the grounds will be that the car should have a integrated music system (i got a cd player for my car and just after 6 months it got stolen from my car) !!!!

Pretty conflicting post! Prime focus is on FE whether its ACC or Cruise control! Why not go in for a fuel efficient car in the first place & also dump  the Auto transmission to save that extra bit of fuel!

Basic point over here is that the manufacturers charge so much more in the garb of providing these features that any savings in the form of increased FE won't even break even.

In the sweltering up North' date=' ACC doesn't help, one has to keep the level at max. cooling.

Auto lighting is more for underground parking/tunnel driving, sudden day/night changes do not take place on roads!

Imagine this feature going bust & putting it right again would cost a considerable sum.

Some people refuse to see beyond their nose. By your logic big, heavy and luxurious cars with high-end features have no right to increase their FE and everybody should travel by M800 or Alto or by Bicycle to save fuel.

Human body is most comfortable at 24-26*C. ACC can maintain a desired temp. inside the car irrespective of outside temp. So keeping the AC at max level simply loads the compressor and engine, burns more fuel and body gets a thermal shock when you step out from the car cabin say at 18*C to 44*C outside.

Underground parking, long over bridges and evenings are part of driving cycle in Metros. You can appreciate the convenience only after driving a vehicle fitted with Auto headlights. And for your kind info, there is a manual lights switch also provided in such cars.

By your logic, nobody should buy premium cars as they will be robbed by manufacturers by providing the premium features. And I think that most rich people are smart enough to spend their money wisely.

akj53in2009-05-09 07:15:48

Some people refuse to see beyond their nose. By your logic big' date=' heavy and luxurious cars with high-end features have no right to increase their FE and everybody should travel by M800 or Alto or by Bicycle to save fuel.

Human body is most comfortable at 24-26*C. ACC can maintain a desired temp. inside the car irrespective of outside temp. So keeping the AC at max level simply loads the compressor and engine, burns more fuel and body gets a thermal shock when you step out from the car cabin say at 18*C to 44*C outside.

Underground parking, long over bridges and evenings are part of driving cycle in Metros. You can appreciate the convenience only after driving a vehicle fitted with Auto headlights. And for your kind info, there is a manual lights switch also provided in such cars.

By your logic, nobody should buy premium cars as they will be robbed by manufacturers by providing the premium features. And I think that most rich people are smart enough to spend their money wisely. [/quote']

I would have to advice you to execute control & restrain from passing rude comments. Stay within the limits of civilised talk.

Its an irony that even the ones who are ready to dole out millions to the manufacturers, still worry about FE of their cars, why the injustice to oil companies!

About ACC, did you not read my entire post, there was a mention about extreme sun/heat up in the North. Why should those peolpe pay extra for a feature not used frequently!

There's not much of a diff. between metros & other cities now, at the same time everyone knows Metros are no Manhattan!

Cyle of life moves on & rich turn to dust, their heavy spending sometimes takes a toll! Beware!

Each is entitled to his/her own views, you are not bound to accept mine. As far as Im concerned, Ive justified the thread title.
speed2009-05-09 07:54:01

ACC is somewhat useless and somewhat use full , in winter time it adjusts climate control in the cabin nicely and trips the AC according to the temperature set , which saves fuel , but during summer month most of the time ACC will be on high blower if u notice , in south asia let it be ACC or normal AC both fail !

in the end it comes to personal choice , one of my friends refused to shell out extra for ABS saying he did not want to race in the car . in situations like this u can't say anything . Whats maybe be a necessary for one would be useless for the other and vice-versa

sarabjeet2009-05-09 08:07:48

Ideally the auto climate control is a feature which automatically adjusts the interior temprature by reading the ambient external temprature. So if your climate controller is not doing that then it is just a glorified HVAC system found in all the cars.

So I don't understand your reasoning of north and south.

If you have selected 24 Deg on the control the car should maintain 24Deg whether 18 deg outside or 44 deg.

I don't see why you should say it fails in Asia.

Do you mean mfgrs do not adjust the compressor ratings as per conditions here, i don't agree, most of the compressor ratings are revised for tropical conditions.

However climate control being a electornic control needs to be serviced carefully, for it to work properly, may be the problem lies after servicing.

Let me explain, the heat up North is such that you need to set the temp. at min. that is ~16-18 degree C.

Now, this is the temp. at the grill/louver, whereas the temp of the car is much higher because of the green house effect, etc. If the temp. on A.C.C is set on say 24, it won't cool at all because the temp in the car would be around >35 deg or even more upto 44-45 deg. So, the only setting possible under such conditions is full cool, otherwise A.C. is not effective.

Therefore, the use of A.C.C is not required/redundant, but we have to lug around with it because it forms a part of the equipment for which we have paid a healthy sum.

because of the green house effect' date=' etc. If the temp. [/quote']

The green house effect is a design consideration.

Now that you have selected the car with large glass area and you are living in a hot climate you need to carry out the appropriate changes to reducing the heating effect in the car. This e.g. is not a climate control problem!!

Use higher grade reflective sunscreens, use window curtains of any kind, the suction type or plain cloth type, ensure that the front and back window screens of the car are well covered when parked, park in shade.

Please give time for the interior volume to be serviced by the A/c, I am sure that given the right amount of time and the above precautions there is no reason which the climate control should not do it's job.

"Design consideration", isn't CC considered to go with the design!

Are you not aware of laws prevailing in our Country, the use of sunfilms/curtains/clot/etc. is banned. Only very light films can be used which do cut UV but do not wade off the heat to large extent.

Which cars are you talking about with large glass area? Most cars have similar green houses except MUV's come with bigger ones. Still the CC if supplied in cars with bigger glass area, should be effective for those cars.

So the abovementioned changes with respect to glass area are redundant.

Climate cool is only required where temp regulation is required, as I said setting the A.C to max. cool helps, if CC steps in & cuts the AC because the temp at the grill reaches a set point, but the car itself is hotter, occupents face the heat.

Its like in the Scorpio Hybrid, when you come to a stand still, the AC cuts, thus negating the cooling.

Certain features are made taking into consideration the developed markets/climate conditions, they might make us feel happy, but at the extra cost they come, are not fully justified.

Take into account Sunfroofs, well you might even come up with ways & means to justify its usage also, I can't help! Also, Heated seats, cruise control, etc. Therefore, there are certain features that aren't really reguired/useless, but as they make a package & Indian consumer is happy with them & wants the flaunt quotient too, so be it for them. For the lesser mortals including me, we are happy without them.

There  was a person talking about his riches in some posts, just one small bang & the user shall come to terms when asked to shell out huge bucks to fix small things like auto on/off headlamps! Also, don't the metro's have pedestrians/rickshaws/autos, who usually bang into luxo cars all the time!

Well I think the Acc is very much required in Mumbai because even if you put the ac on 1 and blower an 2 the Ac chills you like hell and it would be useful to maintain a temprature range of 25 C so the head frees of constantly switching on and off the compressor.

the technology used in ACC is not new , it is just like the regular home airconditioner which has a digital climate control setting ,(where u can set climate in degree's) the whole climate control with remote costs around 3500 to 5000 rs

the technology used in ACC is not new ' date=' it is just like the regular home airconditioner which has a digital climate control setting ,(where u can set climate in degree's) the whole climate control with remote costs around 3500 to 5000 rs [/quote']

Sarabjeet: Greetings

How would I go about getting a climate control system installed in my Tavera?  Any recommendations of where I can get it done.

TSR

@TSReddy: Retrofit of a Climate Control will not be easy. While controlling the blower speed is straight forward, the other part is tricky. You have to control the hot/cold air ratio which requires a motorized valve. This is not there in a normal vehicle.

sgiitk2009-05-11 04:48:31

"Design consideration"' date=' isn't CC considered to go with the design!

Are you not aware of laws prevailing in our Country, the use of sunfilms/curtains/clot/etc. is banned. Only very light films can be used which do cut UV but do not wade off the heat to large extent.

Which cars are you talking about with large glass area? Most cars have similar green houses except MUV's come with bigger ones. Still the CC if supplied in cars with bigger glass area, should be effective for those cars.

So the abovementioned changes with respect to glass area are redundant.

Climate cool is only required where temp regulation is required, as I said setting the A.C to max. cool helps, if CC steps in & cuts the AC because the temp at the grill reaches a set point, but the car itself is hotter, occupents face the heat.

Its like in the Scorpio Hybrid, when you come to a stand still, the AC cuts, thus negating the cooling.

Certain features are made taking into consideration the developed markets/climate conditions, they might make us feel happy, but at the extra cost they come, are not fully justified.

Take into account Sunfroofs, well you might even come up with ways & means to justify its usage also, I can't help! Also, Heated seats, cruise control, etc. Therefore, there are certain features that aren't really reguired/useless, but as they make a package & Indian consumer is happy with them & wants the flaunt quotient too, so be it for them. For the lesser mortals including me, we are happy without them.

There? was a person talking about his riches in some posts, just one small bang & the user shall come to terms when asked to shell out huge bucks to fix small things like auto on/off headlamps! Also, don't the metro's have pedestrians/rickshaws/autos, who usually bang into luxo cars all the time!

Arre YAAR!! Design considerations of the car are taken with all the worlds' geographical areas were the car is to be sold, so the climate control is not designed only for Indian conditions....is what I meant. VKool etc they have a very good UV retardation performance, if that, or else what's the problem in sweating a litttle bit until your car cools sufficiently!! You cannot have your CAKE & EAT it TOO, you know!!! Not every time!!!!

Heated seats I agree, Sunroofs, cruise control are features which can be used once in a while, not totally useless, sunroofs makes you feel you are driving a convertible, cruise control you can use on today's improved road conditions, my MAN !! be positive!!! it helps your Heart!!

sunroof makes u feel life driving in an desert storm , but here unlike sand particales dirt particales fly ,

convertables are another usesless feature where i live (mumbai) , had an SLK way back in 1999 , it was an hardtop convertable , tried it once , spoiled the interiors and faces

on the other hand you want to use sunroof and convertables u need to take your car for a ride in north eastern india

cruise controls are usefull on highways or expresways , but again indians lack driving sense , it will be tunred on and off quite frequently

Arre YAAR!! Design considerations of the car are taken with all the worlds' geographical areas were the car is to be sold' date=' so the climate control is not designed only for Indian conditions....is what I meant. VKool etc they have a very good UV retardation performance, if that, or else what's the problem in sweating a litttle bit until your car cools sufficiently!! You cannot have your CAKE & EAT it TOO, you know!!! Not every time!!!! [/quote']

That is what is wrong! CC & other features should be region/Country specific. There's no use/point paying for the features that are not fully caliberated to the conditions. For what is the R&D, homologation, etc. just to throw mud in the eyes!

I said, the car cools perfectly without a CC, why go in for expensive sun films ,etc. Its only when CC is used that cooling suffers. So, I think this should make things clear.

About the "cake" thing, why not?? When you are paying for it, that too so steeply, what do you expect, the neighbours to eat!

Features like CC can be of help & really work, if designed for the conditions.

Great topic! has prompted me to post after long time. I think sunglass holder is a no good feature. the cheaper cars have no felt or rubber backing and this scratches the lenses with all the bumps the car is goin over. better to keep them in the case and in glove box or door pocket.

Archived