Hatchback blues, now SEDAN CLUES (pg10)

After a long wait, thinking/analysing sessions, clocking 2100 posts at ACI forum while trying to solve everyone's query,

I'm equally confused while buying one for me now, preferrably a Diesel hatchback in the Budget of Rs.6-7lacs OTR.

My priorities are:

-Good Highway stability.

-Ample Torque & Powerband to clock miles on Highways without a fuss.

-Refined yet Silent package(Lowest NVH).

-Good Interiors.

The cars within which I'm confused now are;

VW Polo 1.2 TDi:

Pros: Excellent looks, design & Overall Quality.

Cons: 3-cylinder engine(although its smooth but not satisfying), Top-end variant out of my budget.

Fiat Punto 1.3 MjD Emotion:

Pros: Gorgeous Italian looks, Highway stability & equipments.

Cons: Average Interiors, Still doubtful about its User-friendliness(Punto owners please clarify this).

Hyundai i20 CRDi Sportz:

Pros: Punchy engine, Quality laden fully loaded package.

Cons: Steering Rattle Issues.

Current Swift isn't in my bag of options but I'll be hanging on my purchase till New Swift arrives.

Waiting for your valuable Inputs for shortlisting the best option for me.

• Replies 236
  • Created
  • Last Reply

My opinion

VW Polo 1.2 TDi:

Pros: VW Build, Fit & Finish

Cons: 3-cylinder engine(although its smooth but not satisfying), Top-end variant out of my budget, poor rear space, doubtful AfSS, expensive spares.

Fiat Punto 1.3 MjD Emotion:

Pros: MJD, Gorgeous Italian looks, Highway stability,space, ride & equipments.

Cons: Average Interiors, Still doubtful about its User-friendliness(Punto owners please clarify this) ergonomics in Punto is a pro, lack of VGT in emotion

Hyundai i20 CRDi Sportz:

Pros: Punchy engine, Quality laden fully loaded package.

Cons: Steering Rattle Issues, AC, Handling( I see this as your first requirement), should be out of your budget(ABS version).

Swift:

Pros: Better build, interiors, rear space, fit 'n finish expected. Proven MJD, Handling, Performance, AfSS

Cons: IMHO none

I would also suggest you the new Swift. Also by that time hopefully i20 Kappa2 will come. Kappa2 is petrol but there will be upgrades for diesel too. That will have upgrades, features and hopefully solved steering rattle. Even otherwise, steering rattle is not a huge issue.

Also which variant of Polo are you looking at. If its not the highest variant, i would suggest instead you go for Figo. It has nearly same space, though not as much quality but will come with safety features standard.

I would steer clear of the Punto. There is way too much baggage to worry about with that one. Tata quality issues being at the top of my list.

Polo is a great alternative if you tolerate the high service and the waiting periods.

i20 is overall a great package and I would certainly go for that one but like everyone, I agree that you should wait for the Swift.

I was/am in a similar dilemma of late! Punto would have been my first choice had it not been for the Reliability/a.s.s issues. I had almost made my mind on Tuscan Wine Punto MJD but then upon reading user reviews, I was in two minds.

Polo was also high on the list but its cost of ownership is still unknown w.r.t to spares & service charges. I do suspect the parts prices to be higher compared to the segment.

i20 is a good package but average Ride & Handling as with all Hyundais kept me away. Also heard of a few issues with the car, later it was reported that Hyundai has taken care of some of them.

Then tried Micra was impressed with the car. Dealer & Service network is iffy & GC is pretty low.

So, then  decided to wait & watch for the new Swift to arrive. Whatever but the Swift would be a buy through the head & not heart! That prize still goes to the Punto.

Also which variant of Polo are you looking at. If its not the highest variant' date=' [/quote']

I'm considering 1.2 TDi Comfortline(mid) variant of Polo but its 3-cyl engine is a BIG BIG turn-off for me.

Just wish if it could've came with 1.6 or 1.4l(downsized from 1.6l) 4-cylinder TDi engine, then by now its Ownership thread will be lying in the Reader's Test team section.

Regarding i20: As I travel at not so good roads mostly, so i20's Steering rattle is a BIG-smiley25.gif for me & Safety aspects related with it.

But If they sort it out in its face-lifted version, then Surely I can consider it.

Any time frame for its launch ?? IMHO, after New Verna its i20's turn.

Swift:

Cons: IMHO none

Are you sure of this bala ??

I'm still suspicious about its build quality & its Braking abilities.

Then tried Micra was impressed with the car. Dealer & Service network is iffy & GC is pretty low.

AfSS isn't a problem for me with this Nissan, but it felt l'll bit smaller at Rear Seat(especially its Seat base lacking underthigh support) w.r.t its Price & its footprint.

Its 1st generation 1.5l dCi engine is also lethargic in Driving Response, as I've noticed in its First drive.

What's your take on this sir ??
dr_nishu2011-04-10 12:11:54

Yes Micra is a shade smaller on the insides compared to the competition but its a good car to drive. Guess offers the max. FE too.

The car I drove seemed pretty quick with almost negligible Turbo lag. Maybe its due to the reduced weight.

On the ownership cost concern, the sales executives claimed that Micra has the cheapest spare parts basket.

Some features like keyless start, etc are cool. On the other side some people bring in the gender equation into the picture, to which I actually do not subscribe!

@DD: No doubt Ford Figo TDCi is the segment leader but where it lacks is in its Class Premium feel.

Its Lower Ride Height is also a con for me, Instead I'm thinking of considering Fiesta Classic for me, once after checking it out at nearest Ford Showroom.

@anjan: Diesel fuelled car is the chief priority & IMO, Etios/Liva diesel won't be coming here in Diesel option before an year. 

Wait like I am waiting for My New 2011 Swift Diesel. I have done the booking, now waiting for the launch, the production and delivery hopefully in the 1st batch. I am the 1st to book it in my town and I am sure that I am not doing a mistake. Hopefully the new 2011 Swift does not have RATTLES, and have a Zdi too!

Fiesta Classic is priced a bit higher. Its nothing but a booted Figo' date=' why pay more than a lack just for a boot.[/quote']

I think the pricing of Fiesta Classic is good.

Also its much more than just a booted Figo. Figo is the earlier generation Fiesta.

Nishu if we think of it, Fiesta makes sense. Up-North, sedans command much more respect than their hatchback counterparts.

@dr_nishu

My vote goes for Figo (as you specifically asked for a diesel hatch) over Swift.  And, for some inexplicable reason, I somehow do not like the Swift design/looks.  It's true.  But, if you like the looks and shape of a Swift, it is the best diesel hatch in this country, logistically speaking.  So, go by what you like. 

But, if you can wait a bit longer, and if you can stretch your budget a bit, you can even get a longer car, i.e  a sedan.   The all new Ford Fiesta will be the car to look and wait for.

@r.babu:

I'm having no problem with the Swift's looks, but I'm not satisfied with its Flimsy build Quality, Braking & Stability.

I'm doubtful about these in its upcoming 2011 variant too.

ThankGod Figo is good in these & that's why its an Standby option in my list, if nothing else satisfies.

@Polo owners(mndvishnu, ashikawa et al) & others:

I'm very much keen on buying VW Polo Diesel but worried about its 3-cyl engine & facts associated with it like the Accent CRDi like clutter & vibrations, etc. Even I've TD-en it 2-3 times but still not fully convinced with it.

Do you guys really think that its a that much big issue for my Hardcore liking for Polo can be sacrificed !

dr_nishu2011-04-11 18:50:15

@nishu

I would suggest you to go for Figo just because it offers all the safety features, which are not available with other cars in the segment. The quality is OK,not to the leagues of Polo and i20 but still at par with the competition. It is very spacious and has a comfortable ride.

I have never heard of any braking issues in Swift. And regarding quality, Maruti has been improving it with ever model, and I expect it to be much better than the current version.

... ThankGod Figo is good in these & that's why its an Standby option in my list' date=' if nothing else satisfies...[/quote']

My brother bought a top-end Figo Diesel and he is quite happy with it, except for one thing.  It is low slung with low GC.  When fully loaded, the car's bottom hits even  the slightest speedbreakers.  He is very unhappy with this.  Kindly keep this in mind while deciding your car.

I waited for the Polo for three months from January 2010 till March 2010 but when i looked at the rear seat and the space it offered i did not go for it. I got the Fabia with a Petrol engine. Nice build and a solid car. But my basic priority was city driving and the performance did not matter. If u are going for the diesel then consider the new Fabia with the same engines as in the Polo.

@nishu

Polo I say, if you do not want to wait. Otherwise New swift will be worth it. Buying a diesel means more cost of maintenance in the long run. So do not strike out a Suzuki. May end up lighter-on-wallet than Germans.

Else book a Dzire Zdi and wait for delivery. smiley17.gif

sb-alto2011-04-12 16:52:54

Archived