DC Duster Bodykit Launched

Sandy

Dillip Chhabria owned car design group, has come up with a body kit for the hot selling Renault Duster compact SUV.

It may be noted that DC Design has already been selling body/interior kits for popular SUVs/MPVs like the Toyota Innova and Mahindra XUV500. DC Design has launched the latest body kit for the Duster, in all probability, to capitalize on the huge demand for Duster.

The kit has been put on sale for a price of INR 3.49 lakhs.

DC Design can be safely credited with changing the way Indian car enthusiasts looked at the ‘car modifying scene’ in India.

DC’s Duster has a really aggressive front fascia that gets a slightly oval grille that runs from one headlight to another. Talking about the headlamps, the units get LED fixtures and further help in giving the car a really mean look. The car also gets projector auxiliary lamps positioned just above the fog lights. The changes to the front aren’t limited to the very front end and the car also gets a new bonnet that has a ‘U’ shaped power bulge. The car comes draped in a shade of matte black.

The car rides on custom DC alloy wheels and sports polished side steps.

On the inside, the car gets a lot of leather and faux food for upping the luxury quotient of the vehicle. The rear seats of the car have been show the door in favour of two six-way adjustable captain chairs and a tiltable giant LCD screen that is positioned at the driver’s seatback. The car also comes with a foldable tray table.

In an interesting arrangement, the car’s co-driver seat and the rear captain chair can be combined to make a bed!! (sourcd:motoroids)

Renault-Duster-DC-Design-61-600x400.jpg

Renault-Duster-DC-Design-2-600x400.jpg

Renault-Duster-DC-Design-4-600x400.jpg

No doubt it looks stunning

but

1) rear left practically untouched

2) this is a dark body colour friendly design , will have to see it in a lighter shade

3) too much interior work for a small vehicle ,making it even smaller

4) consider the body kit price , its almost half the cost of base variant.

Tinkering with the car's headlights shape and size ?

Is it legal and approved as per the RTA rules ?

As far as my knowledge of RTA rules go, the original manufacturer's headlights

and tail lights are not to be tampered with. One may add additional set of head lights,

fog lights, stop lights, spoiler lights etc., but should not tamper in any way with the

original stock lights.

Similarly, adding additional electrical gadgets, apparatus and appliances also

call for specific approval from RTA.

Does this DC bodykit (and other bodykits from such firms) take these rules and

regulations into account ?

Are the buyers of these kits aware of them ? And, what about the risk that is

involved for other road users like you and me if such unapproved tinkering is

permitted and goes scot free ?

These are some of the issues which are bothering me.

Any member has any info on these issues ?

Kindly share.

Dear Rameshbabu , greetings , dont see much of you here now.

I dont foresee an established aftermarket modification major like DC , doing something thats not permitted by law, certainly not at the price these modifications come.

I dont know much about headlights but am sure the existing length cannot be tinkered with, without proper endorsement on the RC.If you read insurance documents closely any modification in length without proper authorization leads to automatic policy cancellation.

Good you pointed this out , its fuel for thought , will comeback qith more if i am able to find something.

Archived