scorpionragha Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 Here is thread where we can discuss post pics of hotly anticipated mini SUV the FORD ECOSPORT. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PrancingHorse Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 To start of with here is a video review of the Ecosport done by Autocar India Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ForzaItalia Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 The vehicle exterior and interior are fantastic. That being said, I'm quite curious to see on how they've managed to shave off close to 250mm in the length of the Global vehicle, to bring it under 4m. The bumpers might be a lot flatter on the Indian spec Ecosport Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scorpionragha Posted September 13, 2012 Author Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 Here are some pics. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PrancingHorse Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 I think this will go head to head with the Mahindra Quanto. I prefer the looks of this too over the Quanto. It looks more SUVish. I reserve my final opinion till i see it in the flesh though. A good price and cheap spares should make it a success. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AMG1 Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 all depends on pricing, if Ford prices this over 8 lakh ex-showroom, this will sell only as much as the Fiesta does. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CarCrazyASTL Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 I think it's going to be a huge hit, as I haven't seen such hype for any upcoming car! How many special disscusion threads are/were avalaible for any other upcoming cars? But at ACI forum, we all are educated & had lots of intrest about automobiles, I wonder how grass-root people will react to this? (Though, it got huge responce in auto expo, but person visiting to auto-expo is also passionated about cars!) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CarCrazyASTL Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 @Mods, please post this thread on FB, so we can know common man's response! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scorpionragha Posted September 13, 2012 Author Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 When i enquired about the pricing in ford dealership, they said petrol ex showroom rs 7-9lakhs, diesel 8-10lakhs. I personally feel that top end variant petrol will be around rs 9lakhs, diesel will be around rs 10 lakhs.(ex.sh) Dont expect it be priced lower than this. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bhavneet Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 It sure will be a head-turner, but if the pricing is not right it will be an utter disappointment ! Eagerly waiting for it! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BonFre Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 Ford for God's sakes "get the pricing right"! I assume they've learn't their lessons from the current Fiesta pretty well. Ford needs a bread & butter model now, Figo is ageing fast, what better than Eco-sport. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted September 13, 2012 Report Share Posted September 13, 2012 The vehicle exterior and interior are fantastic. That being said, I'm quite curious to see on how they've managed to shave off close to 250mm in the length of the Global vehicle, to bring it under 4m. The bumpers might be a lot flatter on the Indian spec Ecosport Its 4250mm extra length measured in other countries is including its Spare wheel mounted on its tail-gate, while in India for sub 4-metre small car norms, measurement of spare wheel is excluded. What i mean to say here is that its actual body/chassis length including bumpers is quite near to 4m & its bumpers need to be shaved only by few millimetres to achieve 4m length mark. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CarCrazyASTL Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 If they manage to add a working scoop on bonnet, it'll look awsome! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
photoauto Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 With Media hype they have created and attention they have managed to get, its going to receive overwhelming response for sure. Also 1 liter Eeco Boost engine is going to win many heart by its mileage and performance figures. IMO, EcoSport will have more petrol buyers than diesel. Irrespective of pricing, its a instant hit for sure but in long run prices will play their role. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sachins Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 As said by many people, pricing is going to be the "key" factor deciding it's success. As shown in ACI video, it's got good ride and handling (as most fords), will have FE engines and looks. However, i have my reservations on the pricing because if they price it at par or below new fiesta then they can very well shutdown new fiesta's assembly lines as nobody will even consider it when a more competent product is available at less/same price. But somehow i feel ford is going to price it on the higher side. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KarthickB Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 Does anybody know when exactly the Ecosport is going to be launched? Some reports suggest early 2013 launch, while others hint on a diwali launch. Can anyone throw some light? People discussing about the pricing are bang on target, the price alone will seal its success here in India. It has got everything - Butch looks, a pair of great engines, good space and top notch dynamics. Pricing of this product eventually decides the fate of its stint in our market. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 I expect this car to undercut Renault Duster by atleast Rs.50k(~Rs.7.5 lacs for base dieseI) & that's the only price brand where Ford can fetch the max out of it else below that price band there'll be Mahindra Quanto(mini xylo) while beyond that it have to fight with Duster & its own sibling new Fiesta sedan. So, pricing will really be a very crucial aspect to decide the fate of this car. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted September 14, 2012 Report Share Posted September 14, 2012 Does anybody know when exactly the Ecosport is going to be launched? Some reports suggest early 2013 launch, while others hint on a diwali launch. Can anyone throw some light? Expect it to arrive it in showrooms by Q1 2013, not before that. If they manage to add a working scoop on bonnet, it'll look awsome! A dummy Air scoop on bonnet can be imagined but a working one is a remote possibility, as it's having its intercooler mounted at the base of the front grille(like endeavour), so for what it needs a working scoop on the bonnet top. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ForzaItalia Posted September 15, 2012 Report Share Posted September 15, 2012 Its 4250mm extra length measured in other countries is including its Spare wheel mounted on its tail-gate, while in India for sub 4-metre small car norms, measurement of spare wheel is excluded. What i mean to say here is that its actual body/chassis length including bumpers is quite near to 4m & its bumpers need to be shaved only by few millimetres to achieve 4m length mark. That's true. All I was trying to imply is that the Ecosport will need some rework for India, to fall under the 4m bracket. Out of the 4241mm length of the Brazilian Ecosport, I would imagine they would shave off at least 200mm for the wheel. The other 40-50mm would have to be adjusted with the overhangs, whether it be a different front or rear bumper.The rear overhang already being at the bare minimum, I'd assume the bumper/grille might be a little different from India. Retaining the same style, but a bit flatter than the global design. With the Ecoboost engine due to be localised here, I would expect Ford to have learnt something from the success of the Figo as against the Fiesta disaster, to arrive with a very appealing pricetag. The rear, as we've seen from the Autocar India test also, is not necessarily "roomy" and the ingress/egress might be a bit of a task for chauffeur driven India because of the relatively smaller rear doors. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scorpionragha Posted September 15, 2012 Author Report Share Posted September 15, 2012 I expect this car to undercut Renault Duster by atleast Rs.50k(~Rs.7.5 lacs for base dieseI) & that's the only price brand where Ford can fetch the max out of it else below that price band there'll be Mahindra Quanto(mini xylo) while beyond that it have to fight with Duster & its own sibling new Fiesta sedan. So, pricing will really be a very crucial aspect to decide the fate of this car. I agree with your view. I too think that ford ecosport will be priced lesser than duster,because of its 4meter length advantage. I think it will be either at par or lesser than the new fiesta pricing. But hope so it will be priced below new fiesta. I am 99% sure to purchase this mini SUV when its launched.We are going to replace our old fiesta 2009 tdci which has crossed over 1lakh km with this BABY MONSTER. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scorpionragha Posted September 15, 2012 Author Report Share Posted September 15, 2012 The vehicle exterior and interior are fantastic. That being said, I'm quite curious to see on how they've managed to shave off close to 250mm in the length of the Global vehicle, to bring it under 4m. The bumpers might be a lot flatter on the Indian spec Ecosport Brazilian ford website shows the ecosport length to be 4241mm(including the rear spare tyre) So actual length of vehicle without rear spare tyre will be 4241mm-205mm(widgth of spare tyre)+20mm(space between rear spare tyre and body of the vehicle)= 4241-4225=4016mm. 4016mm is nearly 2cm above 4metre. So it will not be very difficult to alter 2-3cms.Also interior space will be nearly equal to brazilian vehicle. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dr_nishu Posted September 26, 2012 Report Share Posted September 26, 2012 Ford Ecosport trial production to begin in Feb-March 2013, launch thereafter. @scorpionragha; Thanks for posting in a very Informative way. keep it up. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arjun_M Posted September 30, 2012 Report Share Posted September 30, 2012 Is a four-wheel drive expected anytime soon? That will surely dent the sales of both the Duster (does not have one) and the Scorpio (only decently-affordable one), both priced higher. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lovemycar Posted September 30, 2012 Report Share Posted September 30, 2012 As per ACI Video Reviews, the complete package seems fit for Indian Mid/upper Mid class families. Two factors will decide its success 1 " its launch time, more the company will delay more the options the customers will get" Diwali is a good season for Indian Shoppers.. 2 " Price Strategy (hopefully not Skimming like other ford cars), it should be Penetration Strategy (To survive competition from Ertiga, Quanto, Duster, Evalia etc) if Ford want to set up it into Customer's Minds the right price tag can be petrol 5.5 to 7 and for Dsl it should be 6 to 8L".. Just Think for 1L Petrol or 1.4 or 1.5 L Dsl engine who will shed 8 to 10 lakh rupees. Indian Customers are now very much literate for technology... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sachins Posted October 12, 2012 Report Share Posted October 12, 2012 In the ACI review, width of EcoSport is mentioned as 2060 mm. Is this specification confirmed because it seems to too wide for it's segment. I mean if that's the case then it would be the widest SUV considering all the current options available in market (Safari/Fortuner etc). Also, the interior space shown in different pics doesn't make it look that wide. Your comments pls? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived