cube Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 Today's ET http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/News/News-By-Industry/Auto/Automobiles/Maruti-to-bring-new-variants-of-Alto-WagonR-Swift/articleshow/5431547.cms?curpg=1 Well, with the shocker pricing of Beat, it was kinda expected... cheers Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 The Swift pricing to go down was the most expected. Since it would meet the small regulations with the new engine, it will enjoy some serious excise cut.I expect the ZXI to be at about 4.5 lakhs, which is currently around 4.9 lakhs IIRC. Alto and Wagon R were surely unexpected. The market is undergoing a price revision with extremely good pricing from i20 and Beat leading the way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cube Posted January 11, 2010 Author Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 reducing swift pricing by 30-40 k would put it at par with ritz, and then ritz price got to go down... wagon-r price is coming down anyway... what would happen to a-star? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
creativebala Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 The Swift pricing to go down' date=' I expect the ZXI to be at about 4.5 lakhs, which is currently around 4.9 lakhs IIRC. . [/quote'] So what will happen to i10, forget about Beat Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanjay1939 Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 thats a great news i have been eagerly waiting for the new 1.2lt swift to hit the market,but my only concerned is that would it get underpowered with the new engine.as swift is any way heavier than the Ritz Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
arkboypunk1 Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 I always somehow felt the swift was slightly overpriced. So this is good news. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anand Sivaraj Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 Maruti Suzuki Swift: 980 kgs [LXi] / 1,000 kgs [VXi] / 1,010 kgs [ZXi] Engine performance Maximum Power 87bhp @ 6,000rpm Maximum Torque 113Nm @ 4,500rpm Maruti Suzuki Ritz: 1005 kgs [LXi] / 1,015 kgs [VXi] / 1,030 kgs [ZXi] Engine Performance Maximum Power 85bhp @ 6,000rpm Maximum Torque 113Nm @ 4,500rpm So its a good news the hear that Swift is going to get the Ritz's K12M engine @Sanjay1939 Swift is not heavier than Ritz Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 As I said before this price correction was necessary. This is what will differentiate between the premium hatch segment and the segment just below that. As of now Ritz and Swift were acting like the bridge between the two segments, both in size , power and price. Now they will be IMO topping at around 4.7 lakhs where the premium segment just starts. Call it wishful thinking but I sense especially from the Auto Expo that Maruti has every plans to bring the SX4 hatch and set the premium hatch segment on fire. We may also get the 1.5 litre Swift (when the new version is launched in 2011) too, because a hatchback segment where Maruti is not there seems unacceptable to me. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 Maruti is so attached to the No.1 spot that they want to pre-empt any effects in the market due to new launches viz Chevy Beat, Ford Figo, etc. The pricing of Eeco could be reflected on other models. Also, the Eeco's pricing warrants an adjustment in the prices of other models. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sarabjeet Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 but still @ 3.99 chevy is offered climate control , integrated music system etc i guess chevy had an idea about maruti price slash but they know they would cut it down beats pricing Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cube Posted January 11, 2010 Author Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 if swift is pushed at 4 lakh starting price then ritz would have to be pushed further below... around 3.7... no way they could sell both ritz and swift at same band, who would buy a ritz then??? this would be very hard for i10 unless hyundai takes similar steps... think about it... a swift lxi at the price of i10 Magna... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanjay1939 Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 i hope they do it as soon as possible as people coming to know about it are not going to book swift etc till the new variants and prices are announced i am one of them waiting for it to be declared,there will be many of them like me Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cube Posted January 11, 2010 Author Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 i hope they do it as soon as possible as people coming to know about it are not going to book swift etc till the new variants and prices are announced i am one of them waiting for it to be declared' date='there will be many of them like me[/quote']Me too Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
anjan_c2007 Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 Thats news. With Maruti doing it guess competitors will be under pressure to also act similarly.The consumer benefits. Earlier just a few months after excise rebates by the Union Govt the manufacturers would habitually jack up prices citing rise in prices of raw materials like steel, aluminium,plastic prices, transport and also labour rates. That would neutralise the excise reduction and would benefit the manufacturer who would have the last laugh! Now lets see how much committed they are? anjan_c20072010-01-11 15:43:15 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Durango Dude Posted January 11, 2010 Report Share Posted January 11, 2010 All you guy's thinking of buying a hatch, one suggestion: SIT ON YOUR HANDS FOR NOW, wait for the situation to pan out. Now, what would the budget coming at the end of Feb. have in store? Situation is kinda fluid, what say? Forget Hyundai and MSIL where would that leave Tata vehicle's after the consolidation phase would they also undergo a downward revision? If not Tata hatches would appear comparatively, less car per car.Durango Dude2010-01-11 17:22:00 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
creativebala Posted January 12, 2010 Report Share Posted January 12, 2010 This battlefield is only for the Petrol Heads right? The diesel as of now has no stiff competition. None cross in others regime. Like Practical Space(Vista), Fun(Swift), Huge(Fabia), VFM but still doubtful(Punto) and a mix of all plus costlier (i20). Even the pricing is so good Fabia - i20 - Punto - Swift - Vista, featurewise nothing overlaps with other. To some extend Vista & Swift does, but the target buyers are different. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anand Sivaraj Posted January 12, 2010 Report Share Posted January 12, 2010 Guys if Swift is going to get Ritz's K12M engine and if the Swift's price is reduced, who will intend to buy Ritz then. I hope Suzuki brings K12B engine (may be with CVT to compete with i20 AT), the K12B engine makes 90PS at 6,000rpm and 118Nm of torque a 4,400rpm, but it is 1242cc Guys any idea about this Anand Sivaraj2010-01-12 14:26:06 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanjay1939 Posted January 12, 2010 Report Share Posted January 12, 2010 we just need to wait and watch as to what maruti is going to do for survival. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sanjay1939 Posted January 13, 2010 Report Share Posted January 13, 2010 maruti has just declraed that they would be increasing prices accross all models in two weeks time. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sb-alto Posted January 14, 2010 Report Share Posted January 14, 2010 The latest news is Someone got it wrong. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
driftpunk Posted January 14, 2010 Report Share Posted January 14, 2010 hahaha... There you go guys. All the forum talks turning and bumping into a full stop. I request to change the name of the topic to 180 degrees from what it is now. Now lets chit-o-chat about how much are they going to increase. Anyways, until I saw the above two posts, I was planning to buy Swift as a hatchback for my family. Alas, shattered dreams. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted January 14, 2010 Report Share Posted January 14, 2010 From the two claims what I infer is that except Wagon R and Swift all models price are going to go up, while their price will go down when they are launched. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cube Posted January 14, 2010 Author Report Share Posted January 14, 2010 The conclusion would be ... all existing cars price go up by various amounts, and new/upcoming alto, wagon-r, swift prices go down... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted January 14, 2010 Report Share Posted January 14, 2010 maruti has just declraed that they would be increasing prices accross all models in two weeks time. Today i've talked to my friend at Maruti Dealership of Patiala region, he've also said the same thing that each & every model of the Maruti gets dearer by at least Rs.5-8k very soon & also confirmed that the new altered/face-lifted Euro-IV based variants(mainly of Alto,Swift,Dzire,Wagon-R) will take at least 2-4 months to arrive..... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sb-alto Posted January 21, 2010 Report Share Posted January 21, 2010 More price hike news News Headlines Hyundai India to hike car prices by up to 1.5 percent from Feb 2010 DriveInside.com | Thursday January 21, 2010 Close on the heels of price hikes by competitors Maruki Suzuki and Tata Motors, Hyundai Motor India Limited (HMIL) too has announced a 1-1.5 percent increase in model prices starting from February 1, 2010. The company said that it would hike prices by up to Rs 9,000, but did not give details of the quantum of increase for each of its models. It added that the reason for the price increase was the rise in raw material costs. After February, car prices are likely to be pushed up further in March, following product upgradation to comply with BS-IV norms. Most of Hyundai Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived