Swift--Diesel or Petrol?

sujith3120

Hey Folks,

I'm just to about to buy my first car. Quite sure that I want the swift, but just confused whether to go for the VDI or the cheaper petrol base LXI. The reason Ive ignored the VXI and LDi is that the price difference is not too huge. I'm at bangalore and the price difference between the LXI ( 4.60lacs)and the VDI(5.70lacs) is about 1.10lacs.

My current daily run would be 25 kms, but I'm not sure if this will increase or decrease in the future. Also, I plan to hit the highway once in 2 months and cover about 800kms on every run. All in all, i think i might cover about 12k to 13k every year.

If I go for the diesel, I might start realising the economy of a diesel only after 3 yrs owing to the diff of 1.10 lacs over the LXI.

The interest portion that i will incur over this 1.10 lacs can be compensated during the re-sale. More over, traffic in bangalore is pathetic and moves at snail's pace. my friends tell me that I may not get more than 10kmpl on the petrol.

So am I right in going for the diesel? You think the additional investment is worth it, considering that I dont cover all that extensively?

Also, the other cars on my mind were

Fabia--Think it will be too expensive, in the range of 6.5-7lacs,so ruled out.

Palio diesel--Unless this is atleast 60-70k cheaper than the swift VDI, with similar features, I'm not sure if it is worth it.

New Indica--Not sure about this, but I'm sure this would not be as good as the Swift and also not so happy with the "taxi" image

Appreciate your valuable feedback.

Cheers,

Sujith

Test drive the VDi. I really like the car - its so silky smooth. I never feel that I'm driving a diesel car. it beats the petrol options of the Swift in most departments. The AC is also very efficient. But the negative aspects are that the car does'nt come with any goodies or freebies. The VXi has more features than the VDi. Also VDi and the LDi have waiting lists. But all this is soon going to end as Palio will be launched in Feb with the same Fiat 1.3 multijet engine. Also soon in 2008, a diesel i10 will be launched. Competition will compel Maruti to offer freebies. The Swift VDi can be bought then, if you can wait.

Palio diesel--Unless this is atleast 60-70k cheaper than the swift VDI' date=' with similar features, I'm not sure if it is worth it.

Cheers,
Sujith[/quote']

I am  not sure if you are kidding buddy, Why would you expect Palio Diesel to be 60-70k cheaper than Swift with similar features. Swift has the Fiat enginer and in fact Palio Diesel is supposed to have a better engine or atleast the same engine. Palio is much more comfortable than Swift and better ride quality, more spacious. To me it looks lot more stylish than Swift. One and ONLY advantage for Swift is their service network period

I'm not kidding harry! If the palio diesel is priced the same as swift, any one buying it would be at a disadvantage owing to the high spare part costs and also the palio diesel would have a much lesser re-sale value in the market compared to the swift.

And dude, the palio is a very good car, agree! but it is a generation old and its interiors are outdated. There is even a talk that there would be a new palio in 2009 or in 2010. On the contrary, the swift was launched in 2005 and is relatively a newer car. So you will lose much more when you sell the Palio than the swift.

Considering all this, in my opinion the palio has be way cheaper than the swift if one has to buy it.

Cheers,

Sujith

Just calculate: You will cover the additional cost of Rs. 1+ lakh and additional cost of servicing only when you have driven the car about 65000 km. Going by your driving (25km a day), this would mean 7 years of driving.

Take a call !

• 3 weeks later...
Hey is the new M series petrol engine comparable to the diesel also since there is no ZDi so is it advisable to wait for Dezire .

With only 13k per year the series of the petrol is irrelevant. We can expect any new block (esp if it a Alloy) to be as good as the its predecessor.

Unless you do about 15-20k per annum considering the diesel does not make sense, even if one neglects the NVH issues. Only in cars like the Verna where the petrol is a joke does the issue arise.

Folks' date='
any idea if Maruti is coming up with a ZDi variant for the Swift?

After the Launch of Fabia , i think maruti might come up with the idea of ZDi model , but The launch of Swift sedan in Petrol and diesel engine , so marutis might not bring in thier ZDi varaint , but still the HOPES are On , , the VDi Variant of Swift Sedan (Dezire ) might cost around  5.8 lakhs Ex showrrom and The ZDi model of Swift Hatch Will cost around the same price , so got to wait and watch and see what maruti is upto , till then

Cheers!!!

• 3 weeks later...

how much is the mileage for Swift Petrol?

By how many kms should i expect to break even for Swift diesel?

how much is the Mileage difference in i 10 and Swift petrol?

as you do only 13k kms per year i dont think the Vdi is really advisable ' date=' i think you should go in for the Petrol one either the LXi or the Vxi , if u plan to incraese your ANual kms to 15k then buy VDi or LDi

Apart from this which one is better highway cruser because Diesel has good in gear accleration and a FE of 19kpl but in city it gives 14kpl so both ways it looks better I am also confused to go for VDi or ZXi smiley5.gif

Also if buying VDi then it will be VDi ABS with music system alloy wheels and parcel tray which is a whooping 50k more so will it cover ZXi if monthly running is 600-800km and will keep it for 6 years.

At 600-800km per month, i.e. <11,000km per annum the extra cost (initial and maintenance) the the diesel does not make sense. I know the dieselheads may disagree, but hey are entitled to their opinion and I to mine. Unless you do at least 15,00-20,00per year forget the diesel.

• 2 weeks later...

Archived