CHEVYfan

The Chevy Optra Magnum even more affordable now!!!

smiley4.gif  This is just great news !!! The huge Chevy Optra 1.6 Petrol & 2.0 Diesel now very attractively prized @ 7 - 8.25 lacs Ex-showroom !! Just got cheaper by about a lakh. Check todays Times of India for details...

What more to ask from a car which gives you about 14-16 km/l on Highways!!!

Looks like the last gasp for Optra!

Regarding your comment "What more to ask from a car which gives you about 14-16 km/l on Highways!", there are countless cars which give in tune of 20-21kmpl on highways. So, no great feat that!
BornFree2010-09-18 06:41:32

Carfanatic,

My Linea Diesel give me a FE of 15 kms/liter inside city & 21 kms/liter on highways. This is done by tankfull method.

If you are mentioning of the Power, Linea might not be a match but we are not racing. I am a sedate driver & dont drive beyond 120 kms speed.
NAREN642010-09-18 08:43:15

Yep...we differ on what we want in a car. 

Looking for car which is as powerful as a 2.0 l Diesel, yet is priced about 8.5 Lacs ex-showroom. Not able to find one...But optra's spares must be expensive...so must be others too...am bit confused.

Help..anybody?

This is a Good effort by the Chevrolet for their Warhorse, which got their Sales registers ringing for the 1st time.

And I also agree with the fact that Optra is one of the best Sedans in the country with Good looking & High Quality Interiors, Powerful engines, Good FE, VFM & Good Road Presence too..

its reasonably old as a model now' date=' so must be a last ditch effort![/quote']

I don't think so..

Considering the fact that Most of the manufacturers are Applying the same Stratergy i.e; Re-Speccing & Re-positioning the Old-models to Accomodate New & latest ones, like as Hyundai done with Santro to Accomodate i10, Ford have done with Ikon & Now will be the Fiesta-sedan, etc.