CYRUS43 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 I dont mean the cars from the movie "CARS" which made the audience smile with the quirks and actions, I mean those cars that make you have a big grin everytime you drive them just because you can enjoy thrashing them around just as you would with something like a Go Cart!! So let us divide these into categories: Below Rs.5 lakh Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh Rs.75 Lakh and above SUVs below 10 Lakhs SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh SUVs above 30 Lakh Spots cars below Rs.1 Crore Sports cars above Rs.1 Crore What would you think would you think will be the ideal drivers car in the ranges given above?? Please Copy paste the whole table and give your answers alongside the category. Happy Posting! Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
arkboypunk1 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 Well, I don't drive, but let me take a shot at it, based on my own opinion on the data I've read in magazines, people's experiences, and my own experience closely observing and traveling in these cars. I hope my post doesn't seem unnecessary, and apologies in advance to mods/anyone who is offended. Below Rs.5 lakh This one is easy' date=' its got to be the 1. WagonR K-series 2.Zen1.0L 3.Swift. Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh Again easy. 1.DZire/Swift 2. Fiesta 1.6 3. SX4 Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh 1. Laura TSi 2. Civic Hybrid 3. Still thinking SUVs below 10 Lakhs This is obvious- 1. Scorpio mHawk (and the Xylo, Bolero with similar engines) 2. Safari 2.2!for the road presence. 3. Fusion Tdi (mini-SUV) SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh 1.Endeavor 2. Fortuner SUVs above 30 Lakh Definitely, 1. The Porsche Cayenne Turbo S 2. BMW X6 [/quote'] Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asethi919 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 OK! I went a little crazy with this. Have not driven most of these. I wish to someday though. The most expensive cars I have ever driven are a Merc S500 and Ford Saturn(not too expensive but still) in Japan. A Porsche Cayenne test drive in Delhi. _______________________________ Below Rs.5 lakh Used to be Hyundai i10 but a few days ago I converted > Ford FigoRs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh Ford Fiesta (I am hoping the 1.6 Polo will make this list)Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh Skoda Laura 1.8Tsi, Ford Mondeo (Till it existed), Fiat 500Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh Mitsubishi Evo, Subaru Impreza, VW Golf GTi (Maybe it should be one category below)Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 LakhMerc C (Simply because I find it to be good looking) Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh Nissan GTR, Rs.75 Lakh and above Jaguar XJ, BMW M3/M5SUVs below 10 Lakhs I guess Mahindra Thar would top this list.SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh Ford Endeavour(Aah! Memories), Mitsubishi Outlander(Have not driven one but thought I would take a shot)SUVs above 30 LakhRange Rover Sport, Bowler Wild CatSpots cars below Rs.1 Crore Aston Martin Vantage, Alfa Romeo Spider Sports cars above Rs.1 Crore Porsche Carrera GT, Bentley Continental and GT, Bugatti Veyron(How can this car not make it on anyone's list? Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
creativebala 178 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh - A*Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh - PuntoRs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh - CivicRs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh - 3 series Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh - TTRs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh - JaguarRs.75 Lakh and above - flying spur SUVs below 10 Lakhs - Safari SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh - MonteroSUVs above 30 Lakh - LR/RRSpots cars below Rs.1 Crore - FerrariSports cars above Rs.1 Crore - Veyron creativebala2010-07-05 19:02:13 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
arkboypunk1 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh Diesel, most definitely? Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asethi919 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 Errr, I;m not a diesel fan so I would probably go for the petrol. I anyways dont expect a under-5Lac car to be powerful. I drove the Figo that a friend of mine bought last week and it was the handling that impressed me the most. My family owns a 2007 WagonR and the difference in the drivability and the overall feel of the car was simply unbelievable. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
creativebala 178 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh Diesel' date=' most definitely?[/quote'] I too had this doubt. How come a Figo P bring smile while driving? (as Figo D is over 5L) @ Asethi, any change of contestant.creativebala2010-07-05 19:09:14 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
arkboypunk1 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 @CB: The LXi and EXi TDCI cost less than Rs5lakh ex-showroom. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
asethi919 0 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 As i said above, I know the petrol isnt powerful but I dont expect a under 5 lac car to be powerful. I am fine with a not so powerful, well built car with great handling for less than 5 lacs. I will stick to my choice of the Figo Petrol and continue to say no thanks to diesels. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
creativebala 178 Report post Posted July 5, 2010 My yesteryear car picks Below Rs.5 lakh - GTX Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh - OHC VTEC Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh - Octy vRS See what our Govt made our Auto co. From GTX->A*, VTEC-> Punto. creativebala2010-07-05 19:56:21 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dcarlover 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 ONLY single car - buggatti!! and which makes me laugh is MICRA because its UGLY! Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
winner48 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh Punto petrol, ford figo (both great handlers) Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh Ford Fiesta S Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh Skoda Octavia RS Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh VW Beetle Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh Mitsubishi EVO X Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh BMW M3 Rs.75 Lakh and above BMW M6,Murceilago SUVs below 10 Lakhs Scorpio Getaway, Tata Xenon, Scorpio Getaway SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh Mitsubishi Outlander SUVs above 30 Lakh Volvo XC90 V8 Spots cars below Rs.1 Crore EVO X Sports cars above Rs.1 Crore M6 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
CYRUS43 0 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 My List Below Rs.5 lakh ------ Maruti Suzuki Swift 1.2 Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh ------- Fiat Punto MJD or Ford Fiesta S Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh ------- Skoda Laura TSi or Fiat 500 Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh ------- Skoda Superb V6 or VW Passat Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh -------- BMW 330i or Audi A4 3.2 FSi Quattro Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh -------- BMW 535i or Audi A6 3.0 Quattro Rs.75 Lakh and above --------- Mercedes S65 AMG, BMW 760Li or any Bentley SUVs below 10 Lakhs ------- Mahindra Scorpio SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh -------- Mitsubishi Outlander SUVs above 30 Lakh ---------- Mercedes GL, Audi Q7 or BMW X6 Spots cars below Rs.1 Crore --------- BMW M3 coupe Sports cars above Rs.1 Crore --------- Lamborghini Gallardo LP 560 Of course, this is only a small range of cars, and there are many many more, but then the list would be endless Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
archit 2 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh ------ Ford Figo P Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh ------- Skoda Fabia or Ford Fiesta S Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh ------- Honda Civic or Skoda Laura TSi Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh ------- Skoda Superb V6 Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh -------- BMW 330i Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh -------- BMW 535i and BMW Z4 Rs.75 Lakh and above --------- Mercedes S65 AMG, Nissan GT-R, SUVs below 10 Lakhs ------- TATA Safari SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh -------- Toyota Fortuner or Chevrolet Captiva SUVs above 30 Lakh ---------- Audi Q7 or BMW X6 Spots cars below Rs.1 Crore --------- BMW M3 coupe Sports cars above Rs.1 Crore --------- Lamborghini Gallardo LP 560 and Lamborghini Murcielago SV Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sarabjeet 3 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh .... i10Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh ..... HM cediaRs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh ..... Laura D Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh ..... A4 or C220 CDIRs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh ..... S80 or E-350Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh .... XF , CLS 350 , C63 AMGRs.75 Lakh and above .... XJ , S500, S600 BrabusSUVs below 10 Lakhs ..... safariSUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh .... Outlander or YetiSUVs above 30 Lakh ..... porsche cayenne D , Q7 , XC90 or GLSpots cars below Rs.1 Crore SLK-55AMG , XK or 911 coupe carreraSports cars above Rs.1 Crore ... second hand Mclaren F1(if i get hold of it) or CL65 AMG or Brabus Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dr_nishu 198 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh : MS Swift LDi. Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh : Fiat Punto VGT.Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh : Skoda Laura 2.0 CRDi.Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh : BMW 3-Series CE.Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh : Audi A4 3.0 TDi.Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh : Jaguar XF V8.Rs.75 Lakh and above : Bentley Continental GT.SUVs below 10 Lakhs : Mahindra Scorpio mHawk.SUVs between 10 and : Ford Endeavour 3.0l(Old-Manual) 30 Lakh SUVs above 30 Lakh : Range Rover Sport.Spots cars below Rs.1 Crore : Porsche Cayman S. Sports cars above Rs.1 Crore : Bugatti Veyron W16. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
creativebala 178 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 @Nishu, Once again the same old thing. We think almost alike. Do have a look at my choice. I choose A* as in my city, Swift D is 5L+, if not, that woud be my choice. Barring this, we share most of our fav. common. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dr_nishu 198 Report post Posted July 6, 2010 I know Swift D is 5 lac+, but that's only its VDi version retailing at some 5.30 lacs while its LDi retails at 4.90 lacs only. So, my Sub 5 lac choice for 'Road Rocket' is the- MS Swift LDi. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Durango Dude 2 Report post Posted July 7, 2010 After a long drive I'd smile at my car for getting us back home safe and sound, first. The others I'd smile at is Swift, City, Laura 1.8TSi (ASS notwithstanding), Accord, Merc E class. Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Rahul Deb 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 What type of car do you want to buy if the following were the price range? Rs. 3-5 lacs- ........Rs. 5-7 lacs-........Rs. 7-9 lacsRs. 10 lacs and above Threads merged - Mod.BornFree2010-10-13 08:39:32 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
dr_nishu 198 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 @rahul deb; 1) Hyundai i10 kappa2 VTVT(as Swift D is now Rs.5 lac+). 2) VW Polo. 3) Honda City. 4) Honda Civic(b/w 10-20 lacs). dr_nishu2010-10-13 19:34:59 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rahul1810 0 Report post Posted October 13, 2010 1. Ford Figo 2. Polo 3. City(Bought) 4. Civic Pretty similar to Nishu, I guess Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
arun05 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2010 Below Rs.5 lakh .... Figo Rs.5 Lakh-Rs.10 Lakh ..... Ford Fiesta 1.6 Rs.10 Lakh-Rs.20 Lakh ..... Cruze or Laura TSI Rs.20 Lakh-Rs.30 Lakh ..... 3 Series Rs.30 Lakh-Rs.50 Lakh ..... A4 3.2 FSI/Lancer Evo X Rs.50 Lakh-Rs.75 Lakh .... Nissan 370Z Rs.75 Lakh and above .... Bmw M3 SUVs below 10 Lakhs ..... Nothing SUVs between 10 and 30 Lakh .... Outlander / Freelander 2 CKD (whn it gets launched) SUVs above 30 Lakh ..... Q5 Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
arun05 0 Report post Posted October 14, 2010 Rs. 3-5 lacs- ........ Figo 1.4 TDCi Rs. 5-7 lacs-........ Fiesta 1.6 Rs. 7-9 lacs.........Vento 1.6 TDI Rs. 10 lacs and above..........Cruze LTZ Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sarabjeet 3 Report post Posted October 15, 2010 New entry 1 cr + , and my pick goes to the New Ariel Atom V8 , 1000 bhp/ton , move on Veyron u have just been Tagged as Loser Quote Share this post Link to post Share on other sites