M & M to launch sportsbike & Commuter

Sandy

A few years ago' date=' Mahindra was testing commuter bikes in the 100-150cc segments.. I remember them testing against the Pulsars and the Victors of their age. [/quote']

Yes Mahindra was testing them, but the plans were shelved because they didnt have the required infrastructure to sell the bikes.

But now with the Kinetic takeover, they have the infrastructure required for the market domination. smiley32.gif

Hmmm

So Ninja R.I.P.

the ninja never really took off, it was for those people who wanted a sports bike , an apache had better sound than Ninja , who would buy a bike for 3 lakhs that is as silent as unicorn.

Mahindra had displayed their bikes at Delhi auto-expo , they were stunning

The ninja never really took off because it was expensive.

Come think of it, 3 lakhs for a bike?

Nobody pays that much for a bike here in India.

Another reason was that we Indians dont count the BHP, we count the cc.

So even though the ninja has 34 BHP, the everyday Indian thinks it is just 250 cc(i.e. just 30 cc more than pulsar 220)

It is high time Indians learn about the difference between BHP and cc.

I have even seen people reject R15 because it is just 150 cc.

When I get talking about the BHP, they have no answer.

@winner & sarabjeet.......I wont say it is a flop ther is a waiting period on tht bike and mahindra can provide same amount of power as the ninja at a lower price but not the same handling or the brand tht a ninja commands,bt i am happy that an indian company is thinkng of making high cc bikes and i wish them luck..to put it in a simple way its like comparing r-15 to pulsar-220,the  pulsar has more power & is also cheap but yamaha is yamaha and in this month of bike magzine r-15 beat the 220 by 3-sec in a single lap even though it is just 150-cc at the end of the day its not the amount of power its the amount of power u can harness.

@winner

come on yaar, price was never a concern in Metro's and parallel cities people just didn't get the thrill and value they where looking for. It always was the grunt , a 250 silent killer, but when some one is spending 3 lakhs on a bike he had options of much better second hand imports.

Actually Ninja 250 is a complete disgrace in the kawasaki line-up.

@schumi: R-15 is a track bike where as P-220 is ment for say close to crusing(it isn't even a complete cruiser). P-220 is too heavy and handling in pulsar ****s. The best handling track bike is Apache RTR 180.

@winner

come on yaar, price was never a concern in Metro's and parallel cities people just didn't get the thrill and value they where looking for. It always was the grunt , a 250 silent killer, but when some one is spending 3 lakhs on a bike he had options of much better second hand imports.

Actually Ninja 250 is a complete disgrace in the kawasaki line-up.

Tell me more. How many people have you met in the metros and how many told you that the Ninja was not giving them the thrill. Ninja is a disgrace. Great. Lets hear some more.

@ Sarabjeet

Ninja(stock) achieves a top speed of 200 KM/hr.

Both the 220 and R15 can get to a max of 130.

smiley36.gif max speed on speed-o-meter is 200kmph , have driven it , my friend own one it doesn't go above 163kmph, company claims 175 kmph.

Carb P220 goes 139 kmph while both apache 180 and R15(some say 138) max out at 135 kmph.

and Bala is right , we don't have roads , that mean the roads are uneven , there are ups and downs on the road so while u change lane at 130 kmph u shall fly off (at least on bombay roads).

again I can buy my self a good 2003-5 CBR 600 for 3 and a 2006-7 for around 3.5-7 why should one go for Ninja 250 ?

So Mahindra is entering the Motorcycle market in an upside down manner, like various car companies like VW, Honda, Toyota.

Isn't they're bringing Hyosung bikes again, with their Own-Tag & l'll bit of Reworking, as I'm doubtful that in such a Short Span of tiime after acquisition they've developed their own Superbike from Scratch.

Whats the use of max speed when you don't even have roads safer for 130kmph on bike.

Neither the Roads nor the Bikes are Truly capable, as No Indian production bike goes 100+kmph w/o running out of Steam & in the latter condition it isn't easy to Control & Drive them safely & Roads conditions are already explained above..
dr_nishu2010-09-15 17:11:57

Ninja(stock) achieves a top speed of 200 KM/hr.

Bala is right ' date=' we don't have roads , that mean the roads are uneven , there are ups and downs on the road so while u change lane at 130 kmph u shall fly off (at least on bombay roads). Again I can buy my self a good 2003-5 CBR 600 for 3 and a 2006-7 for around 3.5-7 why should one go for Ninja 250[/quote']

Bro that would be il-legal bcoz any bike below 750-cc imported is not allowed hence none of the big japanese manufacturers have brought 600-cc bikes they have only introduced litre class bikes.
BornFree2010-09-18 04:52:11

Archived