i20 vs Punto vs Polo

RahiL

Im planin 2 buy a premium hatchback in about 8-10 days.I currently own an Esteem & a Ritz. Am not 2 satisfied wid di Ritz, even though i still prefer driving the Esteem, which has a superb pickup.

I have shortlisted the i20 1.2L Petrol , the Grande Punto 1.2L P , & the Polo 1.2 P. as my budget cannot exceed 6L.

I have only testdrivin the i20 uptil now. it was a good experience, but i cud feel the lack of power compared to my 1.3L Esteem. The Punto though a very good car for its class, has been famous for very poor after sales service, as TATA looks after the after sales. The Polo gives less than basic features in its 1.2L Comfrontline, which is costing me 20k more than the i20 & the Punto, but I dont even get a music system with it.

The Punto 1.2 Emotion tempts me cause its packed with a hell lotta features. its costing me about 5.72L (on-road mum) just 3k less than the i20 Magna, but has features like ABS,ELECTRONIC FOLDING MIRRORS, RAIN SENSING VIPERS,REAR VIPERS to name a few which r not added in the i20. But I personally like the i20's looks a lil better than the Punto's.

(LETS NOT CONSIDER POLO, AS ITS VIRTUALLY GIVING NOTHING, PLUS ITS A 3 CYLINDER)

Im not going for a Diesel cause my running is not more than 500-600km per month, so that that made me rule out a diesel which I cudnt utilise after shelling out an extra Lakh rupees.

So guys whoever owns A HYUNDAI I20 , FIAT GRANDE PUNTO , OR VOLKSWAGON POLO do help me out, other car fanatics opinions r also welcome.

I think apart from these you should also have a look at Ford Figo, new i10, Swift and Ritz. They will provide you with more features(espescially safety).

Amongst the three you have listed, go for i20. It is the safest choice in all terms. Service, ownership, quality it has got everything you can think of.

I'm surprised that you want to go in for another 1.2 after driving the supreme K Series 1.2 in the Ritz. I suggest that you wait for the 1.2 vtvt to get plonked in the i20 and then go for it. I'm not sure if the i20 has been updated to the new 1.2 vtvt unit. After the Ritz driving any other 1.2, except the Jazz, would be an underwhelming experience.

Punto and Polo are robust performers. They are well packaged. But what Polo lacks in interior space (for tall persons). That's why my friend dropped of in the first place. Secondly they are comfort riders but not Action (power) packed.

The i20 is action packed, but the Korean is not that reliable in maintainence as other two but is cheaper to maintain. Back seat comfort is clearly not the best compared with the rivals.

Correction: The initial poster has already been driving Ritz. After driving Ritz' date=' i20 petrol's performance?would be definitely disappointing! As Durango Dude has told, the only other petrol hatch tht wul excite him wuld be Jazz<!-- End Member Post -->[/quote']
I have shortlisted the i20 1.2L Petrol ' date=' the Grande Punto 1.2L P , & the Polo 1.2 P. as my budget cannot exceed 6L.[/quote']

Bro,

He has clearly mentioned his budget cannot be stretched beyond 6L. So Jazz is out of picture.

But the Ford Figo is a strict No-No because of it's costly maintainence and unreliable.shanthanreddyp2010-10-19 13:16:54

The i20 is action packed' date=' but the Korean is not that reliable in maintainence as other two but is cheaper to maintain. Back seat comfort is clearly not the best compared with the rivals.[/quote']

i20 not as reliable? Thats the first I have heard especially considering its being compared to Punto here. Infact its performance is the only slightly negative factor that there is.

Punto and Polo are robust performers. They are well packaged. The i20 is action packed' date=' but the Korean is not that reliable in maintainence as other two but is cheaper to maintain. Back seat comfort is clearly not the best compared with the rivals.[/quote']

I think a Hyundai is much better in reliability visavis Polo or Punto. It's not come up in the top 10 of the ACI list for nothing. i20 has been consistently selling 7000 cars a month for the last few months, that can't be said of the either the Polo or Punto.

Reliability and east of maintainence have always been a strong point for Hyundai. Out of the given choices Punto is relatively the worst performer when plain numbers are compared. Although the ride quality is a different matter altogether. Since the Polo demands a 3-4 month wait and offers less features it makes most sense to go for the i20.

Check out Micra if you are interested in features since the top model would fit in your budget and the 1.2 engine got reasonably decent reviews.

Amongst the trio, you've mentioned RahiL,

i20 comes close to your considerations, but the Currently selling i20 kappa engine isn't that Much Powerful & Fuel efficient & also its soon to be Replaced with New Better, refined & Fuel efficient kappa2 VTVT engine from New i10.

So, Wait for that..

Otherwise No other car except Swift 1.2 K-Series Petrol can satisfy your Needs & Driving hunger.

Whereas Punto 1.2 & even 1.4 are the Slowest & thirtiest of the lot.
dr_nishu2010-10-19 20:44:47

THANKS FOR UR SUGGESTIONS MATES.

iv gone through all ur replies, il just post my opinion here, di knowledge i posses, n also some further queries....

The Ford Figo no wonder is a gud car, but its a Ford, a Ford in India is famous for 'THE GARAGE GUY DRIVES IT MORE THAN YOU DO'...The new i10 lacks boot space,leg room, & the interiors luk like Santro.

The reason im going in again for a 1.2 is the budget im stuck with. I totally have to agree with u guys that the Honda Jazz is the best hatch in town, but its a lil overpriced, i wouldnt pay 7.5-8Lakhs for a hatch,if i can get a sedan like a Fiat Linea, or Honda City IVTEC (8.5L)

I cannot go for a pre-owned car as my family doesnt agree, they wanna go for a new one. Plus i cannot afford to maintain a Honda Civic like car, which wud literally drink petrol.

I was pretty excited bout the All New Swift, but the first look dint excite me, all they have done with the looks is, Strech the Head Lights towards the back,& Strech the tail lights towards the front. (Indica Vista like)

The Nissan Micra is once again a 3cylinder, smallish car. Its a lil peppy, which wud really suit an office going girl;).

The Ritz, first of all looks as if its been banged from the behind, even before its outta the showroom. It was my dads choice to go for it. Its a nice car to drive, but not the most comfortable one. The gear box is placed at a very uncomfortable level. I feel uneasy if im out for a long drive.

WILL THE 'VTVT' ENGINE BE LAUNCHED IN THIS YEAR?? ANY IDEA WHEN ITS GONNA BE HITTING THE ROADS FOLKS??

Im very confused between the Punto 1.2 Emotion (ABS) & i20 1.2 Magna.

When I went to take the TD of the i20, the sales guys was literally pleading me to drive carefullysmiley37.gif....as i was rigorously testing the pickup, which dint excite me.

I guess il have to sacrifice on the power, as no 1.2 can gimme thatsmiley19.gif, but i hope i atlest get the other pleasure of driving a carsmiley4.gif

Hi Rahil, if i was in your shoes i would've waited for some more time.

As it has been pointed out, Punto is packed to the brim but Tata is managing after sales service- That is gamble you got to take. I will never risk it.

Polo- I feel its too overpriced for what they offering

i20- Its not a great car. Its no fun to drive after you have driven the Ritz.

Just chill for a few months, maruti is launching the new Swift, that promises to definitely be a car to watch out for.

@ Mr.Sgiitk - il keep that in mind.

@ Cyrus - The Civic gets into the luxury segment. The RS is one of the best

sedans to ever hit the indian roads,but the spares cost more than a C Class Merc.

@Gego&Bones - That is the only reason im afraid to buy the Punto...bro.

The Polo is a lil overpriced with no features to offer. The over pricing if being

done due to the VW tag.(Even though its the Nano of Europe)

For the 1.6 Polo id have to shell out a good 1.5 lakh more. The Fabia flopped miserably at the market after its launch. I know the new refined Fabia has been launched, which has been getting very good reviews, but i am quite aware that Scoda spare parts are costlier than a Merc's spares.

The Ford Fiesta is firstly a FORD (against whom i hold a prejudice) its a nice car, but then again its costing me a good 6.90L on-road. (Im not in a position to spend more than 6L as of now)

Im getting mixed reviews for the i20.....actually iv always seen mixed reviews for the i20.

The new Swift is not likely to launch in 2010.The exteriors havent been worked on much. I would love to see whats Engine specifications do they change.

@RahiL;

Polo isn't Overpriced in true terms..

Just Check its Quality level, Bulid quality & the feel is offers -Nothing close to it, leave the Hatchbacks aside, It can easily beat some of the India's best Sedans with its above qualities.

One example being, it shares its Seat Belt Assembley & Holder with the Audi.

Polo 1.6 Highline is almost 1-1.25 lacs cheaper than similar Hyundai 1.6 i20 Asta.

If you can delay or postpne your Car purchase decision, then I advice you to Wait for Toyota upcoming Etios hatchback.

[quote=dr_nishu

Polo 1.6 Highline is almost 1-1.25 lacs cheaper than similar Hyundai 1.6 i20 Asta.

There is no 1.6 variant in i20 apart from anaemic 1197cc kappa motor they have 1396cc Gamma series engine producing 100bhp and available in 4-speed automatic only.

In fact 1.6 Polo is not doing that great (is readily available )as 1.2 Polo just as the case of Hyundai.

hi, rahil, if you are ready to take slight risk of ASS and comfortable with it's interior, go for Punto 1.4 - Emotion. It will be slightly above budget but will give you great ride, handling and performance. As your annual driving is not much, you will not face any problem of repairing for 7-8 years. So your visit to Service station will be much lower. Alternatively you can select the all rounder I-20. All the best.

@Dr. Nishu - Theres no 1.6 variant in i20.

Toyota plans to launch the Etios Sedan in December end or Jan 2011, The Hatch is not expected to be launched before the Mid 2011. The Etios Sedan looks very similar to the cheap Renault Logan.Hatch is decent looking,but I cant wait for another 8-9months.

@ Nikvint - Thanks, thats a nice suggestion.

ANYONE HAS AN IDEA AS TO WHEN IS THE I20 VTVT ENGINE GOING TO LAUNCH???

& WHEN ARE THE ALL NEW SWIFTS BOOKINGS GOING TO START??

\m/_smiley16.gif_\m/

Archived