Car maker's inability to understand their market

asethi919

Just saw the new MS A-Star ad. It shows a girl dropping her date to his house, and as soon as he is gone, another guy pops out of the boot and then joins her at the dront of the car. This is obviously followed up by a ridiculous statement about it representing the NEW GENERATION.

It pisses me off when car companies along with quite a few other products, portray the 'New Generation' to be careless, irresponsible, stupid, promiscuous and carrying a general disregard for everything. Its almost as if because of a few ridiculous examples, the whole generation has been branded like that.

Another example is tha tag line associated with the newly launched ETIOS LIVA.

The tag line I am talking about is 'LIV TMMRW TDY'. Since the car was marketed towards the new generation, it was natural to assume that they cant spell and use this ridiculous sms font.

I am sure you guys can come up with more such examples where the companies and their hired marketing 'experts' are unable to understand their target market at all.

@Mods I couldn't find an existing topic discussing advertisement so I started a new thread. asethi9192011-07-02 10:07:43

I completely agree with the above. I saw the LIva Tagline and was very amused. A very very poor attempt at copywriting and a pathetic attempt to attract a younger generation. I havent seen the A-Star advert as im not in India, but if it is as you described it, it should most certainly be frowned upon.

Has anyone seen that Santro ad in which the husband tells his wife about the features of the car and the wife organises a big function in the house and at last she says"aakhir pehli gaadi hai"..I simply hate this ad,I don't know why but I do.

The ad that I love is(I know this is not the thread to mention it,but still I am mentioning it)the new Tata Nano ad,the ad which has Nano travelling through whole country and then the father hand overs the keys to her daughter the "aapki khushion ki chaabi ad"..I love this ad.

Even I was shocked to see the A Star Ad, can't imagine a worse Ad. There are many Ads can be added to this list, I don't know who approves such *****ic Ads.

Similar rubbish Ads,

Punto owner explaining a Thief,

All Hyundai Ads,

Best being, the First Linea's, All Safari's, Manza's, Nano's..

Ya ads have gone incredibly downhill these days. Remember the Alto's old ad about a couple going to hills for tea on a rainy morning, that was a good ad. Also the complete Maruti ad, with line "Come home in a Maruti" was a good ad.

Even conceptually, Jazz ad was very good. Vista ad was funny.

But the current A-Star ad, Estilo ad, Liva ad are downright disappointing. If someone buys the car getting pulled by these ads, I would rather not meet them.

As mentioned by the winner about the deo ads,here is ons instance:-

A guy from Delhi named something has filed a case against the AXE in the consumer forum that he has been using their deo(every new one)from last 7 years and not even a single girl had ever talked to him or admired his deo..smiley36.gif..now what to do?

Same way:-

Has anyone seen that Beat ad in which a guy gives lift to a girl and then their whole family develops in the journey itself?

I think the topic doesnt match the content of the thread, it should be something like" How Car Co.s Try To Fool The Gullible car buyer". They hire an ad agency, give them an idea what they want to project, and in the end , the message portrayed is something else.

Haven't seen the Ad sethi mentioned, but reading it surely makes it look like a cheap chick flick kind of an ad.

The worst ads have been truly by Hyundai, the hot-tie Urvashi sharma acting like a hyper girl in front of the cachexic anorexic SRK  in i10 ad.

Maruti made some really good ads in the past, the country rides on a maruti, want to go home, The swift ad with the kashmiri looking out of his binoculars, even the new kizashi ad is OK .

The Best ads according to me , was one of the early SX4 ads, the one in which a black SX4 takes on a truck . since I have seen Sx4's intimidating bigger cars on road, this otherwise cheesy ad made a lot of sense

The old safari ad was one of the better ads in the past. Tigers, wildlife reserve,and the car's appeal really gelled well.

Sadly one gets to see ads like Manza's ad which takes potshots at Dzire , and that too when The tsunami had struck. Really bad timing, spoils an otherwise well thought of ad.

The Estilo ad, with the remixed " roop tera mastana" is the most mentally injurious ad . Who would call the Estilo as a attractive design.

Aamir khans ad for the innova, Saif's ad for the Uva were well thought out ads that gave the right message of the cars involved.

For the verito ad, I would have liked Sanju Baba staring down the honker in his typical " Musafir " stubble and swagger, although Jimmy shergill does a great intimidating act .

Hey how about that "Naye Indian ki nayi bike"Hero honda CD-Deluxe ad.The one in which a guy makes his 'New India' call center sitting on a CD-Deluxe!!

How great,even the over-glamorous BPO executives hate that bike..smiley36.gif

And that Hero Honda Hunk ad,in which the Hunk is followed by an Outlander(correct me if it was an another car,since I have not seen TV from last 15 days)on the hills.

But still I like the Splendor NXG ad,"The Yaari ki gaadi one" in which four friends meet in rain on their NXGs.

The new A star advertizment is embarrazing to see when watching TV with parents , what was maruti thinking? 

Actually the splendor NXG looks wacko wereas the CD Dawn looks refreshing and a bit sporties than NXG.

Worst one was that of Mahindra Xylo with tagline 'The era of sedans is over'.

Amongst 2-wheelers the most hilarious one was of CBZ Xtreme & previous ad of Hunk(Bulls vs Hunk).

These were more of like Jokes considering the bikes capabilities.

While Just loved the Swift ad which was aired in initial days after its launch, showing Swift playing Soccer at european streets & Pulsar Mania ads amongst 2-wheelers.

• 3 weeks later...

Has anyone seen that new Maruti Omni ad.The one in which the father and the younger son cleans the car of elder son from outside and then he comes out and says "andar se nahi saaf kari"?

when he opens inside there are gifts for whole family..

Seems like a very mush thought out ad.

Archived