FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 I'm selling the Honda City VTEC and planning to replace it with two other cars. I'm thinking about a Palio (preferably 1.6 as a daily driver) and a Santro or Alto as a learner car (don't want the 800). What do you think my other options would be? My budget is around Rs 2.5 lakh for both these cars. Do you think it is a realistic budget? Basically I want one fast daily driver and a cheap learner car. Also post if you know of any Palio, Santro, Alto, Ikon for sale. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
speed Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 Palio is a good catch in the used car market due to rock bottom resale value. Actually makes a lot of sense going in for a used car who's resale has fallen significantly. Let me add over, I had a very bad experience with a nicely maintained used Palio. Spares/service/costs/FE were pathetic. Out of these sales/service would have improved somewhat now but FE would be lower considering 1.6. I would suggest a Ikon 1.6, would cost the same with better backup. Also, Alto 800 is not comfy to drive, the motor is pretty jerky & noisy. Santro is a good choice but resale would be high. Why not consider Spark over here? Lets assume that you get a Palio/Ikon for ~ 1.5L, this is realistic. Remaining 1L can get you a good Spark/Alto but not a Santro. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 I'd really like an Ikon 1.6, but again finding a good one is like finding a needle in a hay stack. Not to mention the Palio 1.6 is a hard to find as well. Plenty of Santros, Altos. But that will be just a learner car, so it doesn't really matter. A lot also depends on how much I get for the City. I have a quote for Rs 2.4 lakh right now. But want to get some more because I've done a lot of work on it over my ownership. I couldn't find a Spark fitting my budget. I always say new is better than old, but then I can only afford to buy one new car. So having to go for two used cars instead of one new car. FRGFuelRunGod2009-11-05 11:24:53 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sandy Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 FRG you are asking us???? everyone takes your advice. (for which car will be better kindly refer the earlier discussions or posts please) just kidding..... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 @sandy: Its always good to get as many opinions as possible, makes for a more informed decision. So tell me if you know any Ikon 1.6, Palio 1.6 or better yet an S10 for sale. Santros and Altos I'll manage to find. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
speed Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 Look out for a Yellow or Red Palio, Ikon looks good in White. If you already have a quote for 2.4, little upward movement is around the corner. Actually I was once choosing between a Palio 1.2 & a Spark, tried Spark & liked it pretty much but got the Palio first in the 2nd hand market. Later had to repent a lot! Anyways this could be attributed to bad luck maybe! Zen could have been a good choice too, but would be pretty old & expensive. I guess one could get a 2nd hand Estilo at crashed rates. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 Old Zens are going for as much as Rs 2 lakh (good examples). I hate the Estilo. Will be visiting 'First Choice' lots soon to see if they've got anything good. Like I said a good Palio is becoming a little hard to find. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 My thoughts is to always stick with Maruti and Hyundai when buying a second hand car, because a second hand car may require extensive reworking which can be a problem with other makers. Seeing these two makers, Santro seems the best choice if you can get it, else go for alto, for the learners car. As for the driver car, i would say that you look out for a getz crdi/1.3 or a well maintained Accent. You may even have a look at some old esteems though they will be very old. My final views: Learner: Santro/Alto Driver: Getz Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dtandon Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 Funny that you mention 'First Choice' - Cyrus strongly suggested staying away from them. He was right (too much hanky panky as I discovered myself) - the Palio 1.6 that I found thru them was rotten. I would suggest getting a used mpfi Zen and having it do duty in both the roles. Whatever you save could easily be used on some good ICE (or to turn it into an E zen). Are you looking for cars in Bombay or elsewhere?dtandon2009-11-05 13:03:04 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 I used to have an Accent CRDi, I so regret selling it. I agree about the Santro. But the Getz is not much of a driver's car and out of the budget anyway. The Getz CRDi, I would think about...but again out of the budget. The Palio 1.6 or an Ikon 1.6 tick all the right boxes. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 @dtandon: I know the second hand car market is full of such people, but I don't have much choice. I don't mind buying an outstation car either. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
speed Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 Zen, Getz, Accent could be ruled out because that'll be only ONE car, our requirement is Two! Also a relatively newer model should be sought for to stay clear of issues. Bigger/expensive the car in the first place, higher the acquisition price in the 2nd hand market or older the model. Palio or Ikon are the one to go in for, one could get a newer model at lower rates. Logically these cars sensible buys in the used car scene. Now, the main issue is finding good examples! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Durango Dude Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 2.5 Lakhs for 2 car's Your best bet are 2 Nano's if new or .... really I can't think of what "duo" you can get for that money. You'll have spend atleast another 1 lakh(lotsa time, sweat and 'heartburn') if you buy a Palio to get it back to shape. BTW what's your 3.0L Dicor "bus" doing, at present. Whose going to learn driving? Why don't you leave that to a driving school, rather buy a car to let it be 'banged' by learner's. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 My bus is doing well. The reason why I'm buying these two is so that nobody thinks about laying their eyes on the bus. Nanos aren't available, nowhere near as fun anyway. Palios are going for as low as Rs 80,000. Ikons can be had for about 1.5 lakh, parts prices have come down so its not too bad. What I have in mind is to get a decent condition Palio for Rs 1.5 lakh and spend the rest on a learners car. My mother is practising after having graduated from driving school. I'd rather she prangs a Santro around rather than the bus or the vtec. @dtandon: The rotten Palio you speak of. Is it the orange Palio at First choice with a number 7005? FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
anjan_c2007 Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 FRG you are asking us???? everyone takes your advice. (for which car will be better kindly refer the earlier discussions or posts please) just kidding..... Yes true, the ocean sometimes comes to meet rivers and rivulets! But FRG a Palio 1.6 with the kinda traffic jams you have in Mumbai may be a big gas guzzler. The Santro is ideal as a learner's car absolutely no doubt about it! I would avoid the Ikon which is becoming dated. Apologies to you as you have spent months covering 20,000 kms with a brand new one! A rethink on your daily driver's car I can suggest! I feel your Honda City can stay as a better, daily drivers car. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dtandon Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 I don't remember seeing any orange ones. I saw a purple (wanted to buy it just for that paintjob) and a silver grey that actually had engine trouble. Its been a while since I looked at cars in Bombay. I'm yet to find a decent specimen and someone or the other seems to get a decent one on team-bhp every now and then . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 @anjan: I don't mind the Palio's fuel economy. It won't run too much. I know the Ikon is dated, but given the budget, I don't have much choice. The Honda needs to go as that's the only way to fund two cars. @dtandon: Let's see how this orange one is. Its a cruel world isn't it? There's never a good car available when you want to buy. FRGFuelRunGod2009-11-05 14:46:52 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 The man wants cars & 2 of them & one being an Ikon! What is Ford India doin, sleepin or what! The man took their cars around the Country, gave them an Earth's amount of publicity, helped in establishing their name, can't they gift one to him!(not that he is asking) I can offer mine if it serves your purpose, its a 1.3Roacam. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 @Bornfree Completely agree with your views. @FRG I think there was one FE test done on fiesta too. Were you part of that too? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 He did not need to be a part of Fiesta's test because they had one Fiesta with them on the Pan India trip(Ikon) as a back up car but all used to fight to get into its drivers seat of the Fiesta!(beans spilled)BornFree2009-11-05 17:24:27 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 @BF: Hahahaha, please tell me you have a Palio 1.6. I so wish I had bought Subzero's GTX some months back. @rahul: Yes I was part of the diet diesel run from Bangalore to Mumbai. FRGFuelRunGod2009-11-05 17:30:45 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Durango Dude Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 I believe in what David Coulthard says: have one car for all occasion's viz big enough, powerful enough and able to seat 5 person's in comfort and have a boot. Otherwise most of the car's tend to sleep in the garage and you'll find yourself taking the taxi too. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 @BF: I think he's talking about the previous economy drives, one was the diet diesel from Bangalore to Mumbai and the previous one was done on the VRDE track (I wasn't a part of the track run) We ran the car until it ran out of diesel on a test track and guess what we managed to get better FE on the diet diesel run which was done on an actual highway with traffic. @DD: The thing is that it is not me who is going to be driving these cars. They are for my younger brother and for my mother who has just started driving. I drive the bus and am pretty happy for now. FRG FuelRunGod2009-11-05 17:29:55 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted November 5, 2009 Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 @FRG, I was about to remind you of Subzero's Palio! Your younger brother would still want to take your "BUS" for a ride & you would be left with the "Learner's" car! @DD, I remember something similar. Will Smith was talking about his love for cars when he said "once I was boasting about my prized possessions in front of my dad/grandad, like I have so & so cars & the reply was, "but son you have just one *ss! BornFree2009-11-05 17:32:56 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted November 5, 2009 Author Report Share Posted November 5, 2009 Hahaha I don't think he'll ever stop borrowing the bus. Better to be left with something than nothing I'd say. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived