dr_nishu Posted June 15, 2011 Report Share Posted June 15, 2011 Go for Honda City S variant. Fluidic Verna can never match it in any count. Its a proven Gem of our country. Simply go for it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 15, 2011 Report Share Posted June 15, 2011 @Varun Varma: It really doesn't matter which variant you get for the City,as mentioned by Dr Nishu,it is a proven gem of our countrybut what really matters is that you need to upgrade the tyres of the car else they are going to eclipse your smile as well as the performance of the car whenever you will try to drive it hard and enthusiastically. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MclarenMaruti Posted June 16, 2011 Report Share Posted June 16, 2011 Go for Honda City S variant. Fluidic Verna can never match it in any count. Its a proven Gem of our country. Simply go for it. gem of our country? i thought it was a japanese beauty sold in india,russia, brazil and some other countries? its the other way round in reality, how can the city match the verna? look at verna's interiors , ride quality, exterior looks, cheaper ass and spares and longer service intervals, and no need to mention the features. these are all much much better than the city. the city is already outdated if u talk about features, for a long term buyer the Verna has enough features and qualities that make it a more vfm as well as overall product than the city, even after the price cut. the city is a much better handler and has a much better rear seat with much better rear visibility , which only are the only benefits of the city. with low ground clearance the city too isn't a family car that can be sped across the city bumpers the verna is a much more complete car, but i don't think u should get in the crappy Indian habit of comparing , from cars to toothpastes, we all like to crown one particular product king and the other..........leave it . 19-20 ka farak hai yaar dono mein, at the end both are great cars . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
darshanm Posted June 16, 2011 Report Share Posted June 16, 2011 @all - Though Verna may win in terms of the accessories, Honda is probably playing smart ball. All those things necessary to enjoy a car ride, Honda provides it. Some of the features that Honda does not provide are cd player and automatic climate control. But guess what, even in cars i drive, i never play any cd any longer, either i plug in my cell/mp3 player into aux or use a pen drive. And even if I have climate control, i use manual controls on it, like fan speed and temperature. The only advantage is that you know what temperature you are setting, in Honda one has to approximate.  I took the test drive of both City and Verna yesterday, the thing about Verna i did not like is that the rear bounces more than once at speed breakers. Though hardly felt at slow speeds, but I am guessing it"ll just amplify at high speeds.  Also, Now that City's prices are reduced by more than 50,000. Its a good buy. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted June 16, 2011 Report Share Posted June 16, 2011 ...gem of our country? i thought it was a japanese beauty sold in india' date='russia, brazil and some other countries? [/quote'] Do I explain it in 3rd standard essay style language ! ! C'mon ACI-ian you seems to be a man with sensible approach from your post content. Everybody have got the real point, why are you trying to create a mess then. Coming to the subject, Even being a japaneese, this car is adapted & 'Made in India'. So its an Jap-Indianised Gem of our country. 19-20 difference is always there & that's why A Honda is a Honda & Hyundai except for its copy-paste looks is a way inferior than it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MclarenMaruti Posted June 16, 2011 Report Share Posted June 16, 2011 Do I explain it in 3rd standard essay style language ! ! C'mon ACI-ian you seems to be a man with sensible approach from your post content. Everybody have got the real point' date=' why are you trying to create a mess then. Coming to the subject, Even being a japaneese, this car is adapted & 'Made in India'. So its an Jap-Indianised Gem of our country. 19-20 difference is always there & that's why A Honda is a Honda & Hyundai except for its copy-paste looks is a way inferior than it.[/quote'] dear dr PEACE yaar, i am not fighting or trying to create a mess, i think the adaptation isn't very Indian , atleast going by the ground clearance of the car and the plastics offered. Or maybe a lack of worthy competitor helped honda cost costs on the plastics and features. Yes, it has been the king of engines, as well as the c segment leader for nearly 10 years or so, but clearly its competitors aren't way behind or too inferior. Had the japs got the gc a little more and some 9 lakh worthy plastics , it would have been the icing on top of the driving pleasure it offers. Yes a honda is a Honda and Hyundai is Hyundai , but how do u say its " way inferior" ? i am not trying to create a mess , i don't think that enumerating the pros and cons of both those cars is creating a mess . And , please , going by the usual honda vs hyundai trends ever since the verna came out, there has been a tendency of enthusiasts all over the net, bashing Hyundai or callng it way inferior . I don't intend to get into this , its just that the Verna is a much better car than most people are calling it to be like, and having had both company's cars in our stables, i find a little harsher treatment of the Verna in general. After all the city has been a gem all the while, but then its competitors have really turned the heat on it . The verna is not inferior, or way inferior for that fact in comparison, i don't see how a car with a better ride, interiors, exteriors and features, can be called inferior, is it for not being an enthusiasts car? ,if yes, Then the city too has some of its own gremlins. do ride the new Verna , its interiors, design , features and most importantly the ride quality is much much better than the city, yes the driver gets more pleasure to drive a city thanks to its handling , but if u look into all the factors the Verna ticks more boxes than the city. Why i am writing this in detail is because many ,many people research the net for prospective car buys. Their numbers have are growing ever since the broadband thing came in, so i think we must offer a practical rather than an enthusiastically emotional advice to anyone who seeks it. for guys like me who love to redline ,for people look in their internal rear view mirrrors soley for overtaking and don't use the side mirrors, for people who prefer to sit back and enjoy the ride, there are different needs for everyone. The verna is definitely a good alternative to the city, still more vfm than the city, but from a driver's POV, i would say the city is much better. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted June 16, 2011 Report Share Posted June 16, 2011 Yes a honda is a Honda and Hyundai is Hyundai ' date=' but how do u say its " way inferior" ? [/quote'] City is having better; -Overall Product Quality. -Much better & purely Gem of an i-VTEC Petrol engine delivering 18+kmpl overall. -Much Better Rear Seat Comfort. -Quality Electrical components used. -Proven Reliability records. -Better AfSS & Customer attention. & many more facts which make the Honda products really special, desirable & exceptionally Reliable, ask any Honda owner for this. Even at this forum there're various members which owns both a Hyundai & a Honda car, IMHO they can tell this difference in a more elaborative way. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted June 17, 2011 Report Share Posted June 17, 2011 It may be a bad idea to move the feud to the PM channel. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 17, 2011 Report Share Posted June 17, 2011 City is having better; -Overall Product Quality. -Much better & purely Gem of an i-VTEC Petrol engine delivering 18+kmpl overall. -Much Better Rear Seat Comfort. -Quality Electrical?components used. -Proven Reliability records. -Better AfSS & Customer attention. & many more facts which make the Honda products really special' date=' desirable & exceptionally Reliable, ask any Honda owner?for this. Even at this forum there're various members which owns both a Hyundai & a Honda car, IMHO they can tell this difference in a more elaborative way.?[/quote'] +1,any day ay time. All the points mentioned above by Dr Nishu seems to be completely true.Just have a look at the steering feel of the City,engine response of the City,the way it behaves with a zest at the top end of its rev range.Verna is simply nowhere near it. I think none of the cars in the segment has better rear seat comfort than the city. It really gives 18-19 kpl on highways(Drifty(Driftpunk),where are you?This time I need an owner to prove it.).I have got it from Honda City not in one or two,but about 14-15 trips to Jaipur and in every trip the car was doing 100+.It even delivers a decent FE of about 13-14 when we drive it extremely hard(110 in third gear-160 in 4th). A$$ is simply among the best and overall product quality is good too(not the best because Vento feels better). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sarabjeet Posted June 17, 2011 Report Share Posted June 17, 2011 18-19kmpl ? Just checked todays Mid-day (mumbai edition) Honda claims 16.7 ltr/km as FE of its City. You guys can check it too in the online edition, second page of mid-day mumbai edition.   Edit : Honda to slash Honda Jazz price  By CarDekho Team 16 Jun, 2011 at 7:03:59 PM Honda Siel Cars India, the Indian subsidiary of Japanese car maker Honda Motor Company is planning a price cut of its hatchback car Honda Jazz. Moreover, Honda India recently lowered the price of its popular car model Honda City by as much as six percent.It is worth mentioning that after lowering the price, the basic model of Honda car i.e. the Honda City EMT is currently available at a price tag of Rs 7.49 lakh. Ironically with this price cut, the company has ended up creating a disaster for Honda Jazz, whose top-end variant is priced at Rs. 7.56 lakh (all prices ex-showroom). Thus a Honda Jazz price cut is expected. The price figures show that the revised price of Honda City EMT variant is less then top-end variant of Honda Jazz which is most likely to act as catastrophe for Honda Jazz sales. As per reports, with such pricing scenario, Indian customer will definitely drift towards Honda Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted June 17, 2011 Report Share Posted June 17, 2011 18-19kmpl ? Just checked todays Mid-day (mumbai edition) Honda claims 16.7 ltr/km as FE of its City. You guys can check it too in the online edition' date=' second page of mid-day mumbai edition. [/quote'] Even MSIL claims 19.73kmpl for 800cc Alto, 17.9kmpl for 1.2 k-series Swift but the reality is infront of everybody as the Alto easily delivers 24-25kmpl & Swift 1.2 easily clocks 19-20kmpl in routine Highway usage. Whereas Hyundai-ARAI FE are Over-optimistic always. OHCs, NHC & ANHC easily clocks 18+ kmpl FE figures overall. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 @Dr Nishu: This time I am with Sarabjeet,or maybe you have made a typing mistake. ANHC 18+ overall!!Simply unbelievable,and high revving nature of the car(due to which it works better in lower gears) is like icing on the cake. The City easily delivers 18-19kpl on highways but overall(City+Highways)is about 15-17.AS SARABJEET MENTIONED. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
driftpunk Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Hello everyone till now I was silently reading the justifying posts of the thread in the favour of both the cars. Yes, as Vipul mentioned, I am one of the few owners of ANHC on the forum and I want to prove a point about the fuel efficiency over here which is being discussed as a hot issue. My present usage in city gives me 16.5+ kmpl very regularly. And on highways I generally achieve 21+ kmpl, which is now not a big deal for me. I can share the proofs over here. Or you guys can simply link over to my ownership thread. Ownership Thread Here is the direct link to the video This video link shows getting close to 26.5 kmpl. But what I want to share with all you guys over here is not the fuel efficiency exactly. I want to talk about the i-VTEC technology and the real-time instantaneous fuel consumption meter. The i-VTEC reduces the trade-off between Power and FE to a great-great extent. Now you can have power and FE at the same time. The next thing is the instantaneous fuel consumption meter. Anyone who has driven a car with the instantaneous FE meter can easily comment on this. The effect of pressing the pedal can be seen easily on the meter. In the starting the meter is something you find yourself looking very frequently and adjust the gas-pedal to an optimized level so that the FE and Power - both needs are met simultaneously. But as your journey with your car progresses, you start driving with lesser focus on the FE meter and automatically driving with an optimum pressure on gas-pedal. Your way of driving is changed which not only benefits your car but also your pocket. I am planning to make a video about the FE of ANHC showing the fuel efficiency figures while driving at high speeds. Will take some time but worth for the ACI'ans.driftpunk2011-06-18 17:08:30 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 @Drifty: Bro,the pic and video you show of the display screen is not at all reliable,as I don't do believe it at all.Because I have seen it displaying even 30kmpl when the car was driven by me at 60 in 5th gear(you can also try,just do it for 1 kilometer).But the efficiency I am sharing is the real world efficiency with 100% A/C,driving speeds being 100+,and no effort to get a good FE. And even after that the car gave us 18-19...NOW WHAT DO ONE NEED,as we say"AB KYA BACCHE KI JAAN LOGE"? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted June 18, 2011 Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 As seen in Autocar India Show today, the latter have also declared ANHC as better executed car than New fluidic Verna petrol. @TSIVipul; I you can drive sedately then Honda City(both 3 gen cars) easily delivers 17-18kmpl on mixed usage(75% Highway & 25% City usage). Not alone driftpunk, there're other ACI-ians(rahul1810 & asethi) which are getting brilliant FE from ANHC. One of my neighbour is getting 18+kmpl regularly in his ANHC S-MT on his mixed type usage.dr_nishu2011-06-18 20:52:26 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Varun Varma Posted June 18, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 18, 2011 Eagerly waited for this Compariosn test..here is the Video from Autocar June 2011. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
driftpunk Posted June 19, 2011 Report Share Posted June 19, 2011 @Drifty:Bro' date='the pic and video you show of the display screen is not at all reliable ,as I don't do believe it at all.Because I have seen it displaying even 30kmpl when the car was driven by me at 60 in 5th gear(you can also try,just do it for 1 kilometer).[/quote'] Look closely dude. The tripmeter says 47 kilometers. The FE displayed is for the trip of 47 kilometers. The FE of 30 kmpl that you're saying is instantaneous when you have just reset the meter. So take a close look at the video again and then comment. The FE displayed is for the entire trip. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 @Drifty: You may be right(you are the owner and know the car better than me),but only problem is that you are the only person to claim 20+ in Honda City. Here is my experience:- Meerut-Jaipur-Meerut trip,about 850 km trip(from my home to the place I go),car took-Honda City S. Time taken(including stops)-10 hours 15 minutes. Without stops:About 9 hours 45 minutes. Average Speed:About 87. Top Speed attained:180. Driving Style:No upshifts before 4500rpm.Enthusiastic(Civic Tyres help a lot). FE(calculated by full-empty tank method):About 53 liters for 850kms...MEANS ABOUT 16.1KPL... I think for such driving this is a decent fuel economy. Even then the car most of the time displayed 18.4.But this FE of 26-27 is like mirage,its just for some moments,and if you check it in real world then its far different(I too have an experience of about 20k kms of City). TSiVipul2011-06-20 02:05:54 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vignesh Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 @Tsi Even i got close to 20KMPL in my city!and that was just after delivery of the car!and moreover on the extremely traficky roads connecting Coimbatore to trivandrum! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 I would not be surprised since my Civic gives me 15+ on the highway. However, pedal to-metal drops this down to 11 or so. Also the consumption indicator is about 10% optimistic. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted June 20, 2011 Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 I have received over 20 in highways, Delhi Jaipur, Delhi Agra have all given me above 20 kmpl. If you drive conservatively, without sudden acceleration or braing, you will get excellent mileage. The Mileage maximiser, showing instantaneous consumption gives the same result Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Varun Varma Posted June 20, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 20, 2011 Greetings @TSIVipul...Thanks for your Replies on this thread. As you have mentioned that were a part of the New S ivtec Being bought by ur freind..could you please tell me the benefits and disadvantages of the Civic Tyres v(195/65 R15) Vs(175/65 R15)Â and Alloys being replaced in a New City.. This Sounds very Intresting and Enthusiaistic Driving. It will be Great if you also get some approximate Money that i would need to Pay in return of the Alloys of V MT ivtec to the Civic Tyres. Thanks in advance. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 21, 2011 Report Share Posted June 21, 2011 @Varun: The idea of getting Civic tyres was only because we found the City's tyres a bit too puny for the car.The tyres really were limiting the car's performance andour confidence too.Although the ABS works perfectly in the City but the brakes were still not that much confidence inspiring,because everytime we braked the car hard,we always used to hear a screeching sound from the tyres with tyres trying their best to give up and make the car skid the hell out of her nose.We had already covered about 38k kms in that car,when my second friend decided to go for the City.Next is what happened:- I asked him to go for 'S' variant,and he did so.At the time we took the delivery,we asked the sales guy if he can get us two sets of Civic rims+tyres(five pieces per set)in exchange for City's(only one-the new car).The guy told us that this is possible but we will have to wait for 5-6 days and place an order for that.We did it on the same day and paid about 50k for both the sets(one exchanged and got discount too). Result:The City is now better than the best,the car is now even more planted and brakes have got the enough bite to inspire the confidence.The accelerator is now amongst best friends and yes,there is a slight change in FE too(maybe due to tyres+hard driving style which is now a daily affair). Â Â Â Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted June 21, 2011 Report Share Posted June 21, 2011 @TSiVipul; I think i've also seen ANHC with Civic alloys more than a year back in Patiala but didn't remember how it looked. Do post its pics if you can to show ACI-ians how it looks ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 22, 2011 Report Share Posted June 22, 2011 @Dr Nishu: Since the car is owned by my friend,so I'll have to check out if its available today,if yes then I'll surely get some pics of it. The looks no different in the Civic alloys because there is the difference of only the width of tyres(City's 175 and Civic's 195 section tyres).While the diameter of rims is same(both R15-15 inches,with tyres having profile of 65mm)Hence the Civic tyres too look a bit skinny but performs good and you really need to look closer to differentiate between the way the car looks because the side view is same,only difference can be noticed by viewing the tyres from front or rear and since tyres are just 20mm wider so the difference is also not that much noticeable.But there is a bit too much change in the behavior of the car. Yesterday took the City to Dehradun(My friend's in-laws's place,with him).Tried to drive the City in a economy friendly way by limiting my speed to 100 and yes,this time I got an FE of 19.1(early morning trip-found the entire highway nearly empty).TSiVipul2011-06-22 02:19:56 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived