CarCrazyASTL Posted September 18, 2012 Report Share Posted September 18, 2012 Though It's extremely wll-build & has top-notch quality, many of us even don't remember it! YES; I'm talikng about the Kizashi! It was launched last year because the largest automaker in India suddenly developed ambitions to succeed in the premium car market. The Suzuki Kizashi a.k.a Maruti Suzuki’s failed attempt to enter the premium car market is down in the dumps. To give it one final push, Maruti Suzuki is offering a whopping 3 lakh rupee discount on the Kizashi to lure the buyers during festive season. However, not learning from its previous mistakes, Maruti Suzuki decided to fully import the Kizashi thus sky rocketing the price tag. An import duty of over 100% meant the price tag was literally double the actual price.At a price of 17.12 lakhs, there were hardly any buyer for a car that is powered by a 2.4L petrol engine. The Kizashi saw a stupendous 85 per cent drop in sales in the April-August period where the sales stood at just 23 units. Last year, during the same period, Maruti Suzuki sold close to 157 units. Now, Maruti Suzuki wants to test the success by reducing the price of the Kizashi. The automaker also expressed its intention of making way for a local assembly if the price-reduction tactic works well. Don’t expect any major shakedown in Kizashi’s number because of the price reduction. Even at a price of 14 lakhs (after discounting the 3 lakhs), the Kizashi is very much overpriced. The 2.4L petrol engine put a drain hole on your wallet and as for the brand image, there’s isn’t much.Exclusivity – well yes! That works in Kizashi’s favor! Share your views on it! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rameshbabu.n Posted September 19, 2012 Report Share Posted September 19, 2012 Oh. Till I read this thread, I totally forgot about a model known as Kizashi. Such was the total flop show by this product. Notwithstanding the 3 lakh discount, I doubt any uptrend in the sales. At the post-discount price, there are plenty of options, diesel ones too, in the market. And, MS should offer a five-year-all-expenses-included service free with this bomber. Only then, there could be some respite. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
PrancingHorse Posted September 20, 2012 Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 I knew from day one that the Kizashi would not work. It was overpriced and a petrol as well. Its a known fact that no one really wants to pay a high price for a Maruti. From the time that it has been launched I have seen just 2 cars on the road. I jokingly termed it an an exotic on our roads. I dont think this price reduction will help either. In simple words its a market dud. They should have looked at CKD operations from day one. Sorry to say but its time Maruti pulled the curtains on the Kizashi. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AMG1 Posted September 20, 2012 Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 As far as I know, all these are 2011 cars which are still unsold and there is much more a discount than the quoted number here. Car aint that bad, just didnt work out on the pricing front for Maruti. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CarCrazyASTL Posted September 20, 2012 Author Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 no one really wants to pay a high price for a Maruti. I know you've a pt! But when people were, are & will be buying a VW Passat, Hyundai Sonata or Ford Mondeo; which are also high end cars from budget car manufacturers & still customers didn't feel ashame about them; then whats wrong with MARUTI & TATA? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neerajd Posted September 20, 2012 Report Share Posted September 20, 2012 Well what might bring hope for Maruti Suzuki in the 14 lacs + segment is a Grand Vitara with 1.9 Fiat diesel!! And some distinct interiors than the Swift/SX4. This car was not going to take off in the first place with ~18 lacs of pricing. If they had looked at a CKD option and got the pricing into the Altis/Civic category, it may have had a chance to sell a few numbers. Not a bad car for around 12-14 lacs. One let down on this car was a strikingly similar design theme of the SX4 in-out. It just looks like a blown up version of an SX4 at a first glance. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cars4life Posted September 21, 2012 Report Share Posted September 21, 2012 I remember the Maruti officials saying they had initially imported a batch of 350 cats to sell and then would call for more according to demand. Looks like most of those cars remained unsold. The price was just over optimistic. I agree with neerajd, it looked just like a blown up SX4 and second there wasnt anything too extra ordinary about it. I think this discount is just to clear inventory after which I dont see the Kizashi selling in our market anymore. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
creativebala Posted September 21, 2012 Report Share Posted September 21, 2012 This car can sell if they give a DIESEL SWIFT as free. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
abhisheklodha Posted September 21, 2012 Report Share Posted September 21, 2012 This seems to be an interesting move keeping in mind that the festive season is on. But there are many factors that probably have led to the downtrend of sales of Kizashi in the past that Maruti Suzuki may need to look into to boost sales. Firstly, the image MS has had for so long is difficult to shed off, which is getting tremendous competition from various International brands. The market is crowded with players who want to sell economical sedans with the feel of top end technologies and comfort. Marketing in this case becomes vital to break the market and to recreate the brand image, which MS messed up big time with the Kizashi. I have been following different brands online and looking at the trends of Kizashi on multimedia makes me feel it as a sad product. Bringing out awareness of the product, and it's incentives is crucial to make sales. The market dynamics already is not in favour of the Auto Industry, with loans getting expensive and markets moving sluggish, I truly feel a more long standing incentive might just work better than an instant cost cut for them, in addition to a new marketing strategy to cater to a broader audience rather than calling it a premium product. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CarCrazyASTL Posted September 21, 2012 Author Report Share Posted September 21, 2012 This car can sell if they give a DIESEL SWIFT as free. LOL! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived