So I recently got a XUV500. My driver complained about poor visibility with the stock lights on the highway, so dad decided to get HID light installed in the car.

Problem - While the low-beam HID lights work fine, during the high-beam there is a shadow right in the middle of the light.

The reason of the shadow is the daytime running lamps like found on Audi cars on the XUV500. At least this is what the shopkeeper told me. Due to this, visibility is affected heavily especially on highway.

What I want to know is, whether the shopkeeper is right or not? The issue does seem genuine to me, but I am a noob in all this. The shopkeeper tells me he can install some all season light instead of this HID, in which the shadow issue will not exist since the light will be yellow in color.

Any help from any Autocar forum member will be appreciated. If anyone here lives in Kolkata and can help me with this issue, I will greatly appreciate it.

Don't wanna screw my XUV500 due to a shopkeeper. :\

I read in some fellow XUV user's ownership report in Team-BHP.com that the shadow in the headlamp was rectified in the Mahindra workshop. Please do take your XUV there and see whether you can fix it. Else do check whether a Xenon or HID lamp is available for the XUV in the market.

By the way we too own an XUV and do share what variant and color you own. Also point out if you have any niggles with your car if you are willing. How is the braking? Our car(almost every XUV) gives a grinding noise under hard braking.

Installing HID can be a good option; but as your post says there is shadow problem!

So, I'ld like to suggest you to install Rally Style Fog lamps on Bumper & on Roof! This'll not only provide you exellent visiblity, but also add a charm to your beast!

... suggest you to install Rally Style Fog lamps on Bumper & on Roof !...

I wonder whether that would be nice ? On the roof and on the bumper.

It would certainly spoil the looks and even damage the original stuff.