Renault Duster Petrol RxL : Rs. 8.93 lakhs

Renault Duster Diesel 85 RxE : Rs. 8.73 lakhs

Renault Duster Diesel 85 PS RxL : Rs. 9.73 lakhs

Renault Duster Diesel 85 PS RxL with Navigation : Rs. 10.96 lakhs

Renault Duster Diesel 110 PS RxL : Rs. 10.75 lakhs

Renault Duster Diesel 110 PS RxZ : Rs. 11.65 lakhs

Renault Duster Diesel 110 PS RxZ with Navigation : Rs. 12.18 lakhs

Source: motorbash

Just consider, one can get a pretty decently loaded ES Trend variant for less than the price of entry level petrol Duster

Some urgent price correction/move needed from Duster to save it now.

• Replies 261
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Ford you did good job as a company. However, your work not finished yet , please improve your dealer network and work environment, educate work ethics, customer services and last and most important cost of service and spare parts must be customer's pocket friendly.

Ford you will rock and the product Eco sports can beat the swift. Little crazy that you not encouraging 1lit Eco sports as the price is little bit more than expected.

In my assessment, this will be the new entry level SUV for the masses.

This pricing is surely going to eat into the waiting list of Amaze.

It will do to Duster what Duster did to the sales of bigger SUVs from the house of Mahindras.

Nissans Terrano will now have an even difficult time for itself when it comes.

VWs Polos raised hatch will be a dud because of its expected premium pricing.

Quantos dismal run will get even worse.

Hatches will surely be on top of EcoSports hit list.

People will be happy to switch to this product. Surely ,A killer on prawl in the Indian auto market , will eat products across segments.

This car can be a segment slayer because its got the image, looks, frugral engines and is fun to drive . I expect it to eat into hatchbacks from Ritz onwards till the Duster segment . I expect healthy figures above 10k units per month even after initial hype is gone. I am gonna TD one today itself and I really like the Ecoboost engine atleast on specs and may consider buying it in Jan 2014.

Gosh! I am really happy for Ford and they have literally made a segment killer . Even in July months ACI the expected ex-showroom prices are 11.5 lakhs almost 3 lakhs more than what it is . The editor was crazy happy yesterday in the World (something) show on bloomberg , I expected on road Mumbai pricing for base petrol to be around 7.5 but it seems that is it 6.75 lakhs . I mean that a killer pricing and I can accept a bit low rent interior quality at that price. Tell you what this is the best time if you have the money to open a Ford service centre :D .

Ford has proved that it still carries the same genes from its founder, the legendary Henry Ford. He brought in the Ford Model T at a price of ~USD 850 when all other cars used to command a price of minimum USD 1500 USD. Exciting times for Ford for sure as after almost 2 decades that they have been present here, they have finally understood the Indian psyche. They have ensured that EcoSport eats into not only the compact SUV segment but provides inspirational value to buyers across the sub 10 lac category. I also saw an interview with Mr Joginder Singh, the President and Managing Director of Ford India on one of the leading news channels and I must say that the guy speaks from the heart. Kudos Mr Singh and may you have many more reasons to rejoice in future. Your team has given India what it truly deserved, a good product at a reasonable price.

Finally the most talked off and most awaited compact SUV has been launched at an aggressive price tag of 5.59 lakhs !!!!

Since FORD ECOSPORT had been compared and lined up along with RENAULT DUSTER and many talks and debates had been made and still going on among the auto freak experts , but what actual impact the car is gonna make on the market is yet to arrive .Since price tag is so attractive that the mid car size buyers can think off going for it.

Renault launched its compact SUV and that got a grand opening and a huge success and it was also launched with an aggressive price of 7.99 lakhs :huh: , a price that can attract buyers easily, compared to the trend followed price of past rulers!!!!! It made a remarkable position in the market and still ruling the market !! But can we expect the same trend will be followed now with the launch of FORD ECOSPORT, as it has also launched at some what much lower price as compared to duster.

Looking to the technical specification of FORD, it has an overall length of 3999 mm and a wheel base of 2520 mm, slightly less than that of DUSTER. As per talks in the auto world , ford has launched this new boy with a 1.0 ltr. petrol engine of 999 cc delivering 125 ps @6300 rpm !!! Now talking of a SUV with a 999cc engine will be really remarkable and that can be judged only after after sales feedback from the owners. B) Apart from this the car will be coming with both diesel and petrol variant with 1.5 ltr. petrol engine delivering 112ps@6000rpm, somewhat near to its competitor.

Talking of mileage the car will be running with an avg mileage of 17-19 kmpl depending on the road conditions. But a little more can be expected from the diesel variant as it is loaded with the same TDCi engine of FORD Fiesta !! that gave a good response in terms of mileage !!

ON a whole what level of competition this new muscular boy of FORD will be giving to the market ruler can be judge only after we can get the sales figures !!!

Is this is the fine line what the customer fails to understand while buying a New car !

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.483385641742678.1073741836.165615923519653&type=1

When he actually needs a hatchback or a sedan & buys a SUV, just because of its looks & Ground clearance(just in an illusion that he often gonna climb the dividers of avoid road traffic).

So judge your driving style & needs & then Select your car wisely.

IMO the Duster was priced too high from the begining and I could accept the price of 13 lakhs on road when it was launched because the plastics were really not fit for the segment . Also the light build and the filmsy cladding wasn't promising. May I was finding mistakes from it because it is one of the cheapest cars in EU but I expected the on road price no more than 10 lakhs for top end. The car is not so high either the Santro parked next to it is of same height.

Coming to the Ecosport I got a good lecture from my dad when we discussed about it while driving my car . He was explaining me the new Eco-boost engine and all the technologies (I kept mum.... :D ) . Ford has really been done awesome advertizing (competition to Polo AD's) and aam junta (my dad is one of them :wub: ) is aware of it . He is ready to book the 1.0 titanium when I told him the price he was like what max it will cost 7 on road (Ford please mention ex-showroom price on adv for eco-boost too) but it is 8.6 on road Mumbai.

Test Driven Ford EcoSport yesterday.

My Review:

Looks: It has got really 11 on 10 looks & is most standout car among cars below Rs.10 lacs range.

Interiors: I've seen both Top-end TITANIUM+ & Trend(2nd) variant & will say 2nd variant is equally good & desirable as top-end variant. Where 1st 2 variants scores in Interiors simplicity & color contrast theme, top-end variants score well in features & equipment list.

Personally i liked Trend variant more due to its Light Grey-Black theme than whole dark in top-end TITANIUM variants.

Its USB/Aux-in/FM/Bluetooth equipped Music system is also more better appealing than complex TITANIUM unit.

Seat fabric design is again great in all the variants. Interior space is also good but i found the Rear seat backrest too inclined for a tall designed car or in other way, I felt the absence of rear seat armrest.

Drive:

Engine noise, vibration is well controlled & is quite impressive for a car of this type & engine size.

Acceleration is also good. Body stiffness is again very good & it feels that one is driving a quite solid car.

But what the biggest shortcoming i felt in it is its Narrow cabin & hence road stability. Till the speeds of 80-90kmph its quite stable, but after that it shows that this car is really high with its Relatively high center of gravity. So, advice for all is that if one wants to buy it instead of sedan or low-hatchback, then this is not the car for you as you don't expect continuous high-speed Highway drives of 120+kmph from this car or it would be better to control your speed skills.

Rest all is well, including AC, Brakes, etc.

Pathetic things:

-Ford has really stripped off this car, even its Engine top cover is provided as Accessory, which is standard equipment in even Ford Figo.

-Another biggest one is the mandatory accessory package of Rs.30-40k(varies from state dealers), which is really rip-off by the dealer. This has been experienced by many members here.

But i really appraise Ford India for marketing it correctly as 'Urban SUV', as it's best suited for Urban speeds.

I am seriously considering this as my next buy. The article on Autocar would surely help in choosing the right variant

My wishlist:

Though a Diesel Auto would have been my choice , If not that, atleast the EcoBoost Engine option should have come with an AT, personally liked the Yellow colour as i think it makes it look even larger than it is visually .

Also this mandatory Accessories package is an over kill , tell me what more would you want if you are opting for the Titanium Variant ? Does it apply only to lesser variants ?

Still very hard to resist the deal.

Will recent purchasers of Amaze and Dzire be repenting on their purchase decisions ?

The most talked car Ford Ecosports came with a eye catchy price tag of 5.59 lakhs !!!!

Ford one of the key player in the auto world coming with its first compact SUV with such a price tag,can make it the ruler in this car segment.

Talks about the launch has now also included that Ford has followed the price strategy same as the Renault followed during the launch of Duster!! the current ruler in the segment!!Duster was also introduced with a mid car segment price tag of 7.9 lakhs, and that made it a key player in the auto market and helped renault to re-establish its image as as independent player in the market !!

So can we expect the same from the Ford ! :huh: as such ford is established in India since long time and has played well in the market with some of its iconic cars like Ford Icon, Ford Feista , Ford Figo and now with Ford Ecosport, can we expect the same trend or it can simply become the ruler of the compact suv segment.

Loking to the experts talks the car will be a tough rival to the current ruler, but the final outcome can only be judged by comparing the sales figure of both !!! B)

Hello everyone..

I have written the test drive of the ford ecosport tdci earlier. Last week I had a chance to test drive the tdci version on four lane highway....Impressions- Actually the car moves fast to 130kmph after that the progress is very slow(new fiesta goes effortless till 150kmph then the progress slow) definetly feels slightly underpowered when compared to fiesta, may be due to high kerb weight. Did a top speed of 165kmph (this is just for test drive). Car felt stable.Braking was excellent.

1.0 litre ecoboost drive impressions- Felt certainly more powerful than diesel. Vibrations from the 3 cylinder engine is not felt like regular 3 cylinder one. Actually quite.Higher revs there is a audible noise from engine (actually I liked the sound).Had a good pick up. I felt the turbo lag. But was not a problem if we know to handle the turbo charged engine. Keep the engine revs between 1500-4500 rpm torque & turbo keeps the engine fast. Able to do only 100kmph.

My first spotting of EcoSport on delhi roads

A Black coloured EcoSport passed me in the opposite lane today , the vehicle looked stunning and ample in size and what i found different from all that i has seen in pics from before was that the rear door mounted spare wheel was wrapped in a casing that had EcoSport written over it in very pronounced text , much like the old Safari spare wheel casing.

Is this also part of the compulsory accessory package ?

• 2 weeks later...

Nice catch.

While recall is understandable why did they have to stall bookings

How does relocating the Glow Pug Module amount to stalling bookings ? is what i am thinking.

So much for the year long testing ;) or may be they are getting test results now.

While recall is understandable why did they have to stall bookings

Exactly, if Ford has spotted the problem then i guess newly manufactured units should have this addressed by default.

So what's the point in stopping diesel ES bookings, is there something more to this?

On another note, just when everything was looking rosy for Ford, this has happened.

This will surely have some negative impact on prospective ES buyers.

Few more points.

Recall is appreciated from Ford and since ES has just been launched so damage control should be much easier (read somewhere that around 900+ diesel ES are affected).

However, i am still surprised how the glow plug control module issue was not detected in their testing.

Ford says this control module sits in front bumper in ES and now will be relocated to a higher position in engine bay to aviod moisture.

But they have this same diesel engine in Figo, Classic, Fiesta and this issue never occurred in them and these all sit low compared to ES.

Did they change something specifically for ES?

Certainly the things might work affirmatively for Ford. Becoming the news topper and launching the much awaited car with such an aggressive price and then in the starting months only, recalling the diesel varient , in commons man's thought create a negative impact!!!! :wacko: Things might not effect the car freak people but for some serious buyers who are eying for an upgrade from a small hatchback to a budget SUV, such news can will create a second though in their mind.

Since ES is using the same engine of Ford Iconic Feista then also recalling the car for relocation of control module to a better position in the front bumper, gives a feeling whether this is the only case or the car is been recalled for some other issues !!

Apart if this is the only case for the recall then during the concept design why it was not taken care off !! :huh:

i have a feeling that if the waiting period as stated in various forums would not have been so long (6 to 9 months and even more) for certain models (especially Ecoboost), there would have been many more buyers ready with the bookings. The production is not likely to be ramped up so much so quickly. Otherwise it had all the things in the making to become the best seller in the UV segment Duster would benifit to certain extent our of this.

How does relocating the Glow Pug Module amount to stalling bookings ? is what i am thinking.

Perhaps this is something someone has to personally go and check, but it sounds logical to me as diesel sells more in India and if you have a faulty diesel car then it makes more bad noise in the market to scrap company's image.

So they rightly thought about to stop booking.

Ford Eco Sport standing upto the expected result. Current figures saying that the booking has crossed 30000 units.

This is indeed a very good start to Ford and this might help ford in grabing good percentage of market in the compact SUV segment.

The figures can easily reflect that the news of recall of diesel varient has been overshadowed and people are keen to grab one !!!

Ford indeed is having a good time to mark its presence again !!! B)

Archived