FuelRunGod Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 FRG from the auto expo reporting. The 2008 expo is one busy affair this year as well, good looking cars with lots of eyecandy. The autocar stall at hall 7 is showcasing one Ferrari F430 and a Lamborghini Gallardo. The highlight today has been the launch of the Tata One Lakh Car. Its been christened the Nano. Have to say its good looking. It was revealed today for the first time to the public, and as expected everybody made a beeline for it. The pics are coming real quick. Will be updating this thread as and when something interesting happens. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted January 10, 2008 Author Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 Some pics of the Tata's Nano. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mndvishnu Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 @FRG , as its has the rear engine , does it qualify for the new safety norms?? Cheers!!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted January 10, 2008 Author Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 The Nano has been crash tested by Tata. But what worries me is the mass, being so light, a crash with a larger vehicle could be a problem. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FuelRunGod Posted January 10, 2008 Author Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 Launch video of the Nano. FRG Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i_see Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 they will have to change the name for sure.......ccopyright issues......Apple(in iPod) already have usd the name nano Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gurkha Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 In an accident, one won't need a separate coffin. The mangled remains will do the needful. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pra2veen Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 they will have to change the name for sure.......ccopyright issues......Apple(in iPod) already have usd the name nano i dont think they will have any copyright issues unless they use the name for another music player. since its for a car and its no where related to the ipod nano, it should be safe Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
raj_5004 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 In an accident' date=' one won't need a separate coffin. The mangled remains will do the needful.[/quote'] absolutely correct ! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sujith3120 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 It is anyway better than a bike in terms of safety and I'm also sure this car would be more safe than a maruti van. So guys, please grow up..Learn to appreciate when you need to. Your criticism can wait. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gurkha Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 In terms of safety, take the public transportation, with the acceleration of the Nano, its likely to be squashed by a Volvo or a MAN or a Scorpio or Safari. I am not saying the Maruti Van is the safest, but its still safer than Nano. The Nano is small and like Matiz has a sloped hood, in case of contact with anything or any animal, there is full likelihood of the object coming inside the passenger area and causing severe damage. If you are telling us to hold our criticism, that too in a forum may I suggest so should your ranting. You are repeating Rattan Tata's ad line about families on bikes, well guess what, first off all, learn responsible parenthood. Have some money in pocket before bringing in souls to this earth you can hardly maintain. In case they need a car that bad, a second hand Maruti would be apt for them. Already the Tata Ace is a veritable nuisance on the roads and highways, this will just add fuel to the fire and make driving for us a nightmare. Lastly, driving is indeed a privilege all of us have worked hard to appreciate and earn it, lets not make it cheap so that the total appreciation and value of a driving license is totally lost. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
adi1991 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 and ya the top speed of the car is 110km/hr.... shouldn't they electronically set to 60km for safety reasons?.... adi19912008-01-10 12:52:43 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gurkha Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 and ya the top speed of the car is 110km/hr.... shouldn't they electronically set to 60km for safety reasons?.... Do you really feel like running it over with your Scorpio or Innova or Safari? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sujith3120 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 Well Gurkha, you have an opinion and I have one too. I would rather wait for the car to be on the road and then comment. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
adi1991 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 well limting nano's speed to 60 will restict it to city driving(hopefully)... thus less accidents Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rssh Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 Well for car of this size its too high they should have made it shorter but once again good work does it have an A/C. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
adi1991 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 well as far as i know it lacs basic features like a/c, power windows on the basic variant(which is the 1 lakh one)... they may be available on higher variants Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rssh Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 How many varients? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimgeo Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 The Bajaj Lite is better in aesthetics. This car would only be attracted by those who wish to buy a car thats cheap. In that sense it will justify Ratan Tata's idea behind this car.Trafic will become terrific.The Tatas and dealers will get good profit from its sevice because of the quality of Tatas in general. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
adi1991 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 @rssh not sure adi19912008-01-10 13:15:09 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gurkha Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 The Bajaj Lite is better in aesthetics. This car would only be attracted by those who wish to buy a car thats cheap. In that sense it will justify Ratan Tata's idea behind this car.Trafic will become terrific.The Tatas and dealers will get good profit from its sevice because of the quality of Tatas in general. Bajaj Lite also has Nissan to chip in and for powertrain, thats the best asset to have. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rssh Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 But what would be price of the lite 2 lakhs? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sadsack Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 In terms of safety, take the public transportation, with the acceleration of the Nano, its likely to be squashed by a Volvo or a MAN or a Scorpio or Safari. I am not saying the Maruti Van is the safest, but its still safer than Nano. The Nano is small and like Matiz has a sloped hood, in case of contact with anything or any animal, there is full likelihood of the object coming inside the passenger area and causing severe damage. If you are telling us to hold our criticism, that too in a forum may I suggest so should your ranting. You are repeating Rattan Tata's ad line about families on bikes, well guess what, first off all, learn responsible parenthood. Have some money in pocket before bringing in souls to this earth you can hardly maintain. In case they need a car that bad, a second hand Maruti would be apt for them. Already the Tata Ace is a veritable nuisance on the roads and highways, this will just add fuel to the fire and make driving for us a nightmare. Lastly, driving is indeed a privilege all of us have worked hard to appreciate and earn it, lets not make it cheap so that the total appreciation and value of a driving license is totally lost. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sadsack Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 In terms of safety' date=' take the public transportation, with the acceleration of the Nano, its likely to be squashed by a Volvo or a MAN or a Scorpio or Safari. I am not saying the Maruti Van is the safest, but its still safer than Nano. The Nano is small and like Matiz has a sloped hood, in case of contact with anything or any animal, there is full likelihood of the object coming inside the passenger area and causing severe damage. If you are telling us to hold our criticism, that too in a forum may I suggest so should your ranting. You are repeating Rattan Tata's ad line about families on bikes, well guess what, first off all, learn responsible parenthood. Have some money in pocket before bringing in souls to this earth you can hardly maintain. In case they need a car that bad, a second hand Maruti would be apt for them. Already the Tata Ace is a veritable nuisance on the roads and highways, this will just add fuel to the fire and make driving for us a nightmare. Lastly, driving is indeed a privilege all of us have worked hard to appreciate and earn it, lets not make it cheap so that the total appreciation and value of a driving license is totally lost.[/quote'] I would like to ask which car will survive a crash with MAN truck or a Volvo? I think it is wrong to accuse people of towing Ratan Tata's line when in effect they too can be accused to towing the anti Tata line. What are the grounds on which you say a Maruti van is safer than the Nano. Forums are for discussions and not for shoving opinions down peoples throats, especially when there is no wisdom in them. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
adi1991 Posted January 10, 2008 Report Share Posted January 10, 2008 well we are discussing only..... and their are cars which can survie MAN trucks like hummer and skodaadi19912008-01-10 13:33:00 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archived