tushargoyal Posted October 21, 2010 Report Share Posted October 21, 2010 King of Premium Hatches is Polo period. No comparisons, this mini Golf is great in terms of Fit, Finished & Quality is top notched. Das Auto Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted October 21, 2010 Report Share Posted October 21, 2010 Polo does not have any premium features like ACC or steering mounted controls, has a 3 cylinder thrummy engine, low in space compared to rivals and it is king of premium hatches? i20 is currently the undisputed king of premium hatches for its all round capabilities. The 1.4 Auto is ultimate however 1.2 ain't that bad either. The interior quality is none too shabby. Till the new Swift comes, I am afraid i20 is the best choice available.rahul18102010-10-21 13:22:07 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tushargoyal Posted October 21, 2010 Report Share Posted October 21, 2010 What are you trying to say comparing German engineering with Koreans. Bhai soorry! i20 so dead no feadback from strearing or gear box. Its like comparing Malika Sherwat (i20) with Pamela Anderson(Polo). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted October 21, 2010 Report Share Posted October 21, 2010 If you wanted steering feel only, then nothing beats Punto hands down. Others are miles behind. Then why did not you consider that? Its because no car is complete. Also the word premium demands features and space not only steering feel which is very good in even a 3 lakh Alto K10. Thats what differentiates it, bcos otherwise Swift is still the best hatch available in India and will only improve its margin over others when the new version is launched. OT: Pamela Anderson, Really?? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
asethi919 Posted October 21, 2010 Report Share Posted October 21, 2010 OT: Pamela Anderson' date=' Really?? [/quote'] LOL!! (I am sorry for going OT.) Back to the topic: Agree with i20 and Swift being the cars to beat in the luxury hatch segment currently. asethi9192010-10-21 21:37:23 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted October 22, 2010 Report Share Posted October 22, 2010 There is no 1.6 variant in i20 @Dr. Nishu - Theres no 1.6 variant in i20. & WHEN ARE THE ALL NEW SWIFTS BOOKINGS GOING TO START?? Oops.. My mistake. I was Referring to the i20 Auto 1.4 here. New Swift is going to be launched here by Jan-Feb2011. Local Dealer here have cleared that the Delivery dates for the booked Swift which falls during that months & Onwards will be Delivered New 2011 Swifts. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RahiL Posted October 22, 2010 Author Report Share Posted October 22, 2010 I have to Totally agree with RAHUL & ASETHI. @Tushar - The Punto has ravishing reviews for its Ride Handling.Rahul has a point here. @Dr.Nishu - thanks for the info. \m/__\m/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanoodhaliwal Posted November 17, 2010 Report Share Posted November 17, 2010 I have posted this is another thread too but only got one reply. My family is planning for Honda City. But as most of the driving will be in city traffic. They are also looking into what called premium hatchbacks. My brother really likes Jazz, I like it too but for some reason I am not sure. With same amount you can get better engine (1.6L Petrol) in Polo and Fabia for much less money. Are these choices worth or jazz is the best hatch. Budget is around 8-9lacs Thanks for your help in advance. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 @nanoodhaliwal: The Jazz engine is 90+ bhp and beats most. As for Honda I resisted for eight years due to the VFM reasoning. Now I think I made a mistake! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
driftpunk Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 Now I think I made a mistake!? Ambiguity here!! Made a mistake means what? By thinking all that for 8 years or by buying Honda Civic ? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
itssanguine Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 @ Rahil: You are in tight spot, really. Since you want performance and i20 feels underpowered to you, so Punto 1.2 will go in the same way. It has only 67 horses inside the bonnet. Ideally K12 engine is the choice for people who loves to drive a 1.2L patrol hatch. Polo is also quite peppy but it is noisy as well being 3 cylinder. Since you have almost gave up on Polo so no point discussing its merits. Among K12 bearers, you own a Ritz already and not very happy with it. So only option left is Swift. New Swift although looks almost identical to present iteration , has a better interior. Although we are not sure how much features Maruti Suzuki will provide in the India bound version, but it is advisable to wait for the new Suzuki Swift. Especially since none of the present 1.2 hatchback seemed to fulfill your requirement. If your budget permits Punto 1.4 as suggested by @nikvint is also an option worth considering.itssanguine2010-11-18 06:45:23 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 @nandodhiwal The smoothness of the Honda engine is very difficult to beat. Also Jazz is a much more comfortable and spacious car than Polo. Also maintenance of the Germans is not a cheap affair, and reliability is still under probation. If not jazz, at this price point you may think of buying i20 1.4 Automatic. It will be in our budget and will be a boon in city traffic. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Abhidragstar Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 Punto and Polo are robust performers. They are well packaged. But what Polo lacks in interior space (for tall persons). That's why my friend dropped of in the first place. Secondly they are comfort riders but not Action (power) packed. The i20 is action packed' date=' but the Korean is not that reliable in maintainence as other two but is cheaper to maintain. Back seat comfort is clearly not the best compared with the rivals.[/quote'] Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 Ambiguity here!! Made a mistake means what? By thinking all that for 8 years or by buying Honda Civic ? Not buying a City in 2002! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 @nanoodhaliwal: The Jazz engine is 90+ bhp and beats most. As for Honda I resisted for eight years due to the VFM reasoning. Now I think I made a mistake! I guess Jazz may be the fasted 1.2L car but certainly not the fastest hatch! Honda sure isn't VFM but gives that something extra that owners usually cherish & remain glued to the brand for long. Comparatively Hyundai petrol engines are not a patch on Hondas & boat like handling doesn't help matters either. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
yamboy911 Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 Rahul, I suggest u to take a test drive of Punto 1.4 Emotion. It has lots of features, unmatched handling and safetly compared to other cars that u get for 6 lakhs. With the current offers given by FIAT it will be well with in your budget also. Else u can opt of i10 1.2 kappa2 Asta which is more peppy, fun to drive in th city and safe. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nanoodhaliwal Posted November 18, 2010 Report Share Posted November 18, 2010 My brother has still to TD Vento, Polo and Fabia. (new ones). But till now City and Jazz are top contender. Will keep you guys posted how everything goes. What you guys think of 1.6L in fabia and Polo. anyone TD'd these. @ rahul - yeah we were considering i20 but not a fan of automatic. My brother test drove 1.2L and did not like the handling ( as BornFree mentioned Boat like) but the interior was spacious. He comare something like this, Siting in Jazz was sitting in some high end restaurant and sitting in i20 was sitting in some regular road side restaurant.( no offense to i20 owners just his opinion not even mine as I cannot test drive any . So my suggestion is solely based on specs, online reviews and suggestion from you nice people Keep the good work going !!) @ sgiitk - thanks, I have seen jazz here its called Honda FIT Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived