BharatBenz launches its Light-duty trucks starting at Rs 10.15 lakh, will you still buy Tatas or Leylands?

post-7682-0-25858300-1361511616.jpg

High Fuel Efficiency”, “Cabin Comfort” and very importantly “Cabin Safety” are the operative words marking the launch of the highly anticipated range of BharatBenz light-duty trucks, which will now be commercially available across their India dealerships.

The launch of the three light-duty trucks – 914, 1214 for the haulage segment and 1217 for the construction segment is part of a week-long celebration by the Indian subsidiary of Daimler’s truck manufacturing division, wherein over 1,200 customers have been invited to get themselves acquainted with the full potential and might of these vehicles

Speaking on the occasion of the launch, Georg Weiberg, Head - Product Engineering, Damiler Trucks, Germany, said “It is an obligation for us and our brand BharatBenz to ensure that customers will be happy with these trucks and our Heavy-duty trucks. Our focus was to create a truck with superior performance, efficiency and the best quality but at a very competitive price. To achieve this, we involved our German/Japanese engineers for their technology, experience and Indian engineers for their local expertise and ability to create cost conscious solutions.”

Based on the FUSO Fighter/ Canter platform the new Rigid and Tipper models feature a 4D34i four-cylinder CRDi (Common-rail Direct Injection) engine with 140PS and 170PS power on tap.

Considering the current day fluctuating fuel price scenario, the proven fuel efficiency of these light-duty trucks would offer a major advantage to owners, offering efficiency that is a minimum of 10% better in comparison to existing products in the market.

Daimler’s financial arm, Daimler Financial Services will offer BharatBenz customers a helping hand in financing these vehicles. BharatBenz dealerships across the country would also provide tailor-made financial services / service packages to interested customers to encourage investment.

Prices for the new model-line up are listed below

Model

Min. Price in INR (Cab & Chassis)

Max. Price in INR (Fully Built)

9 tonne Rigid (914)

12 tonne Rigid (1214)

12 tonne Tipper (1217)

(Source - www.zigwheels.com)

My 2 cents:

A similar 909 truck from TATA's costs around 8.08L INR and a Fully Built veh (FBV) costs around 8.75L INR taking a difference of Rs 2 lacs approx for a person.

Analysing the majority of owners of these trucks, these trucks are self driven rather than forming a part of a big supply chain company who prefer the bigger trucks. For them shelling out Rs 2 lacs more for a truck can be a big problem. Also, BB trucks have not yet been proven in the market so I guess the first wave of customers for them will be only big trucking companies having deep pockets.

So no immediate threat to TATA for their ICVs. As Leyland is concerned, they don't have a presence in this tonnage so will have to wait to see what their AVIA & Partner range can offer.

@oilburner

Your 2 cents were worth a lot more.

I dont know if their are any problems with the TATA trucks for users to shift base.

Also as you pointed out , 2Lakhs for a transporter is a lot of money to play with.Also spares costs for MERC will be an added point in the decision making process.

@carcrazystl

You seem to have interest on everything on wheels. Cars , bikes and even trucks. :-)

BharatBenz has taken a very bold decision in launching its trucks at such a competitive price. I have personally seen the trucks at the Bhubaneswar dealership. Please note, the truck is worth every penny !

The quality of components and build quality cannot be compared with TATA or Ashok Leyland trucks. The engine is very refined and really it is fuel efficient comparatively. BharatBenz has tested every vehicle of Tata, Ashok Leyland, Eicher, Hino and MAN. They have taken the manufacturing and design cues from its elder sibling the Mercedes Actros range of trucks. The vehicle perfectly suits the Indian environment and the kind of trucking India prefers. In my opinion the BharatBenz range of trucks have combined both functionality and technology together and can prove to be a perfect blend for Indian truck market.

My 2 cents:

A similar 909 truck from TATA's costs around 8.08L INR and a Fully Built veh (FBV) costs around 8.75L INR taking a difference of Rs 2 lacs approx for a person.

Analysing the majority of owners of these trucks, these trucks are self driven rather than forming a part of a big supply chain company who prefer the bigger trucks. For them shelling out Rs 2 lacs more for a truck can be a big problem. Also, BB trucks have not yet been proven in the market so I guess the first wave of customers for them will be only big trucking companies having deep pockets.

So no immediate threat to TATA for their ICVs. As Leyland is concerned, they don't have a presence in this tonnage so will have to wait to see what their AVIA & Partner range can offer.

I agree that 2 lakhs is a lot for small transporter! but as proven in a survey by Volvo India, Normal Indian trucker cruises 180 Kms a day, but with help of AC cabins & powerful engines, he can cruise upto 600 Kms! That's a lot long-term gain!

BharatBenz has taken a very bold decision in launching its trucks at such a competitive price. I have personally seen the trucks at the Bhubaneswar dealership. Please note, the truck is worth every penny !

The quality of components and build quality cannot be compared with TATA or Ashok Leyland trucks. The engine is very refined and really it is fuel efficient comparatively. BharatBenz has tested every vehicle of Tata, Ashok Leyland, Eicher, Hino and MAN. They have taken the manufacturing and design cues from its elder sibling the Mercedes Actros range of trucks. The vehicle perfectly suits the Indian environment and the kind of trucking India prefers. In my opinion the BharatBenz range of trucks have combined both functionality and technology together and can prove to be a perfect blend for Indian truck market.

Yes, It's a true! they are really well built & can save life of drivers in some cases of accidents!

@carcrazystl

You seem to have interest on everything on wheels. Cars , bikes and even trucks. :-)

Yup, I love machines, Weather it's a Shivneri volvo driven @2:00 clock in night at 100 Kmph or my skates with which me n' my dog both plays a lot!

My 2 cents:

I think no transporter except some big ones would be interested in buying BB instead of Tata/Leyland

• 1 month later...

Great write up Crazy, I would suggest you to change the thread title and add Mahindra too, they just recently snatched number two position from Ashok Leyland and are gunning towards Tata as they did in the passenger market, secondly Bharat Benz is not the only truck maker who is well known globally. MAN has been in the market for a decade, even though having exceptional products, it flopped owning to poor support from Force, similarly big players Volvo, Iveco, Renualt (launch confirmed) are going to suffer due to typical Indian stereotypes.

Archived