2. Poolen filter Check.

3. AC control Check.

Additionally you will get

10% discount on door visors

10% discount on sun control film

10% discount on navigation system

20% discount on 3M car detailing services

Source:Volkswagen Fans Club

2nd Update: Mobility Max -Details updated on VW India Website.

Volkswagen India Website

• 3 weeks later...

@ashikawa

Great compilation.

You seem to be a hardcore VW fan and own a beauty yourself . Just wondering aftre seeing the kind of unsold stock they have now with them and the huge discounts they have on these cars to clear stock,what does it make you feel.Why others dont see what you saw in the car?

Not i anyway comparing the amount you paid or the choices you had back then for the car , read about what you went thru, just the reasons for its downfall now.

That's pretty useful updates you're providing us regularly.

But we're expecting yours personal ownership experience with your Polo, like regular Fuel efficiency & other updates.

Do share the pics, stories or your Interesting events with your Polo.

Keep rockinggg. smiley1.gif

@ashikawa

Great compilation.

You seem to be a hardcore VW fan and own a beauty yourself . Just wondering aftre seeing the kind of unsold stock they have now with them and the huge discounts they have on these cars to clear stock' date='what does it make you feel.Why others dont see what you saw in the car?

Not i anyway comparing the amount you paid or the choices you had back then for the car , read about what you went thru, just the reasons for its downfall now.
[/quote'] After i bought this car the price of the car shot up by 30k. So the discounts are only compensating the increased price. Heavy discounts are offered only on 2011 old stock of petrol cars. 2012 cars and Diesels are still have an waiting. As far as numbers are concerned VW is constantly selling equal number of cars. Only thing is Diesel is dominating in total sales figures. But as you are aware that VW is clever enough and keep on introducing IPL/Breeze editions to take care of demand v/s supply.

I personally feel that no car can substitute a Polo. Its has best quality of materiel used among cars ranging from 5 to 10 lacs.Just sit inside and you won't feel like sitting in a hatchback. It has a big car feel and has lots of boot space(i.e. 290 ltr. boot). I am thorowly enjoying it for last 14 months.

Yes, they are not up to the mark on sales and service front but i have learnt to live and deal with it. Hope they will improve with time as they have bigger plans for Indian market. I can not just own a car for its good aftersale network. It should feel good when i sit inside.

That's pretty useful updates you're providing us regularly.
But we're expecting yours personal ownership experience with your Polo' date=' like regular Fuel efficiency & other updates.

Do share the pics, stories or your Interesting events with your Polo.
Keep rockinggg. [/quote'] Thanks Dr. Nishu. I have driven around 9k till now in 14 months.You won't feel like going below 100kmph. FE ranged from 13.75 to 19.50 in 20% city and 80% highway driving with AC on all the times.I never drive Polo with open window's. Overall i am very happy with the car. It proved itself on FE front also what is not expected from a German Petrol car of this proportion and weight. No issues till date. Touchwood.

I am also following your thread. What i see is  that you have set your eyes on Ecosport/Duster, if i am not wrong. Waiting is no problem but don't compromise on your insticts.

@ashikawa

thanks for your regular updates on VW. I get most of my info from here.

your assessment about vw west was bulls eye. they are inefficient. I'm dealing with this guy since last month and he has never got back to me on time and sometimes never. Not interested in sales i guess. Anyway cant imagine after sales experience if this is the case before purchase.

@ashikawa

The discounts are on both 2011 and 2012 models

The reason i am asking you for this suggestion was to ckeck if there was something inherently wrong with the product which only a LONG TIMER could have pointed out.

I am considering buying a small hatch and have shortlisted the FIGO and the POLO (because of the current discount on the vehicles , both base petrol variants for commercial purpose )

You own a POLO and i presume its the lower specked petrol version and thus my query to you...

@ashikawa

The discounts are on both 2011 and 2012 models

The reason i am asking you for this suggestion was to ckeck if there was something inherently wrong with the product which only a LONG TIMER could have pointed out.

I am considering buying a small hatch and have shortlisted the FIGO and the POLO (because of the current discount on the vehicles ' date=' both base petrol variants for commercial purpose )

You own a?POLO and i presume its the lower?specked petrol version and thus my query to you...
[/quote'] If you are choosing between a Figo and Polo base Petrol variant then anyday go for Polo. There is no such major problem is there which is common in Petrol base model. Actually being short on gizmo's this must be the most reliable choice of all the variants. Figo will definitely cost less initially but lacks on the front of quality in comparison to Polo. Base petrol polo comes with front power window/central locking/tilt and telescopic steering/ AC/ Single folding rear seat and best in class built quality and interior plastics which makes it great value for money proposition.

Waiting is no problem but don't compromise on your insticts.

A week earlier it was not' date=' but after the Un-necessary Increase in my already booked DZire's prices. But since, its almost Non-deserving for its price, so now Though process waked up again for a better alternative.

So, waiting for another couple of months is no issue now, if I can get a better product, ultimately.

I am also following your thread. What i see is? that you have set your eyes on Ecosport/Duster,

No exactly.

EcoSport is too far & Duster may come soon but All eyes are set on its Pricing & how the product will be perceived in the Indian market.

Will atleast look onto Duster atleast for 2 months after its launch to decide it on finally.

Else, ETIOS V-D wins the game hands down for me, now.

I am considering buying a small hatch and have shortlisted the FIGO and the POLO (because of the current discount on the vehicles ' date=' both base petrol variants for commercial purpose )

Simply, go for Polo petrol.

You'll simply enjoy that machine.

-1stly, it doesn't feel underpowered as Figo petrol.

-Its Fuel efficiency is better than Figo, heard that it delivers pretty much close to what VW promises i.e 17kmpl.

-You'll get other benefits on Petrol versions also, like Free Insurance, AMC & other related benefits or Almost Nil cost ownership for first 3-years.

Whereas nothing such offers & benefits on Figo petrol, except some 13-14k Cash discounts.

Go for Polo, rest assured with its performance & Ownership.dr_nishu2012-05-15 19:20:13

If you are choosing between a Figo and Polo base Petrol variant then anyday go for Polo. There is no such major problem is there which is common in Petrol base model. Actually being short on gizmo's this must be the most reliable choice of all the variants. Figo will definitely cost less initially but lacks on the front of quality in comparison to Polo. Base petrol polo comes with front power window/central locking/tilt and telescopic steering/ AC/ Single folding rear seat and best in class built quality and interior plastics which makes it great value for money proposition.

You have made my task that much simpler ' date=' a basic well put together piece of machinery, free from workshop personel interventions, is what i was looking for , Gizmos can be added later as per need ,the features it has now are sufficient to our requirement.

Simply, go for Polo petrol.
You'll simply enjoy that machine.
-1stly, it doesn't feel underpowered as Figo petrol.
-Its Fuel efficiency is better than Figo, heard that it delivers pretty much close to what VW promises i.e 17kmpl.
-You'll get other benefits on Petrol versions also, like Free Insurance, AMC & other related benefits or Almost Nil cost ownership for first 3-years.
Whereas nothing such offers & benefits on Figo petrol, except some 13-14k Cash discounts.

Go for Polo, rest assured with its performance & Ownership.

Discounts on FIGO are up as of now , touching 24K

So POLO it will be , will get hold of the 1.1Lakhs one.

librankur2012-05-15 23:02:52

Discounts on FIGO are up as of now ' date=' touching 24K

So POLO it will be , will get hold of the 1.1Lakhs one.

It varies from variant to variant.

You won't get complete 24k discount on its base variant.

Same is for Polo too.

Please note these figures just Indicates the Cash benefits on the purchase of these cars, not the Cash Discount alone.

CD if available, would be of relatively smaller amount than overall cash benefits written in the advertisements.

Jaago grahak jaago.

smiley1.gif

• 8 months later...

2nd Service Update:

Work carried out:

1.Oil change

2.Oil filter

3. Fuel filter

4. Dust and Pollen filter

5. Air Filter

6. Spark Plug

7. Brake Shoes

8. Brake Pads

Total Cost is 15.5 k out of which 1.2 k is Labour . I have paid Zero(0).

Warranty work carried out:

1. Front seat Frames

2. Steering campaign

3. Engine mount

4. Gearbox mount

Total cost around 26 k . I have paid Zero(0)

The initial issue of some charges over and above AMC is sorted out and nothing has been charged from me.

Overall experience is Very Good. SA was good person with good attitude and very friendly.

Insurance update:

Renewed with Bajaj Allianz with 24x7 SPOT ASSISTANCE,Accidental Medical Expenses Cover,Depreciation Shield,Engine Protector for 17.5 k.

Ex. RSA Update: Decided not to go for it since my Bajaj policy has 24x7 SPOT ASSISTANCE which has similar benefits.

2nd Service Update:

Total Cost is 15.5 k out of which 1.2 k is Labour . I have paid Zero(0).

Total cost around 26 k . I have paid Zero(0)

Its good to see that Company did the job under Warranty & you did not have to pay. What intrigues me is that such work & costs are not normal. Imagine one having to get these jobs done once the vehicle is out of warranty! This does not reflect good on the reliability & cost effectiveness of the vehicle.

Let me explain the case to you.

1. As far as service is concerned, non AMC customers will definitely have a lower cost in case they don't run much but AMC gives you all periodic replacement to accommodate a mobility guarantee till next schedule hence the cost is higher but you get a crisp car with all new essential parts on every service.

2. As far as the warranty replacements are concerned they are more of a preventive steps taken by VW India. The new mounts are hydraulic compared to earlier rubber bonded mounts preventing any kind of vibration entering the cockpit. The new seat frames are more robust and rust proof compare to earlier ones which shown sign of rust in some cars. The steering campaign was done due to the fact that a wire inside steering was getting cut in some car due to movement of steering so it has been replace with a covered wire in all cars. These things are done on all cars of a particular batch irrespective of whether customers ask for it or not except for mounts where the replacement is made only one a customer complaining about vibration or noise.

I also came to know about goodwill warranty policy of VW, where one can get things replaced even after lapse of warranty/ex. warranty if he/she adheres to the OEM's regular service intervals to maintain the car. For example an amount of around 12k is mentioned on my bill as goodwill. One of my friend had to replace something in his Fabia after lapse of warranty which costed around 1.25 lacs but he had to pay only 25k and rest is taken care by goodwill warranty.

It is also true that parts/replacements of costly in VW cars due to the fact that same parts are used by costlier cars like Audi etc.

1. As far as service is concerned, non AMC customers will definitely have a lower cost

2. As far as the warranty replacements are concerned they are more of a preventive steps taken by VW India.

I also came to know about goodwill warranty policy of VW,

How much did the AMC cost ?

Regarding the replacements, its good to see a Company working pro-actively & keeping the car in top nick plus managing to keep the customer happy & satisfied.

Goodwill Warranty is anther big +ve. How much does this cost ?

What really irks me about the complete package is the number of things needing replacement & imagine one running out of Warranties & having to get these done on one-self! The cost of ownership would be humongous. Also the fact that this translates into the parts not being reliable. The Japanese on the other hand have this pretty much sorted, you buy the vehicle & forget about any issues cropping up, just regular services & that's all. I guess this is an area where the Germans have some catching up to do.

How much did the AMC cost ?

Regarding the replacements, its good to see a Company working pro-actively & keeping the car in top nick plus managing to keep the customer happy & satisfied.

Goodwill Warranty is anther big +ve. How much does this cost ?

What really irks me about the complete package is the number of things needing replacement & imagine one running out of Warranties & having to get these done on one-self! The cost of ownership would be humongous. Also the fact that this translates into the parts not being reliable. The Japanese on the other hand have this pretty much sorted, you buy the vehicle & forget about any issues cropping up, just regular services & that's all. I guess this is an area where the Germans have some catching up to do.

Two AMC's are available for Petrol Polo's:

1. 3 year / 45k kms. - 19900/-

2. 4 year/ 60k kms. - 34072/-

I have got the 4 year AMC bought for 34072/- with translates into around 8.5k a year on maintainance. The best thing i like is VW's 1 year service interval. I can't think visiting the workshop often for service.

The one with 3 year coverage and a cut short version for 2 year coverage was also offered to some customers free of charge during a specific offer period.(I was not lucky enough to buy Polo during that period.)

Godwill warranty doesn't cost anything. It all depends on VW and the particular dealership/ workshop to give this benefit to you. Your dealings with them and regular service record etc. are the basis for the same.

Actually some of the replacements are happening due to sourced parts such as seat frames etc. and some changes like mount change / steering campaign etc. is a proactive approach to mitigate any possible future complaint.

One thing i can say with certanity that it will be difficult for a person to think about buying anything else after enjoying a german car. That's what a german car is all about.

Two AMC's are available for Petrol Polo's:

2. 4 year/ 60k kms. - 34072/-

I have got the 4 year AMC bought for 34072/- with translates into around 8.5k a year on maintainance.

Godwill warranty doesn't cost anything.

One thing i can say with certanity that it will be difficult for a person to think about buying anything else after enjoying a german car. That's what a german car is all about.

AMC fixing the maintenance to 8.5k every 15k kms is good. But the service should not cost >8.5k anyways even without contract.

Goodwill thing is a brownie! :)

Yeah probably years of using Jap cars, has tuned me their sort of maintenance & costs!

P.S: NIce pics. there Ash..

• 2 months later...

VW organises Summer check up Camp 2013

For Details please visit this link:

Another Update:

Also it seems that
VW India has included a free service check(General Checkup) @6 Months/7500 kms( whichever is earlier) for new cars purchased
now onwards. The remaining service intervals will continue to be the same i.e. 1 year/15000 kms.. This new policy has been put in place with the launch of Polo GT TSI.

This might have done on basis of customer feedback received, since Indian customers are not comfortable with a yearly first service which becomes due only on completion of 1 year/15000 kms. unlike the indian OEM who perform 3 services in the 1st year.

Though as per my own experience i feel that yearly service is one of the good feature of VW Vehicle and i am very much comfortable with the interval and do not see any need of frequent services, since VW uses best quality components in their cars.

• 9 months later...

3rd Service Update:

Work carried out:

1.Oil change

2.Oil filter

3. Fuel filter

5. Air Filter

6. Brake Shoes cleaning

7. Brake Pads cleaning

8. Cleaning

Total Cost is 7 k out of which 2 k is Labour . I have paid Zero(0).

Overall experience is Very Good. You can call me a happy VW customer.

• 1 year later...

4rth Service Update:

Work carried out:

1.Oil change

2.Oil filter

3. Fuel filter

5. Air Filter

6. Cleaning

I have paid Zero(0) since it was covered under paid AMC.

Additional work : WA and WB costed me 1070/- which is my first expense in last 4 years.

Alert for AMC customers:

If you have a VW AMC for your vehicle, Please ensure to ask your workshop to complete its formalities before the service day to avoid any displeasure or delay in service. I had to do extra efforts due to this.

Note: VW Andheri workshop is closed for maintainance/change of ownership for last 2-3 months.

what kind of running do you do before you go in for service?

This offer you latched onto is juicy, you are paying nothing for so long, how much did you buy it for at the onset or was it complimentary and how long will it last you?

Are these yearly services or at a certain KM reading ? Do give us an insight.

Pardon me asking these questions if you have already given details in earlier posts.