Mo.Faeq Posted November 27, 2011 Report Share Posted November 27, 2011 With the new trend of delivering all the safety measures like ABS,EBD,ESP etc.are accidents on the Indian roads actually decreasing? Let's hope so that these measures will save the lives of the people who spend their penny to get these features.What do you guys think? Is It really helping in declining road accidents?! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Durango Dude Posted November 27, 2011 Report Share Posted November 27, 2011 All these safety features can't replace the ***** behind the wheel, who is the prime reason for all accidents, coupled with the roads, obstacles, holy cows and fellow citizens and of course those on cell phones while crossing the road and at the wheel and also drunken driving. On the same note why do we need newer cars at all, Mo.Faeq we could do with the old Amby and Premier's and be happy to trundle along like we have been a few decades ago. I have been driving a car with all the above features for the last six years and you will know the difference once you are in a panic braking situation. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mo.Faeq Posted November 27, 2011 Author Report Share Posted November 27, 2011 Haha,rightly pointed out sir! But,I think the safety measures are worth it and as rightly said by CEAT tyres that 'The Streets Are Filled With *****' let's hope that we get to see less of accidents in any sense whether it be our holy cows,Underage/Drunken driving etc. Drive Safe, Drive Hard! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted November 28, 2011 Report Share Posted November 28, 2011 Well,ABS,Airbags and ESP are really important features because they can give the ***** behind the wheel an another chance to get behind the wheel and improve his mistakes. Rest,these features are not bought from cash,but they are bought from feelings,the feeling of being safe in our cars,the feeling of keeping our loved ones safe. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mo.Faeq Posted November 28, 2011 Author Report Share Posted November 28, 2011 Oh My Goodness this was a general post and all of you guys are really getting offensive,I'm not saying that ABS,EBD,ESP are not useful I'm just asking whether they are declining the road accidents and you guys took it in a wrong manner/way.I'm sorry for hurting your feelings,guys.Like Real Bad. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 @Mo.Faeq: Actually there is a reason for taking the things in a wrong way.Whenever I advise anyone to buy some or some other car then I ask them to get the variant with ABS and Airbags but what they people do is,they get the variant which has A/C,power windows,ICE system etc and then come to me for showing their faces saying "Yaar,ABS and Airbags felt like a waste of money to me,life and death is in God's hands". And I simply give them a dirty look and say "May God bless you". I know what you are saying,ABS airbags,EBD,ESP etc etc really helps reducing road mortality rate.We people understand it,but others don't. Even those salesmen too say most of the time "Sir,ABS and airbags are of no use,its just a waste of the money".Then I simply ask them "Toh brakes bhi hata de yaar(then remove brakes too)". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sachins Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 @Mo.Faeq Yes, i would say that features like ABS, airbags etc are important nowdays considering that you can control your own driving/faults but not of others. However, yes i do also agree that these features can't bring down the number of accidents as they are more of passive safety features. But i guess we all are to blame for the unsafe env we drive it today's world. I have never come to terms with any reason/logic which can explain people driving in high speed leading to accidents. I only lesson i have learnt in all these years i have been driving is to consider that everybody around you can make a mistake while driving, so you need to adapt your driving style to nullify it as much as possible. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mo.Faeq Posted November 29, 2011 Author Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 @Mo.Faeq:Actually there is a reason for taking the things in a wrong way.Whenever I advise anyone to buy some or some other car then I ask them to get the variant with ABS and Airbags but what they people do is' date='they get the variant which has A/C,power windows,ICE system etc and then come to me for showing their faces saying "Yaar,ABS and Airbags felt like a waste of money to me,life and death is in God's hands". And I simply give them a dirty look and say "May God bless you". I know what you are saying,ABS airbags,EBD,ESP etc etc really helps reducing road mortality rate.We people understand it,but others don't. Even those salesmen too say most of the time "Sir,ABS and airbags are of no use,its just a waste of the money".Then I simply ask them "Toh brakes bhi hata de yaar(then remove brakes too)".[/quote'] The last line was really cool,TOH BRAKES BHI HATA DO!! HAHA. By the way I was not in a good mood in the last post,I'm sorry Bruv. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rameshbabu.n Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Not withstanding the benefits that these `safety' features offer, I rarely find that the accidents have come down due to these. Of course, these two are highly dynamic and difficult to estimate. The reasons for the accidents are the multi-fold increase of vehicles (with more power) and multi-fold increase of drivers with DLs obtained thru all sorts of methods. Strictly speaking, more than half of the current set of chaps driving cars are unfit to be holding a DL. But, thanks to the way in which RTA does the job, even blind people can get DLs today. That's the main root cause for so many accidents on the road. And, very rarely, car owners `really read' the manuals and other instructions. How do you expect these chaps to be good drivers. Of course, cars are now well equipped. But, these chaps are not. So, the usefulness of ABS etc., etc., are never in doubt. Only the way in which these chaps use the cars is doubtful. Personally, I do not have any experience with ABS etc., etc., and so, I can not comment on the efficacy of these features. But, I believe, they are good and desired in a modern car. Despite not having these, I have never found the need for having them in any of my four cars (two sold off). Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 @Rameshbabu: +1 to you for the fact that DLs are not a showpiece,but they are your certificate that you are eligible to take the responsibility of your as well as other's life on the roads.And hence the criteria for getting the DL must be changed and hardened too. About the use of ABS and Airbags,in my views these are even more important for *****(I call them I-International D-Developers O-Of I-Indian O-Official T-Talent) as they are the only people who do panic braking,sudden lane changes etc etc. Rest I am sure you are an extremely careful driver as well as you are having enough patience that you are never in a hurry.But the story with me is quite different.Why?Because its a fact that as your speed increases,your coverage area decreases and at last you are just able to notice whats on the road,not what is outside.Any doubt?If yes,then just today once cross 120 kph mark in your Xylo and then you will understand what I mean. Since I often do long journeys in my car all alone,so I can't believe anyone else except me and my car and hence ABS and Airbags are most important features.TSiVipul2011-11-29 08:54:36 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rameshbabu.n Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 KINDLY READ THE OTHER THREAD `Topic: Mercedes Exposed Posted: 21 Nov 2011 at 1:20pm' It will give you more insight. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mo.Faeq Posted November 29, 2011 Author Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 Believe me I'm a class XIth student who currently drive an Activa with a legit Non-Gear license.I just learned driving a 4-wheeler(MARUTI 800) but my father does not allow me to drive it on roads as he's a person who does not do illegal things on the other hand my elder brother who is currently doing his Engg.has a permanent license but he doesn't knows how to drive a car! It's the other way round. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TSiVipul Posted November 29, 2011 Report Share Posted November 29, 2011 @Rameshbabu: Now no more comments from me on this topic.Why? Because I don't want to make an argument on someone's death.I myself have experienced what it feels to lose your loved ones in an accident. Rest its the technology that is meant to help us and it can fail too. Have a look at this,this happened to me only:- Innova's ABS failure Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sarabjeet Posted November 30, 2011 Report Share Posted November 30, 2011 no. The real credit goes to (at least in Maharashtra) Traffic Police. After 10 pm these guys stand on the roads with breath analyzers. Not only this, they are very stick these days about people talking on mobile phones and people wear seat belts. I remember this incident where they had stopped my friend and requested him to first finish talking on the phone and then continue to drive. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived