TSiVipul Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Friends,you may have many times came across some aged people driving their vehicles in very pathetic way or driving it at such a speed that they have all the drivers of the nation following them and as a result the traffic speed which was 80 kph has came down to 40 kph.I am not saying that all the old-age drivers are bad,but what I want to say that most of the old-aged drivers are not able to drive but still they do it and try their best to give out the worst traffic scenarios. Right now my friend visited me and what I saw was that his shining Accord V6 was having even more shiny blue paint and the car's exterior design was changed on the right hand side doors with some new shapes.I asked him whats the matter then the person told me that he was driving his Accord at 60 kph on the road and there was a jealous granny following him in a Accent and since the granny was jealous of the fit and finish of the Accord so she tried to overtake him and gave him a gift on a straight road with no on coming traffic.After the whole incident the granny blamed the guy for sudden braking and when asked that if the guy had braked suddenly then why granny hasn't tailgated his car but bruished it,then granny was out of words and left the spot by saying SORRY!! From this incident I want to bring under the limelight the fact that most of the people(older ones)are unable to drive nicely,they have a weak eyesight,they have weak muscles and their reaction time is also very long,still they drive.Driving,which is a work of extremely high responsibility and needs very much inputs they do it with no input.... Then why don't the government put a license expiry date?TSiVipul2011-06-29 10:56:03 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 What about the rash youngsters. This is very difficult to judge and enforce. I remember that there was a discussion about this on the other forum. One young turk even posted a link of a motorcyclist slamming into the back of a car. When I blew up the flv file, the old men were on an autobahn or something, has clearly indicated that they were pulling right, onto the hard shoulder, were there, and got out of the car, and then the crazy comes and hits them from the back. Who was guilty? I pointed this out and the discussion just petered out. Incidentally there is a license expiry. After the age of 50 it is renewed every five years, subject to medical fitness (which as we know is a joke). sgiitk2011-06-29 11:16:42 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
J.Ravi Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 jealous granny following him in a Accent and since the granny was jealous of the fit and finish of the Accord they have a weak eyesight' date='they have weak muscles and their reaction time is also very long[/quote'] I see the write-up raises the following questions: Was the granny jealous or having weak eyesight+weak muscles+late reaction time or endowed with jealousy plus physical/mental weakness? What was the real cause of the accident? Being jealous or being physically and mentally weak? Can a youngster not have jealousy or is jealousy restricted to grandpas and grandmas only? Rash and negligent drivers, irrespective of age, are found everywhere.J.Ravi2011-06-29 13:32:13 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crazy Doc Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 Stricter drivers test will keep all unfit people out.But nothing is going to happen in this country Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
asethi919 Posted June 29, 2011 Report Share Posted June 29, 2011 I agree with Ravi. This is a very subjective topic and generalizing to such an extent is plain wrong. We cant simply point fingers at one specific age group and say that they are bad drivers and we are better. Idi*ts on road can be found from every age group. Maybe that old lady wasn't a good driver and therefore she was noticed. Another thing to be noticed here is that, there are probably thousands of senior citizens who drive well and therefore are not noticed at all. The only possible solution for this is to have stricter guildelines while issuing licenses and better enforcement of traffic rules. Wishful thinking. asethi9192011-06-29 16:53:18 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 30, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Here is the complete incident which I came to know after I visited granny's house with my friend:- The granny has a fantastic record on the roads and most of the people in the society are fearful of a blue Accent or a puny white M800. The granny told us that she had to take a left turn at the time of accident and she don't know why the car hasn't braked and hit the Accord,after which the car had braked. One eye witness(nearby shopkeeper)told us that both the cars were going slow and suddenly the Accent turned and accelerated hard towards the Accord and hit it.I think granny forgot to put her foot on the brake and pressed the accelerator which resulted in the accident.....NOW WHAT TO DO OF SUCH DRIVERS?WHO EVEN AFTER LEARNING DO SUCH MIRACLES. I agree with you people that ID**TS are of every age group but my point is that these id**ts can be taught and improved by some sort of training and strictness,but what to do in case if the person is PHYSICALLY UNFIT FOR THE CURRENT DRIVING SITUATIONS.I agree that some old people are really great drivers,even the chauffeur of my father is also 53 years old and I am fond of his driving but how will he drive after he will be 63 or 73?Its a fact that old people have a vast experience and have more than enough patience but that don't work here,if you can't clearly see the distance of your car and the one running in front of you,if you can't make sudden twists n the steering to save your car from a collision or pits. Even I have seen old people driving who are unable to even keep the car running straight. I agree with Sgiitk sir too that youngsters are really rash,and I accept it that on my long journeys I am also extremely ignorant and rash too(there is no problem in accepting the truth)but hat I know is that my car is always under my control and same is with most of the youngsters. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Stricter drivers test will keep all unfit people out.But nothing is going to happen in this country IN Europe you get your license till the age of 70 and is then renewed every five years. There is no retest! One eye witness(nearby shopkeeper)told us that both the cars were going slow and suddenly the Accent turned and accelerated hard towards the Accord and hit it.I think granny forgot to put her foot on the brake and pressed the accelerator which resulted in the accident...... I have known this happens with people of all ages. So let us keep the age out of it. ..... I am also extremely ignorant and rash too(there is no problem in accepting the truth)but hat I know is that my car is always under my control and same is with most of the youngsters. The biggest misunderstanding. Firstly, a lot of accidents may due to the other chap. Even with one of strictest tests in the world data from the UK shows that the highest number of accidents happen between three and five years of learning to drive. The most likely reason - the driver has the confidence, but not the ability/experience. On the other hand older drivers tend to be slow (in the UK often referred to weekend motorists), much to the annoyance of others. They normally drive short distances, home to market and back or the like. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nikvint Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 My belief is that, the accident narrated here can happen with anyone. It is just the reflection ratio that are week for the aged person and hence the probability increases. The probability of accident by aged person / inexperience person, also increases due to the rash driving of other drivers on the road. Control on your mind and concentration are the key ingredients to prevent you from accident in panic situation, off course God is always great. All the best. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rahul1810 Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 In this case I dont believe age has anything to do with it. I am 21 and I have faced rashest of drivers both young and old. From what I know in western countries,if a doctor finds some disability, because of which the patient will not be in complete control, like colour blindness, he can get his license seized by DMV. @Vipul Yes you know you are driving a little rash, and you feel that the car is under your control, but thats what the other driver also feels. And this combined makes a deadly concoction! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Sure if 18yrs is the minimum age, 60 should be the max. A 5yrs relaxation could be given to the max. with a clause that someone who knows driving should accompny. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sarabjeet Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 My grandfather use to drive untill his last breath. Anyone who's capable of handling the wheel has the right to drive. He use to believe retirement is for losers and is sort of giving away your freedom. If you are fit and fine you can drive even if your 100. As for health reasons I have seen 30 year olds having strokes. Age isn't a bar for diseases. @vipul : Even though you have your car under your control there are lunatics on streets. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Sure if 18yrs is the minimum age' date=' 60 should be the max. A 5yrs relaxation could be given to the max. with a clause that someone who knows driving should accompny.[/quote']That is great. Academics in full time teaching retire at 65, so they need a driver (an increasingly rare and expensive commodity these days) in their last five years of service. I myself will be 60 in less than a year! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Academics in full time teaching retire at 65' date=' so they need a driver in their last five years of service. I myself will be 60 in less than a year![/quote'] 65 age limit is very-very controvertial. Should have been 58 but the constant push by old timers, Govt was forced to super at 65. As a matter of fact this duration cuts short many budding careers, un-employement is at an all time high. For acedemics, in-campus residences are provided. They should make use of those. This will save both accidents & FUEL(increasingly becoming rare & expensive commodity these days). Most Institutions provide pick & drop facilities from Home. For the future, Computer/robotics driven vehicles may give a new lease of life to those who loose the right to driving license. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brn2Crz Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 I heard it put this way.....I want to die calmly, at peace, in my sleep like my grandfather...and not like the screaming passengers in the back seat. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 I heard it put this way.....I want to die calmly' date=' at peace, in my sleep like my grandfather...and not like the screaming passengers in the back seat.[/quote'] Haha...great sense of humor! P.S: To add to my earlier post, with Lokpal, a bill to make "hartals" illegal should be passed. Anyone indulges, invoke ESMA & throw the chap out. Next time these super-annuaters make hue & cry to inc the retirement age to 70-75, Govt knows how to deal. BornFree2011-06-30 10:24:40 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Durango Dude Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 I heard it put this way.....I want to die calmly' date=' at peace, in my sleep like my grandfather...and not like the screaming passengers in the back seat.[/quote']It must be etched in gold and also printed in the driver's 'quotable quotes' hats off Brn2Crz for coming up with it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 65 age limit is very-very controvertial. Should have been 58 but the constant push by old timers' date=' Govt was forced to super at 65. As a matter of fact this duration cuts short many budding careers, un-employement is at an all time high. For acedemics, in-campus residences are provided. They should make use of those. This will save both accidents & FUEL(increasingly becoming rare & expensive commodity these days). Most Institutions provide pick & drop facilities from Home.[/quote']I am not in favour of 65 either, 65 came because of the increase in Institutions, and a resultant worsening of staff shortage. Where is the unemployment, at least in Engineering. Any Ph.D. or even M.Tech. in Engg will find work for the asking. All including IITs are chronically shot of manpower. State of private colleges is pathetic to say the least, with more that 50% BE's as teachers. Even old style Universities are feeling the crunch. I was shocked to learn that a couple of 75+ Mathematicians (they taught me in 1969-71) were back there as ad hoc teachers in my old Univ. As per GoI rules if you have a house in your place of work, then you are not entitled to any accommodation. Also, most places, incl. the new IITs do not have adequate housing. Pick up and drop - forget it in any sarkari institution. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Durango Dude Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 There is a physician in Chennai, very respected who is say mid eighties who 'just' gave up practice. He used to receive patients, examine them and legibly write out a prescription with his findings and observations. He used to see patients only on referral basis, there were soo many students of his (colleagues must have bitten the dust, most of them) who used to refer clients for his advice. He used to keep up to date and had keen clinical acumen. I think there's room for a sharp mind in an aging body. There are no rules and there are many exceptions. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 I am not in favour of 65 either' date=' 65 came because of the increase in Institutions, and a resultant worsening of staff shortage. Where is the unemployment, at least in Engineering. Any Ph.D. or even M.Tech. in Engg will find work for the asking. All including IITs are chronically shot of manpower. State of private colleges is pathetic to say the least, with more that 50% BE's as teachers. As per GoI rules if you have a house in your place of work, then you are not entitled to any accommodation. Also, most places, incl. the new IITs do not have adequate housing. Pick up and drop - forget it in any sarkari institution.[/quote'] Your first two statements are self-contradictory, first you say staff-shortage then you go on to say where's unemployment! Saar ji walk out of your campus, get in touch with the real India, un-employment is all there is. Post graduate degree holders are pulling rickshaws & boot polishing. Govt policy w.r.t. to increasing retirement age & superannuation have robbed the bleak chances the youth of the Country had. Some institutions are short of staff due to their own policies which are dictated by the Senior staff who feel threatened & in-secure of new ones coming in. Every now & then these to be retiring staff raise hue & cry & arm-twist the Govt into formulating a policy through which the retirement age is further increased. The Tax payers money is squandered on the salaries of super-annuated teachers. Some get in tune of 1L a month, a Univ/college can employ 4 newcomers in this amount easily but sadly the old honcho won't move/oblige/make way. W.r.t to Accommodation, if one has own accommodation, then Conveyance allowance, taxi tariff is paid. IIT's & such institutions have sprawling, 5*accommodations for faculties. Again all at the tax payers cost. All institutions irrespective of being Sarkari/non-sarkari offer Conveyance facility. Its different that some people consider themselves superior & don't want to rub shoulders with the "lesser crowd" that uses Public transport. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted June 30, 2011 Author Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 Bornfree has caught the real point I am mentioning above and I agree with him that people who are 60+ or maximum 65+ must either not be given the licenses or they must get it on the condition that they need a person with a valid license who is not of that age with them. Actually this long reaction time of old people really causes dangerous and uncomfortable situations on the highways as well as cities too. And their so-called safe driving at very slow speed is unsafe for other drivers on the road.Even I have seen an old man indicating after he turned the car in the direction. This people considering themselves special case is not at all applicable to me,because many times I take City Bus to my college with my friends,I drink tea with my drivers and play cars with them too.....DOES IT MAKE ANY EFFECT,BY NOT TRAVELING IN PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION OR EATING AND PLAYING WITH YOUR WORKERS(Note:I never call them servants)? Here is my case: My father's chauffeur who is 53 is serving us for last 13 years and is like a family member now.He is being paid a good 5 figure salary+Accomodation+Food+Phone bill and I think he is amongst the best drivers in the world with a dentless record of more than 2 lac kms(it seems to be unbelievable,but its true).But still we have contracted him till he gets 60-65 after which we will surely get him retired. BornFree2011-06-30 17:07:41 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted June 30, 2011 Report Share Posted June 30, 2011 See its a proven fact that age takes its toll, everybody including us shall pass through this phase. Eye sight becomes weak, hearing hard, teeth loose, bones brittle & if there's some Medical condition along with these, it becomes all the more difficult. I've seen people on the higher side of 60 having heart attacks while at the wheel. Imagine an old person at the wheel & it gets dark, lights from the front are going to worsen the situation. There are many other factors involved here, the body as a whole slows down, reflexes become slow. So not only is it in the interest of general public but for old persons in particular. BornFree2011-06-30 17:04:28 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sgiitk Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 I thought this topic was about old age drivers, and not academic situation. So I will first address this issue. The average age of incidence of MI is declining, and even a 40 year old runs a significant risk, so the argument is a bit far fetched. Anyone can suffer an MI at the wheel, not necessarily a Golden Oldie. Yes, reflexes do slow down and the eyesight is poorer. But then experience helps in prejudging and avoiding most situations, may be not those created by rash and arrogant Sennas Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 Yes, this topic is about old age & driving, you only brought your Academic situation into the picture, to which I replied. When we consider any condition, we usually take into account the Averages & the average of young to Old w.r.t. to Heart ailments has a whooping difference. So, there's nothing far fetched there. Regarding academics: I find no fault with Engineering graduates being hired for academics. There should be a policy regarding retired staff, even the Private institutions should not be allowed to induct them. New jobs should & have to be left for the young un-employed Indian. With conveyance, again we have to take majority into consideration. Nobody can afford personalized arrangements. More than 95% are taking advantage of the existing arrangement. Only few stricken with superiority complex deny to rub shoulders with masses. What else do the academics want, a car with a driver provided by the institution! Won't stop there, they would ask for fuel then! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CYRUS43 Posted July 1, 2011 Report Share Posted July 1, 2011 Can we get back to the issue at hand here please. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brn2Crz Posted July 2, 2011 Report Share Posted July 2, 2011 I favor restricting all drivers in the 16-24 age group. They are not old enough to drive demonstrated by having the dubious distinction of causing more accidents than any other age group until you get to the 75-85 bracket. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived