aditya123 Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 I'm looking for a new car with a budget of maximum 6 lacs.I have 2 cars in mind. 1.Volkswagen Polo Comfortline 2.Fiat Punto 1.4 Emotion I know that Punto has a very good feature list when compared to the Polo.But overall which is the better car?Any idea about the engine performance,ride quality and gearbox of the punto and polo?And I've heard that the Polo's spare parts are very costly.Which car will be lighter in my pocket when it comes to maintenance cost? Thanks Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
creativebala Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Fiat Petrol?? not really advisable. You may have a look at i20 if your budget permits or you can wait for upcoming Liva/New Swift. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aditya123 Posted December 28, 2010 Author Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Yes.1.4l petrol. Please tell me why it's not advisable. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
creativebala Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 1.4 is neither a performer nor a ultra FE car. It will also have very poor resale. If you can slightly extend your budget, go for Emotion diesel variant. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rki2007 Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Fiat Petrol?? not really advisable. You may have a look at i20 if your budget permits or you can wait for upcoming Liva/New Swift. The current swift which is sold is the New K series Engine of 1.2L right. And which is the new launch and when it is supposed to be??? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
creativebala Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @RKI, Have a look here for new swift http://archive.autocarindia.com/autocar_forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=6693 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aditya123 Posted December 28, 2010 Author Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 But this review suggests that it's a good car.It should be better than the swift? http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/60626-fiat-grande-punto-test-drive-review.html What about the polo?I will be happy with that car also.How good is the polo when it comes to performance and ride comfort. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ashikawa Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 I'm looking for a new car with a budget of maximum 6 lacs.I have 2 cars in mind.1.Volkswagen Polo Comfortline2.Fiat Punto 1.4 EmotionIThanks Any day you can go for polo. If you are comfortable without rear power window than trendline is the right choice for you and if you can extend your budget than highline worth its price ? Punto is a head turner on road , if you want to keep it for a long time and don't bother about resale value. But keeping in view non fuel efficient petrol engine, interiors, quality etc. polo wins the game. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
creativebala Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @ashikawa, Aditya asks for a car which is light on his pocket, do you think Polo will be lighter? @Aditya, any specific reason for not going for i20? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ashikawa Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @ashikawa' date=' Aditya asks for a car which is light on his pocket, do you think Polo will be lighter? [/quote'] Not that light, but definately the ownership cost will be almost equal to i 20. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aditya123 Posted December 28, 2010 Author Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @ashikawa What's wrong with the double tone interiors of the Punto?Is Polo an underpowered car?I'm not happy with the body coloured ORVMs and door handles of the trendline.Is it possible to fit aftermarket power windows? @creativebala Too many complaints about the i20.Steering rattles,AC issues etc.Many people say that it's underpowered.And the Punto has ABS+EBD. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ashikawa Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @ashikawa What's wrong with the double tone interiors of the Punto?Is Polo an underpowered car?I'm not happy with the body coloured ORVMs and door handles of the trendline.Is it possible to fit aftermarket power windows? You can test drive and feel it, my personal experience was that it is not underpowered at all. ORVM and Door handles can be done by spending 2.5-3k . Rear power windows may not be available now with the dealers as accessory. I think one should not go with aftermarket electrical accessories, as it can void warranty. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aditya123 Posted December 28, 2010 Author Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Thanks.Will the dealers paint it for me?What about the spare parts costs?Is it true that the trendline doesn't come with metallic painting? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sb-alto Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @aditya : What do you actually want out of the new car? If you want power and efficiency, there is Swift petrol for you (waiting period is long). If you want Build quality then Polo (sacrificing space, FE, spares cost and handling). Polo is a good car in terms of comfort and quality, Punto is good for space but FE is too bad and so is interior quality. i20 is a good balance. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ashikawa Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Thanks.Will the dealers paint it for me?What about the spare parts costs?Is it true that the trendline doesn't come with metallic painting? Yes, this can be done at the time of delivery or later on. Trendline has only two colour options- flash red, candy white. However Red colour is preffered by most people for all models (TL/CL/HL). I have booked a candy white trendline. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aditya123 Posted December 28, 2010 Author Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Congrats!Do you have any idea about the after sales service and spare parts cost?I've seen people complaining about the steering.The car actually moves to the left when the steering is kept still.Are you planning to get the ICE from the dealer or from outside? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
motorhead Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Fiat Petrol?? not really advisable. You may have a look at i20 if your budget permits or you can wait for upcoming Liva/New Swift. Now a days you reply to any query without justifying the reasons in detail, don't expect people to search last discussed threads and with time things changes also. You just suggested i20 without comparing it with Punto or Polo. MODES KINDLY NOTE, posting just for hack of killing your time is no going to do any good to the forum. People want sincere advise and answer to their queries in more than honestly as they rate Autocar highly. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ashikawa Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Congrats!Do you have any idea about the after sales service and spare parts cost?I've seen people complaining about the steering.The car actually moves to the left when the steering is kept still.Are you planning to get the ICE from the dealer or from outside? Spare cost will be almost like i20. for after sales i am just keeping faith in the brand of vw, however there is no significant bad reviews till date. I am not a big fan of having music system in car, but whatever electrical accessory i will buy, will be from dealer only, as i don't want to take risk about any warranty issues. As far as complaints about steering is concernced i didn't fell anything negetive in it. Car moving to a particular side may be a tyre, alignment issue and limited to a specific car only , not necessarily applicable on all cars. I considered i20 , punto and polo before booking. ***EDIT*** You can follow the ''VW POLO the real big thing'' thread. A lot of discussions are on the way there. You can join them.ashikawa2010-12-28 09:59:23 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Service costs of Polo will be much higher than the i20. Hyundai service costs have now been at par with Maruti for quite some time now. I have seen VW spare price list somewhere, I think in the magazine only. Regarding i20, steering rattles was in a particular batch of models only, and AC has been rectified. Also i20 has marginally more power than Polo, 4 cylinders instead of 3, so less vibrations and smoother engine, more on space. Also please check. i20 also has ABS+EBD. I would think twice before buying a VW at this stage, bcos right now they are the untested bunch. There cars are no doubt good. But it will take some time before they establish a name for there service. The concern is not the quality, its the cost. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
motorhead Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Service costs of Polo will be much higher than the i20. Hyundai service costs have now been at par with Maruti for quite some time now. I have seen VW spare price list somewhere' date=' I think in the magazine only.Regarding i20, steering rattles was in a particular batch of models only, and AC has been rectified. Also i20 has marginally more power than Polo, 4 cylinders instead of 3, so less vibrations and smoother engine, more on space. Also please check. i20 also has ABS+EBD. I would think twice before buying a VW at this stage, bcos right now they are the untested bunch. There cars are no doubt good. But it will take some time before they establish a name for there service. The concern is not the quality, its the cost.[/quote'] Dear Rahul, according to JD power Asia, Hyundai is way below industry average in customer satisfaction and services, steering problem is still there and AC problem has been dead for now till summer and what is the FE of i20 compare to Polo and what kind of price difference is there, care to explain. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @motorhead In JD Power Asia report (which incidentaly I dont think is the correct way to judge after asking just 5000 car owners) Hyundai ranks 4th, after Maruti Suzuki, Honda and surprisingly Fiat. Even Toyota which is touted for its service lies below Tata whose service quality criticism has been quite vocal. Also VW's brother Skoda ranks way way below Hyundai, while VW incidentally chose not to take part in the survey. Even though I have very much proved my point with the survey I dont pay much heed to it considering the small bunch of people it asks. Just look where Fiat is when we all know where it actually should be. In India there are only two things which can make a hatchback sell. 1. FE and 2. Service costs. If i20 was not good in both, it would not be having 60% of the hatchback segment. As per ARAI(official Government data), Polo 1.2 is rated 17.2 kmpl while i20 1.2 has been rated 18.2 kmpl. These test are carried in a similar conditions, and while these will not be the actual FE you get on road, you can expect comparisons in ratio. This is a quote from the Polo thread. The engine sounds crude for petrol and people end up asking whether it is a diesel one. In fact I was the one to ask this question to the sales personnel when I test drove it way back in April. People even asked me how much diesel does it consume?? Posting the links for the data I have used above. http://www.siamonline.in/Fuel_Economy/4W-FE-Data.pdf http://businesscenter.jdpower.com/JDPAContent/CorpComm/News/content/Releases/pdf/2010214-icsi.pdf Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nikvint Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Dear aditya, my vote goes to I-20. Total ownership cost will be least in I-20 considering F.E., resale value and spare parts cost. Small issues with steering rattles and AC are sorted out. All the best. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
motorhead Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 @motorhead In JD Power Asia report (which incidentaly I dont think is the correct way to judge after asking just 5000 car owners) Hyundai ranks 4th' date=' after Maruti Suzuki, Honda and surprisingly Fiat. Even Toyota which is touted for its service lies below Tata whose service quality criticism has been quite vocal. The engine sounds crude for petrol and people end up asking whether it is a diesel one. In fact I was the one to ask this question to the sales personnel when I test drove it way back in April. If you think you are always right others wrong then check other forums and you will find how dissatisfied Hyundai customers are. You are blindly Hyundai fan nothing else, sorry but most of your post are in praise of Hyundai nothing else. Person is asking about Punto and Polo but i20 then you are want to sell him i20 ?, do you get any commission ? Note from Mod: While quoting, use only a relevant part & not the entire post. Posting of outside links is not encouraged on the board. *Imp* no personal comments/remarks on fellow members.BornFree2010-12-28 11:21:18 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
aditya123 Posted December 28, 2010 Author Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Guys,calm down.I think the steering and AC issues are still there.I'm not sure though.I need some solid proof. @rahul1810 Don't think that the sportz variant of i20 comes with ABS+EBD. Please compare Polo with Punto if you can.Nobody is talking about the Punto here.I think it's also a good car.Well insulated from outside noises and a nice rev happy engine.Plus it comes with ABS,EBD and other nice features too.What do you guys think?Any idea about the maintenance cost? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
motorhead Posted December 28, 2010 Report Share Posted December 28, 2010 Guys' date='calm down.I think the steering and AC issues are still there.I'm not sure though.I need some solid proof. @rahul1810 Don't think that the sportz variant of i20 comes with ABS+EBD. ? Please compare Polo with Punto if you can.Nobody is talking about the Punto here.I think it's also a good car.Well insulated from outside noises and a nice rev happy engine.Plus it comes with ABS,EBD and?other nice features too.What do you guys think?Any idea about the maintenance cost?[/quote'] Punto is very good car with 1.4 L 4 cylinder much more quieter than Polo, which is laud like diesel car. Space is Punto is more than Polo. Ride and handling is way ahead in Punto than Polo. 1.4 L. engine is fuel efficient if driven light footed. Punto comes loaded. Fiat is 2nd only to Maruti in customer satisfaction and service ( According to 2010 JD power Asia survey ) Punto comes with 50 Months warranty and on road 24X7 service mean peace of mind. Punto is around quite some time and all the crease has been ironed. There are many more and list goes on and on. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived